Living Sacrifice
The Infinite Order


4.0
excellent

Review

by Steven McMahan USER (49 Reviews)
February 1st, 2010 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Return of the Kings.

To say I was ecstatic about Living Sacrifice reuniting would be an understatement. Since they broke up, there haven’t been any truly great Christian metal bands to take the throne, and so getting back together in February of ’08 was one of the best things to happen that year. After waiting more than a year, The Infinite Order was slated was set for a November release…and then it got delayed another two months. You can imagine my frustration.

But the waiting is over, and The Infinite Order is here. Lucky for us, it’s almost worth the wait and a delay (there will be no attempts to hide fanboyism here). The album does practically nothing to change the band’s sound, but it doesn’t matter. While we don’t have an album of the year contender here, it does deserve a spot in the upper to mid-portion of any large 2010 list.

To get a basic idea of Living Sacrifice’s sound, take a small dash of Slayer (they did start out as a death/thrash hybrid), add a little Meshuggah, an equal helping of Sepultura-esque groove metal and finish with hardcore vocals that could be described as a more raw Ryan Clark (with bigger balls and no desire to spit out words so quickly). Songs are based around thick, meaty riffs; backed by an extremely solid rhythm section (despite the loss of second drummer/percussionist Matt Putman); one could brand it metalcore, but it’s definitely metal with hardcore influences, not the other way around.

There are little in the way of negatives here, and several standouts. “Overkill Exposure” is possibly their best opener, and features a breakdown that sounds neither cliché nor boring. Lead single “Rules of Engagement” completes the 1-2 punch firmly, managing to be catchy without any clean vocals, and the band still sounds quite rhythmic despite the aforementioned absence of a percussionist. “Apocstasy” closes the album almost as well as it started, building from a “Battery”-esque intro to some of the album’s best riffs and a chorus that’s as melodic as it is anthemic.

Despite this, the album definitely isn’t perfect. “The Training” features clean vocals that sound even more gay than the ones that brought down a couple songs on The Hammering Process. The aforementioned absence of Putman is a somewhat small but obvious problem, and The Infinite Order isn’t quite up to par with their three previous releases, although this isn’t bad considering how good they were. There’s also the fact that Infinite Order can’t help sounding at least a little generic, but this is obviously due to their influence on numerous similar bands - many of which were just starting or didn’t exist when they released their last album eight years ago.

When it comes down to it, that’s both one of The Infinite Order’s greatest strengths and its biggest weakness. Coming after the flood of metalcore bands they helped inspire, the album sounds initially generic and perhaps even dated. On the other hand, Living Sacrifice have lost little over the years; they’re still better than just about all of their Christian brethren, and many of their secular counterparts as well. Forget your troubles for a second and celebrate – the kings have returned. Here’s hoping they’re here to stay.



Recent reviews by this author
Lo-Fi Scorpio NoirA Fine Frenzy Bomb In A Birdcage
MyChildren MyBride UnbreakableJohn Mayer Battle Studies
Eternal Tears of Sorrow Children of the Dark WatersProtest the Hero Sequoia Throne: Remixed
user ratings (118)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Bob Vance, Vance Refrigeration (4)
Death/Thrash/Groove/Whatever-Metal....


Comments:Add a Comment 
ninjuice
February 1st 2010


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Feel free to comment or tell me how wrong I supposedly am. Review is fashionably late to coincide with my pre-order still not being here (and not sitting down to just finish it). I realize the last line is at least a little cheesy and/or lame.

Emim
February 2nd 2010


26666 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Return of the Kings.


I demand credit for that line!!!! Good review though, man. What are your feelings on the guest vocals from The Showdown's frontman?

ninjuice
February 2nd 2010


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I had to use it.
I didn't think those were guest vocals. Wikipedia says he's on Rules of Engagement, so I assume he's doing those yells/chants during the "chorus"?

Willie
Moderator
February 2nd 2010


16117 Comments


This is a good review. pos'd.

I've only heard the songs from the Metamorphosis compilation with these guys, Circle of Dust and Brainchild (which is the same band, basically). I always thought Living Sacrafice was Industrial/death metal.

Edit: "Black Veil" from that compilation album is fucking awesome.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

ninjuice
February 2nd 2010


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What year did the compilation come out? Their early stuff sounds a bit different but I don't think they've ever been industrial.

Willie
Moderator
February 2nd 2010


16117 Comments


It originally came out in 1993 and the songs on there are definitely industrial.

Emim
February 2nd 2010


26666 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I had to use it.

Ha ha, no worries, man.

I didn't think those were guest vocals. Wikipedia says he's on Rules of Engagement, so I assume he's doing those yells/chants during the "chorus"?

I'm pretty sure he's on They Were One as well. The Showdown are a not so guilty pleasure of mine. I think I read that Truby played guitar on They Were One too.

jingledeath
February 2nd 2010


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review man, pos'd. The album is definitely good but it got old pretty quickly for me. Still, some of the riffs are fun as hell.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great review man. I've got the album but am yet to listen. The first single sounded really badass though so I'm hioping this will slay (it's my first album by this band btw)

WhiteWallStargazers
February 2nd 2010


2647 Comments


nice review bro, seeing em on the 14th woot!!

Drummer is such a beast

ninjuice
February 2nd 2010


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would kill to see this band live, even when they get stuck supporting inferior headlining bands.
Hope you like it Mr. Styles.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2010


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ok so first time through and this is really cool. Could do with a bit more variation, but it's all good fun metal. This will easily slip into my already full ipod. Goddamn, something's gotta go now

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2010


31475 Comments


To get a basic idea of Living Sacrifice’s sound, take a small dash of Slayer (they did start out as a death/thrash hybrid), add a little Meshuggah, an equal helping of Sepultura-esque groove metal and finish with hardcore vocals that could be described as a more raw Ryan Clark (with bigger balls and no desire to spit out words so quickly).


So basically what you're saying is I need to hear this?

Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4

ninjuice
February 2nd 2010


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Remember that I say a "small dash" and "little Meshuggah", but yes, I think you should hear it. It's a low 4 but it'll never go lower than a 3.5.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2010


31475 Comments


remember that I say a "small dash" and "little Meshuggah"


Will bear in mind, will also get this after work, will also pos too

TheSpirit
February 2nd 2010


17987 Comments


this sounds awesome, good review. If i remember correctly the lead singer of Living Sacrifice did some guest vocals on Demon Hunter's latest album which i really dug, so i'll definitely look into this.

Digging: Volahn - Aq Ab Al

WhiteWallStargazers
February 2nd 2010


2647 Comments


This is the first of their albums that I actually enjoy . . .

ninjuice
February 2nd 2010


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, he was on "Sixteen". Believe it or not, I sent them an email suggesting that they have Bruce do guest vocals shortly before or after The Triptych was released (when I was an obsessed fanboy), and someone from the band replied back saying that was a good idea.
DH also name these guys as one of their primary influences.

WhiteWallStargazers
February 2nd 2010


2647 Comments


which is interesting since DH sounds nothing like these guys, though I guess they did a bit back in their Training For Utopia days

ninjuice
February 2nd 2010


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nothing like them? Really?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy