RJD2
The Colossus


3.5
great

Review

by Sobhi Youssef EMERITUS
January 17th, 2010 | 28 replies | 13,096 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Poppy future-funk at its best.

Initially billed as an innovator in the vein of Dan the Automator on Deadringer, Ramble John Krohn surprised critics, fans, and label Def Jux alike with the 180 degree turn of The Third Hand. Not only a different direction for his art, but also a significant compositional step backwards, this release divided his fan-base and scuttled any hype from his cult favorite debut. With this in mind, it seems that RJD2 is working hard to make amends with his 4th official LP; not only is this poppy future-funk at its best, but The Colossus is proof that this new artistic direction does indeed have potential.

Still exhibiting the organic traits inherent on the near-OCD live instrumentation obsession of Third Hand, this time around RJD2 infuses his seemingly departed production expertise to superb results. Whether it's the sub-orbital, volume- and tone- swelling synths of the epic "A Spaceship For Now" or the reverb-laden harmonic minor choruses of "Let There Be Horns", he delivers his trademarked brand of 21st century hip-hop in spades. After proving his talents for production still exist, Krohn still finds time to creatively indulge in the simplistic pop of his last effort, yet this time with more variation and top-notch guest appearances in Kenna, Phonte, and Aaron Livingston. "A Son's Cycle" whets one's appetite for the possibilities of a non-instrumental hip-hop joint with 3 distinctive, multi-layered beats weaving in and out of each other brilliantly. This one definitely hearkens back to Deadringer's "Final Frontier", especially on the tongue of wordsmith Illogic.

The multi-genre approach of The Colossus is refreshing, especially following such a poor career move. That isn't to say The Third Hand wasn't very good - when you're considered by many to be one of the best up and coming production gurus, you damned well better deliver something that at least uses your renowned abilities and not some kind of mid-life crisis organic "experiment". The best summary for the entire record is a combination of back to back tracks "The Stranger" and "Walk With Me", showcasing a logical extension of Deadringer highlight "The Horror" and an expansion of his newfound poppy direction, respectively. But even though The Colossus shines in this coexistence, it's difficult to imagine where RJD2 would be today had he expanded his revolutionary vision at the beginning of the decade.

Highlights:
"Let There Be Horns"
"A Spaceship for Now"
"A Son's Cycle"
"The Stranger"



Recent reviews by this author
Nacho Picasso and Avatar Darko VampsterdamGorguts Colored Sands
Run the Jewels Run the JewelsThe-Dream IV Play
James Blake OvergrownTyler the Creator Wolf
user ratings (49)
Chart.
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
Smevin Bravis (3.5)
The Colossus may not be as grandoise as was intended, but it does show an artist gaining momentum in...


Comments:Add a Comment 
kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 17th 2010



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Stream is up at his myspace:

http://www.myspace.com/rjd2

enjoy

hydeyomoney
January 17th 2010



934 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

RJD2 is good again? cool

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 17th 2010



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

yeah i thought it would suck based on his EP from a month or so ago. not the case.

natey
January 17th 2010



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i'm not big on harmonic minor choruses, might pass on this

Fuff24
January 17th 2010



1118 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hope this good. the third hand was a steamy pile of shit

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 17th 2010



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

i'm not big on harmonic minor choruses, might pass on this


what. its not like theyre on more than 1 or 2 songs...

Kyle
January 17th 2010



667 Comments


This is the first positive review I've read of this. I'm going to check it out eventually, I liked the single, but there's too much other stuff I need to listen to first.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 17th 2010



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I haven't really seen any reviews for this. and don't pay attention to ratings on RYM, most people there are mega snobs when it comes to contemporary music.

alachlahol
January 17th 2010



7471 Comments


never listened to The Third Hand

this guy throws out great beats

Transient
January 17th 2010



1461 Comments


only rjd2 i've heard is deadringer, so i'll probably pick this up

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 17th 2010



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

this takes a lot of the concepts off deadringer and makes them a bit funkier/ more accessible. it's basically what third hand should have been.

thebhoy
Emeritus
January 17th 2010



4459 Comments


cool, I'll listen to this.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2010



7314 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

good review, i didnt particually like this though.

natey
January 17th 2010



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5


what. its not like theyre on more than 1 or 2 songs...

i was just poking fun at you

Enotron
January 17th 2010



7695 Comments


Does this mean poppy future funk will only ever amount to a 3.5? Because that's the coolest genre name I've ever heard. Nice review.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 17th 2010



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

dont poke at me im fragile

Inveigh
January 17th 2010



24800 Comments


Nice review. I was pretty high on RJD2 from Soul Position (although I have to be in the right mood fro Blueprint) and Magnificent City but yeah, The Third Hand sucked balls. I'll check this out later on tonight on the myspace.

MassiveAttack
January 17th 2010



2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You didn't like his EP from last month? It wasn't bad 3/5 for me.

Bulldog
January 20th 2010



3796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Good review, checking this out right now, so far so good. Let There Be Horns is cool.

Zoo
January 20th 2010



3759 Comments


This sounds like it might be disappointing. Nevertheless, I'll get around to it at some point.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy