Sepultura
Beneath the Remains


5.0
classic

Review

by Greenman USER (5 Reviews)
February 25th, 2010 | 25 replies


Release Date: 1989 | Tracklist

Review Summary: WHO (who who who)'s your daddy?

Before becoming the biggest sell-outs this side of Metallica, Sepultura released several towering metallic pillars. Now, while all their pre-1993 releases may kick ass, none kicks quite as much ass as their 1989 masterpiece "Beneath the Remains". One of the most celebrated albums ever among thrashers, this relentless tempest of crushing riffs, blistering solos, blasting drums, and infectious grooves lives up to its reputation and then some. After the acoustic intro allows you some time to breathe, the title track kicks in and sweeps you up into a relentless 42 minute thrill ride.

Now, before I go on, I just want to say that this album does have a low point: the lyrics. They’re not bad, but they’re somewhat limited (with the exception of “Stronger than Hate” written by Atheist’s Kelly Shaefer). It’s not a huge issue, and it’s understandable given the band’s limited grasp of English at the time, but it does stick out a little during repeated listens. Now that that’s out of the way, Let’s get to the good stuff. Max Cavalera is at his peak here delivering ferocious barks that fit the songs’ menacing content. His delivery brings to mind Tom Angelripper of Sodom, and there are even times when this could be mistaken for a Sodom album, but Beneath the Remains luckily has more than its fair share of distinctive elements.

The best thing about this album is the riffs, though. Not content with just giving you your standard speedy thrash riffing, BTR throws you plenty of curve balls. Menacing, dizzying riffs are thrown around left and right, and they all flow smoothly without delving into groove territory. Beneath the Remains’ riffs also hold a quality that is a true rarity in thrash metal. Even with good thrash bands, different riffs are often introduced and then thrown away as quickly as they came, never reappearing. Sepultura, however, seem to have found the perfect balance. BTR has just as many, if not more riffs than the average thrash album, but the band actually allows time for the riffs to establish a presence and sink in. Despite this, the songs still move at an unrelenting pace and no riff is ever repeated long enough to overstay its welcome. Andreas Kisser really outdid himself on this one.

Complementing the superb guitar section is a drummer that really knows his way around a kit. Igor Cavalera’s drumming isn’t quite as fast as some of his peers, but he more than makes up for it in the sheer quality of his beats and fills. You feel every last thump and crash the way few drummers allow you to feel. The drum’s presence is never overpowering, though and never gets in the way of the other instruments. Including the bass which produces a great groove that greatly supplements the overall sound.

The secret to BTR’s success is teamwork. Every member understands that they’re part of a whole and does their very best to fulfill their respective role without trying to show off or outdo their bandmates. It’s a well-oiled machine where every part fits perfectly into place, producing a crushing beast of an album with plenty of replay value. Sepultura has earned every decimal of this perfect 5 score, and have set a standard that is still unsurpassed to this day.


user ratings (850)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
grungethrash91 (4)
Sepultura had definitely reached their apex with the release of the groundbreaking third album. Bene...

Zipzop5565 (5)
Beneath the remains….there lies pure awesome....

Pedro B. (4.5)
Many fans prefer Arise, but I’ll stick with Beneath the Remains. For me, after Chaos A.D., this is...

Chainwork (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
February 25th 2010


8323 Comments


The idea is not to post more than one review on a day. Just saying.

Greenman
February 25th 2010


178 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Really bored today.

Eclectic
February 25th 2010


3302 Comments


Please try not to post your next review before your last one is off the front page, its an unwritten rule here that you'd do well to obey.

This was a good review and I enjoyed reading it, so I pos'd.

Just one tiny thing: Remove the comment about the lyrics getting repetitive

(Now, before I go on, I just want to say that this album does have a low point: the lyrics. They’re not bad, but they’re somewhat limited (with the exception of “Stronger than Hate” written by Atheist’s Kelly Shaefer). It’s not a huge issue, and it’s understandable given the band’s limited grasp of English at the time, but it does stick out a little during repeated listens).

Since this is a 5/5 there's really no need for it (basically it makes the review sound more like a 4.5 or 4). If you really feel the comment is necessary then the best thing you can do is put it down the bottom, after all the positives. Basically just have that parapraph start with "despite all the positives there is one low point". Or whatever you want to say.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2010


8026 Comments


how about not doing two reviews in a row?

Greenman
February 25th 2010


178 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

My apartment's snowed in, and I can't think of anything else to do.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2010


8026 Comments


beat off

Eclectic
February 25th 2010


3302 Comments


My apartment's snowed in, and I can't think of anything else to do.

That isn't going to cut it for a lot of people. You're still going to cop shit, despite your reasoning.

Greenman
February 25th 2010


178 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"beat off"

Already did that today.

charles2000
February 25th 2010


450 Comments


review as much as you want this site is pussies

FadeToBlack
February 25th 2010


11034 Comments


great review, i pos'd

don't see how one could confuse this for a Sodom album though, Sepultura's early stuff has a death metal edge as opposed to the black metal tint of Sodom

bloozclooz
February 25th 2010


1770 Comments


nice review. think i could get into a release this "old"? the oldest metal album i can really listen to is "Blasphemy Made Flesh".

also, i'm pos'ing just based on the fact that people are giving you shit about writing more than one review a day. i have no idea why, but that's a bundle of balls

bloozclooz
February 25th 2010


1770 Comments


dang double posts

Wizard
February 25th 2010


19649 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I HATE PANTERA BECAUSE THEY GOTZ THE NU-METALZ SKILLZ!

Digging: Horseback and Locrian - New Dominions

Greenman
February 25th 2010


178 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"I HATE PANTERA BECAUSE THEY GOTZ THE NU-METALZ SKILLZ!"

BR00TUHLZ!!!!!

bloozclooz
February 25th 2010


1770 Comments


i am not of the understanding these posts two last above of here.

Jesuslaves
February 25th 2010


4658 Comments


Schizophrenia > this.

Review as much you please. There's a reason unwritten rules aren't written.

bloozclooz
February 25th 2010


1770 Comments


"There's a reason unwritten rules aren't written."

because no one with any sense is going to follow them. "the glass ceiling" comes to mind.

Emim
February 25th 2010


26675 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review seemed really rushed, though was better written than the last two. Word of advice: If you are going to do more than one a day, put effort into them so they don't come across as half-assed.


At least there was no:

SEPULTURA WAS THE FIRST DEATHCORE GUYS

kygermo
February 25th 2010


996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of the best Thrash albums ever. Good review. I always tend to forget how much I really love Sepultura.

jk2two
February 25th 2010


105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is epic! One of my all time favorites... Nice review, but it is too short. You don't point out standouts like "Slaves of Pain," "Primitive Future" and the undeniably catchy "Inner Self."

Also, I think the Sodom connection is a reach, I think Beneath the Remains probably has more in common with Reign in Blood or Hell Awaits than anything German. Maybe the accent does it for you?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy