As I Lay Dying
Frail Words Collapse


1.5
very poor

Review

by Taylor Jermolajew USER (39 Reviews)
January 24th, 2010 | 126 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This album supports terrorism.

In recent years As I Lay Dying has risen to the top of the Metalcore scene. Sadly this isn’t one of those situations where said “rise” came from talent. Frail Words Collapse is the perfect example of how not to make a Metalcore album. The album does nothing to establish itself as worthwhile music, completely devoid of any originality, ingenuity or substance it serves as nothing more than a perfect representation of everything bad about contemporary Metalcore.

When breaking the album down to its simplest form you’re essentially left with 3 elements that come together to make an incredibly bland sound. For starters, you’ve got the guitar work; AILD’s guitarists aren’t all that skilled, offering up a pile of overused riffs that do nothing to draw the listener’s attention, this problem is compounded by the guitars being the primary focus of the band’s sound. So what we’re left with is a bunch of boring riffs that do nothing and go nowhere.

That’s element one. Element two is the album’s drumming; the drum work on the album is by no means excellent, but compared to the guitar work you could call it an upside. The drumming is relatively fast and the drummer manages to throw a few fills around that break up some of the monotony of the album, but honestly there’s nothing here to write home about. The biggest fault in regard to the drumming found here is that despite showing brief glimmers of interesting technique, the performance devolves into a dull repetition of breakdowns far too often. Coupled with the already limited guitar work this serves to make listening to this album even more of a chore.

The final element is Tim Lambesis, long story short; his voice is horrible. There’s very little strength in his voice leading it to sound particularly thin and/or hollow throughout the album. He essentially has 3 moves when it comes to performing; a low growl that shares many similarities with whooping cough, a high scream that aside from being heavily distorted via the production is not unlike what I’d expect to hear if I stepped on someone’s testes. His third move is spoken word; much like many of his contemporaries it’s relatively cheesy although it still sounds better than his “harsh” vocals.

If you’re wondering where the bass is? Keep wondering, it’s nowhere to be heard on this album, at all. So there we have it dull guitars, a drummer who follows the dull guitars like a hawk to a field mouse and a vocalist who sounds like he was tricked into downing a bottle of Ipecac before recording. When these three pieces come together you’re not exactly in for a treat. Frail Words Collapse is like a conversation with a senile relative, it’s repetitive, it’s boring and by the time you’ve reached the end you’ll have contemplated murder at least twice. All in all Frail Words Collapse is the perfect example of how not to make a Metalcore album, hopefully As I Lay Dying learnt from the mistakes here and have removed the cliché and boring elements of their sound, but I’m not holding my breath.



Recent reviews by this author
Johnny Truant In the Library of Horrific EventsDead Kings Dead Kings
Blackhole Dead HeartsNorma Jean O' God The Aftermath
From First to Last Throne to the WolvesThe Dillinger Escape Plan Calculating Infinity
user ratings (1369)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
ThePalaceOfWisdom
January 24th 2010


1134 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I'm gonna review the two albums after this to see just how much they've progressed. (if they have at all).

jagride
January 24th 2010


2338 Comments


Haven't heard it don't think i'll bother

Wizard
January 24th 2010


19407 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Shit, that summary is win. Review is perfect.

Digging: Khonsu - Traveller

Kubrick
January 24th 2010


746 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review- pretty much sums up the same problems I have with the album. As for the next two CDs (here's a shocker)... not too much progression there.

ThePalaceOfWisdom
January 24th 2010


1134 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I've heard a song or two off each of them but I figure I'll give them full listens.

bloc
January 24th 2010


34854 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is a great review man, very aggressive.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

TheSpirit
January 24th 2010


17847 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

good review

Digging: Wreodan Heahl - Laecig

WhiteWallStargazers
January 24th 2010


2647 Comments


just for you information, I'm quite sure this album was recorded without a bass.

Phrike
January 24th 2010


1691 Comments


I strongly disagree with the review and it wasn't well written either... if I was a git I'd neg it right away. It just reads like you don't want to see some pros this album has to offer imho

The final element is Tim Lambesis, long story short; his voice is horrible. There’s very little strength in his voice leading it to sound particularly thin and/or hollow throughout the album.


I agree that his voice is thinner here than on following releases, but imo even at this early stage his voice was quite powerful and recognizable.

AILD’s guitarists aren’t all that skilled, offering up a pile of overused riffs that so nothing to draw the listener’s attention, this problem is compounded by the guitars being the primary focus of the band’s sound


It's metalcore dude, flashy guitarwork is not required (well, tell that to Unearth). But I can see where you're coming from.

I'm gonna review the two albums after this to see just how much they've progressed. (if they have at all).


I'm almost sure you won't like their following albums either, so why even bother.

Phantom
January 24th 2010


8930 Comments


more like as i lay crying, right? AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAH AHHAHAHAHAH

HA HA HA

HA!

WhiteWallStargazers
January 24th 2010


2647 Comments


yeah man the singer sounds like a dying moose

ThePalaceOfWisdom
January 24th 2010


1134 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It just reads like you don't want to see some pros this album has to offer imho

it has to have pros for me to see them.

It's metalcore dude, flashy guitarwork is not required (well, tell that to Unearth). But I can see where you're coming from.


Flashy guitar work =/= good guitar work. If a band like Underoath can make good music without being super technical then these guys should be able to as well.

I'm almost sure you won't like their following albums either, so why even bother.


Don't have to like something to review it.

ChildOfHate
January 24th 2010


108 Comments


I'm almost sure you won't like their following albums either, so why even bother.
coz he wants to...DUH.....

@reviewer
good review. Pos'd. Sounds like i shouldn't bother with this.

bloc
January 24th 2010


34854 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

as i lay crying

that wasn't up to par as your other ones bro



SlightlyEpic
January 24th 2010


5780 Comments


agree with this review 666%

on an unrelated note, Poison the Well are still awesome

ThePalaceOfWisdom
January 24th 2010


1134 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

ugh, no.

TRMshadow
January 24th 2010


4982 Comments


Though you usually have flawed views when it comes to GOOD metalcore, you're spot on right here. pos.

As for progression, these guys don't really progress in the sense that they diversify their music, to me it seems that they "clean them up" and their albums sound better as a whole, whereas before, it was just a bunch of riffs thrown together. I will admit that they will have the same sound in their later albums, but I think you'll like the later ones better.

rasputin
January 24th 2010


14544 Comments



Though you usually have flawed views when it comes to GOOD metalcore

roflmao, like you would know

TRMshadow
January 24th 2010


4982 Comments


Well, he hates Constellations with a vengance... one of the better recent metalcore albums

americanmusicmachine
January 24th 2010


3953 Comments


94 hours is still a badass song.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy