Consider the Thief
Signs and Wonders


5.0
classic

Review

by smiff0009 USER (5 Reviews)
January 14th, 2010 | 38 replies | 9,382 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Great progression of songs, well organized. Features many instruments. Not a bad song on this cd.

Signs and Wonders, the debut full length (and only full length) from Consider the Thief is a must listen. It is comparable to Thrice's Vheissu, and select songs on the Alchemy Index. I can't find a song that I don't love on this album.

With that being said, my least favorite songs on this album are the first and last. It feels like the album should have ended with "the Lost Son" (like it was originally intended to) but they added "Jonette" as a final track. "Jonette" is a great song, but I feel like it made the ending of this album less powerful.

My favorite song of the album is "miracles of sand"/"via dolorosa". These songs were originally written as one very long song, but they decided to split it into two different tracks. It has a very eerie feel to it to start out, and then Dryw's vocals come in, and make it even more eerie. His falsetto singing is perfect in this song, and the lyrics are very unique and interesting. Then all of the sudden the heavy guitars come in, and this song becomes very powerful. In the outro there are backing vocals that makes for a very "epic" time.

Then it smoothly transitions into the "via dolorosa" portion of the song, beginning with a very light piano part, and building to something so indescribably great. It gives me goosebumps. Another great track on this album is "Son of Hell". Any fan of Dustin Kensrue's folk solo project will surely love this. It begins with baritone acoustic guitar, and a slide guitar solo. Then Dryw comes in singing, and only makes the song even better. His lyrics in this song are (I believe) about a point in your life when you lose hope, and you need help from someone (in his case God).

This album also incorporates a lot of electronic samples and keyboards that are comparable to some Thrice moments. The intro to "Joshua" has a really cool sample with a great keyboard part that reminds me of hospital scenes in movies for some reason. "No More Samaritans" has a great mix of keys and clean guitars, and great lyrics.

Another one of my favorites is "Go Back", it is very relaxing, but in a way you wouldn't think of. Dryw's falsetto vocals on this song are also incredible. There is also some great slide guitar in this song. This song features my favorite lyrics on this album, regarding wishing to go back to the past (that's my interpretation at least). If you haven't listened to this album, it is VERY different from their previous EP. I highly, highly, recommend you check it out.


user ratings (94)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
cbear777 (4.5)
A great emotionally driven CD filled with enough atmosphere to get lost in. You probably have not he...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Ponton
Emeritus
January 14th 2010



5784 Comments


Welcome to the site.

First off, you do have some work to do. For one, try to organize your review into cohesive paragraphs. Also, your grammar could use some work as well. I would suggest reading some of the staff or contributor reviews to get a good idea of how to write your own. Keep trying at it.



Cesar
January 14th 2010



2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This isn't a 5, and it lacks originality. Other than that and a few boring moments the album is great and shows definite potential from this band.

Patiently waiting for their next album..

dylanthedesertpea
January 14th 2010



587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you'll be waiting forever mr. Cesar cuz i do believe they broke up

dylanthedesertpea
January 14th 2010



587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and @ the reviewer. you should probably put all the song titles in quotations since you did for like half of your review and then didn't use them for titles at all in the other half.

Cesar
January 14th 2010



2732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh yeah, I forgot.... its a shame

dylanthedesertpea
January 14th 2010



587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it really is a shame. i absolutely loved this album. it showed quite a bit of potential

DiceMan
January 14th 2010



7068 Comments


Or put them in italics. Maybe seperate your review out into different paragraphs so it isn't so WALL OF TEXT like

MentalityOfA
February 27th 2010



1213 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Joshua reminds me of Assassin's Creed II. I think it has to with Monteriggioni.

zuzek
March 8th 2010



750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The nagging feeling working it's way through my brain while this beautiful album plays is horrible. I'd love to give it higher marks, but there simply is too much Thrice-rip-off-ery that stands in my way. If only the band had existed longer it could've shown more of their excellent talent. Still, people need to check this out if they like latter era Thrice at all.

smiff0009
March 16th 2010



83 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@zuzek They do thrice better than thrice does thrice. Don't get me wrong thrice is good, but they are so hit and miss that I have to skip a lot of tracks.

Deathcar
June 3rd 2010



1534 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shamelessly influenced by post Vheissu Thrice (seriously, listen to In Vitro and The Whaler back to back...) but that is by no means a bad thing. Still put their own touches in to keep it relevant, great album.




Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 9th 2010



9977 Comments


This sounds like something I would like...

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

soap91
June 15th 2010



125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album really needs some more love, its a bit of a hidden gem...

crazyblinddude
July 1st 2010



3389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is good

ollieoo
September 22nd 2010



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Jonette was actually written about Dryw's girlfriend at the time which by the way he is now married to, They are two amazing people!!! :D I love them

smiff0009
October 4th 2010



83 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I noticed that ollieoo. Good to see they're happy. And a great song too!

Piglet
October 4th 2010



4651 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is good [2]



kevin234
December 11th 2010



238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

its so underrated, more people need to hear it. jus the progression alone from the ep is remarkable

THIEF
January 21st 2011



237 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Still don't understand why these guys aren't huge on this site..

They defiantly deserve the attention.

redrig
February 8th 2011



46 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

such an amazing album.. reminds me of thrice's "alchemy index vols. I & II fire and water" album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy