Daughters
Daughters


4.0
excellent

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
March 14th, 2010 | 417 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Daughters continue expanding their sonic skullfuckery

Rhode Island's Daughters have always walked a dangerous line of progression with each album. Their 2003 debut, Canada Songs, took the freeflowing hostility of grindcore legends The Locust and, with a total disregard for taste and common sense, amped up the schizophrenic nature of their tortured dissonance to create what can arguably be seen as one of the subgenre's best releases in the last decade. In 2006 they released their follow up, Hell Songs, and while at times it bared an almost uncanny resemblance to its predacessor, vocalist Alexis Marshall's change from unintelligible banshee wails to clean vocals allowed Daughters to expand on new ways to deliver their sonic skullfuckery.

Enter Daughters, the band's third album. Following the blueprint laid out in Hell Songs, Daughters is a perverted brew of angular dissonance that has Daughters shedding what was left of their grindcore exterior and ascending to a new level of musical haphazardness. Case in point, the songs on Daughters actually feel like songs. Unlike the bottle rocket-like nature of previous Daughters releases, Daughters is developed with a refined sense of focus and personality, giving each track the opportunity to grow into something unique, something eerie, while still retaining its unnacessible yet rewarding nature. As if whining axes and brooding drums weren't enough to build this uneasy tension, Alexis Marshall's wounded utterances sound like the mad ramblings of Elvis Presley as he strained away his final drugged up moments on his porcelain throne, making Daughters not only one of the most jarring, but also one of the most neurotic albums in recent memory.



Recent reviews by this author
Weezer Everything Will Be Alright in the EndYOB Clearing The Path To Ascend
United Nations The Next Four YearsMatter Teraphim
The Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is ThereOwls Two
user ratings (427)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Blindsided
March 14th 2010


1871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Boring.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2010


21454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a little short...

Digging: Aspherium - The Fall of Therenia

Edwin
March 14th 2010


1399 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought this album was great, good review too.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2010


17222 Comments


@insurrection: most of my reviews are. personal preference.

Relinquished
March 14th 2010


25200 Comments


yeah I didn't think much of this, but I'll keep listening

SlightlyEpic
March 14th 2010


5780 Comments


I prefer reading concise reviews anyway, it requires less of an attention span. Nice job mr redsky sir. I like this album a lot.

Romulus
March 14th 2010


8441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Awesome album, very nice review, pos'd.

Blindsided
March 14th 2010


1871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Maybe I'm just not "cool" enough to get Daughters.

Romulus
March 14th 2010


8441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I mean you could just not be into the band. Nothing wrong with that.

SlightlyEpic
March 14th 2010


5780 Comments


I found getting into Daughters pretty easy, it's all in the hip action

Wizard
March 14th 2010


19508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Uh... a little short...

It's comments like these that make me want to hit people. Since when was there ever a max. or min. placed on word count for reviews? Too much detail always reads like a report or professional document. It's almost like someone telling you the entire story of movie. I would rather just get the drift of an album and then check it out.

Excellent review, you know I'm going to ask if this is something I would be interested in since I love the grind.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2010


17222 Comments


you should definitely try this out, but i think it will be a lot different than what you expect it to be.

Wizard
March 14th 2010


19508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm open to new heavy stuff. I'm listening to the new Sigh record right now and laughing my ass off, what does that tell you?

cvlts
March 14th 2010


8967 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this sounds fucking insane

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2010


17222 Comments


I'm listening to the new Sigh record right now

that tells me you are a masochist.

Wizard
March 14th 2010


19508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that tells me you are a masochist.

So, so, so bad for my ears. WOW I hate Sputnik sometimes hahahahaha.

BallsToTheWall
March 14th 2010


44620 Comments


GTFO the both of youse.


Also to be relevant. Good review and token will myspace comment.

Digging: Mare Cognitum - Phobos Monolith

Wizard
March 14th 2010


19508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You guys make me sick sometimes hahahahaha

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2010


21454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you make me sick all the time.

Wizard
March 14th 2010


19508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad I can do that to you. Now go away.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy