Wolves in the Throne Room
Black Cascade


5.0
classic

Review

by MoosechriS USER (8 Reviews)
February 6th, 2010 | 61 replies | 3,461 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Black metal combines with the cascadian mountains in one of the most enthralling listening experiences ever!

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Having only recently discovered the genre of black metal in recent months and as I write delving enthusiastically into every nook, crany and crevice I can find. I can’t even recall how I came to hear of Wolves in the throne room but I can only say one thing…. THANK *** I DID! This is possibly the best album of any genre of metal that I’ve heard in ages! “wanderer above the sea of fog” starts out sounding like any other black metal number and as I’ve seen countless people say “they play one riff for 10 minutes” but I must digress, these people plainly are not listening. Put on headphones or turn your stereo up and just lie back and listen. Because admittedly on first listen I didn’t get it but second time around I just lay back and listened. This is where the beauty of this album lies.

The songs are constantly mutating, riffs change subtly with ambient keyboard additions coming in and out changing the feel of even the same riff or section in an instant taking you on an otherworldly rollercoaster ride. The songs constantly throw new textures at you, whether it’s the almost hypnotic ending to “ahrimanic trance” or the swirling atmospherics of “ex cathedra” or even the folkish refrain of “crystal ammunition”. The album perfectly captures the isolated organic feel of the environment in which the band surrounds themselves.

Which brings us to the production in that there is not an ounce of studio sheen or gloss to be found here. But there is still a clarity to the sound which means that every instrument can be heard and distinguished, which gives the album a natural organic yet still intricate feel. A lot of people say that these guys sound like Burzum and to be honest they do. But what Wolves in the throne room do is move away from the satanic blasphemy of black metals origins and follow their own path which in itself is absolutely amazing.

I can not find the words to describe how amazing this piece of work is because what Wolves in the throne room have done is create an album which you could happily get lost in for years and never want to find your way back. An absoloute classic!



Recent reviews by this author
Whorelord WhorelordAxis Of Light / Death Fortress Split
GridLink Amber GrayWatain Sworn to The Dark
Bleeding Through Bleeding ThroughMarduk Panzer Division Marduk
user ratings (429)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
ThyCrossAwaits (4.5)
Black metal that keeps it simple, but ferocious....

Tyler Munro EMERITUS (3.5)
Wolves in the Throne Room swap personality for aggression....


Comments:Add a Comment 
ov420
February 6th 2010



300 Comments


lol

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2010



17911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

satanic blasphemy of black metals

Wizard
February 6th 2010



18755 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Having only recently discovered the genre of black metal in recent months and as I write delving enthusiastically into every nook, crany and crevice I can find.

This is possibly the best album of any genre of metal that I’ve heard in ages!

Explains the 5/5 rating hahahaha. Welcome to the site. Your review was ok but I would work on formulating ideas about albums instead of doing the old fashioned fanboy review that consists of writing the first thing that comes to mind.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Ulsufyring
February 6th 2010



1725 Comments


black metal 5/5

Wizard
February 6th 2010



18755 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I can see that with Two Hunters but not this.

TheSpirit
February 6th 2010



16657 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

4.5 is close enough haha

Digging: Sexdrome - Grown Younger

Wizard
February 6th 2010



18755 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album redefines shoegaze/ black metal though. Too good to not be a 5.

TheSpirit
February 6th 2010



16657 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Two Hunters is five worthy

rasputin
February 6th 2010



14504 Comments


this album doesn't redefine anything and a 5/5 rating is laughable at best

zaruyache
February 6th 2010



4799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A lot of people say that these guys sound like Burzum and to be honest they do.

To hell they do. These guys know how to play their instruments.

Digging: The Great Old Ones - Tekeli-Li

TheSpirit
February 6th 2010



16657 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh zaruyache...still under some absolutely ridiculous preconceived notion that technicality is all that matters in music.

zaruyache
February 6th 2010



4799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They dun sownd liek burzy. Except a little. Ok they kinda do. Their work is much more complex and not as terrible, though, but their chord progressions and stuff are influenced by ye olde Vargy.

BallsToTheWall
February 6th 2010



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

GREAT ODENS RAVEN

ov420
February 6th 2010



300 Comments


zaruyache you are an idiot

zaruyache
February 6th 2010



4799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Duh. I make it rain argumentative stupidity.

Burn2Burn
February 6th 2010



2378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

5 star review, would fap again.

lucazade22
February 7th 2010



530 Comments


the first track's pretty cool

zaruyache
February 7th 2010



4799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

All the tracks are pretty cool.

Hawks
February 7th 2010



33352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yes they are. Album slays.

Relinquished
February 7th 2010



22318 Comments


Well...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy