The Mountain Goats
All Hail West Texas


4.0
excellent

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
March 17th, 2010 | 140 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hail Satan. Hail, hail.

In the world of The Mountain Goats, 2002 might as well have been 1054. John Darnielle's great schism split The Mountain Goats canon between the do it yourself ethos of his earliest homemade cassettes and the polished studio sheen of his current releases. All Hail West Texas marked the last time Darnielle's aging boom-box would act as his recording studio, as his contract with 4AD records and his budding friendship with singer-songwriter/producer John Vandersilce offered up new opportunities and capital for the Mountain Goats moniker.

As its name implies, All Hail West Texas is a collection of loosely related stories from the dusty nether regions of the Southern state, playing out like a gossip rag full of the dreams, vices, and tribulations of nobodies stuck in nothingness. Darnielle's songs have transitioned from the hushed, interpersonal aching of The Coroner's Gambit to nu-folk anthems, stimulating the sing-a-long section of the brain, awash in optimism, even at their darkest moments. Yet, at the core of it all is the same brilliant wordplay and sense of wonder that runs through all of The Mountain Goats albums.

All Hail West Texas might not be the best Mountain Goats album, but it is with out a doubt the easiest to relate to. Every story presented on it feels as though it was pulled from your own personal diary, becoming a personal battle cry, because honestly, who hasn't overcome a little opposition in their life.



Recent reviews by this author
At the Gates At War with RealityWeezer Everything Will Be Alright in the End
YOB Clearing The Path To AscendUnited Nations The Next Four Years
Matter TeraphimThe Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is There
user ratings (214)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 17th 2010


17224 Comments


bored in class, so i wrote this.

Relinquished
March 17th 2010


25296 Comments


You really like this band it seems.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 17th 2010


17224 Comments


pretty safe to say that they are my favorite band.

Lions
March 17th 2010


1015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good review. just starting getting into this. it's super good. lo-fi darnielle is where it's at.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 17th 2010


17224 Comments


This is my last Mountain Goats review for a long while. I feel a long ass review is coming up next.

americanohno
March 17th 2010


1601 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

finally this got a review! this be my favorite mountain goats album, mostly cuz I live in west texas (well central texas really but close enough)

kitsch
March 17th 2010


5107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

colour in your cheeks is so good

musicConsumer
March 17th 2010


494 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've never heard of this band and I need some new indie to listen to. What does this band sound like?

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 18th 2010


17224 Comments


a man playing an acoustic guitar recorded through a boombox.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 18th 2010


17224 Comments


you heard right

PanasonicYouth
March 23rd 2010


7412 Comments


the sunset tree >>>>>>>>>>>>> this

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2010


17224 Comments


true, but there's still at least four Mountain Goats albums better than the Sunset Tree.

We Shall All Be Healed>The Coroner's Gambit>Tallahassee>Sweden>The Sunset Tree

PanasonicYouth
March 23rd 2010


7412 Comments


i've not heard tallahassee or sweden yet and i personally think that the sunset tree is better than we shall all be healed and the coroner's gambit
so
I DISAGREE

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2010


17224 Comments


that's just because you secretly want your stepfather to beat your ass

crazyblinddude
March 30th 2010


3389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is delectable

Tits McGee
April 6th 2010


1876 Comments


"selling acid was a bad idea, selling it to a cop was a worse idea"

Lyrical perfection. Awesome album

Mendross
April 19th 2010


391 Comments


After hearing the description of this band I still gave it a listen and my knee jerk reaction was bad production and boring due to the lack of instrumentation. Then after ten seconds when he started singing I became hooked.

Two slow summer hours spent picking at the bones,
Figuring the interest on delinquent loans.
Speaking in sad and mournful tones,
Trying to squeeze tears out of mute stones.


Lions
April 19th 2010


1015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^this.

twelvegates
May 7th 2010


33 Comments


The Mountain Goats isn't really a "they" or a "band" so much as John's project.
Great review!

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
May 29th 2010


4927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Mountain Goats are so good



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy