MC Frontalot
Nerdcore Rising


4.5
superb

Review

by Hunter Ramirez USER (39 Reviews)
January 9th, 2010 | 15 replies | 3,241 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Nerdcore Rising...nothing quite describes this album better.

If you took a quick look at MC Frontalot. You can tell he doesn't really fit in with the Hip-Hop/Rap community. Yet he strives to make a place for himself & nerdcore hip-hop in the community. Instead of rapping about getting money, having sex, getting high, or a thousand other cliches. Frontalot raps about all sorts of problems that a nerd would have, NOT getting the girls, people forgetting who he is, and many other subjects. Now instead of having pretending to be serious about himself and his Star Trek collection he laughs at himself and doesn't get too serious. Which makes for a fun listen.

This entire album you can tell MC Frontalot has been through a lot of humility which is sad, cause the beats are nice and a lot of the songs are catchy as hell. "Charity Case" is Front's plea for people to buy his album and not to download, so he can actually "buy some new pants", while "Goth Girls" is his love for the ladies in dark, but not being able to talk to them. "Pr0n S0ng" has to be my personal favorite and a real funny song, it doesn't take a huge imagination to figure out what it's about. "This Old Man" shows Front's willing to throw more then the old FL Studio in there, as a banjo and piano come together and makes a real nice groove."Nerdcore Rising" which features guest spots of Jesse Dangerous & MC Hawkwing, is all of their rhymes about trying to get Nerdcore in the hip-hop catalog. It's a good listen and both of the guest spots bring this song together, makes you wish for Nerdcore to be considered in with the rest of em. The 2nd half of the disc tends to go for more of a "spoof" type rap style which isn't bad, the album flows together without it sounding like the same song over and over again. "Penny Arcade Theme" is Front showing his love for the nerds everywhere, and is named after the famous arcade. "I Heart Fags" is another personal favorite which presents Front defending his more curly friends in Chicago.

I could go on forever about how great each song is and why you should listen, but it's something you have to experience to understand. Each song has funny, yet honest lyrics, good beats without it seeming tired. MC Frontalot may sound like a regular Weird Al, but boy can this guy make Nerdcore sound great. It's something fun and different to listen to, which honestly is something that this genre can use after all the bull-crappery I get to see on MTV on Sunday. The only problem I have is that this disc may get old (as every other fun-to-listen to album) after about 5 or 6 spins around your stereo.

Recommended Songs-
Charity Case
Goth Girls
Pr0n S0ng
Nerdcore Rising
Floating Bridge
I Heart Fags
Indier Then Thou

Songs to Skip-
Yellow Lasers



Recent reviews by this author
Mushroomhead Beautiful Stories For Ugly ChildrenBury Your Dead Beauty and the Breakdown
Turbid North OrogenyBeneath The Sky In Loving Memory
Lil Jon Crunk RockKing Conquer Decomposing Normality
user ratings (14)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Bulldog (1.5)
This album is gimmicky, and isn’t very good, but a mention of listening to it is redeemable for tw...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ThePalestMexican
January 9th 2010


2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As always Constructive criticism!


TheEnforcer
January 9th 2010


270 Comments


Neg'd for various reasons. (this is your 12th review so I don't feel bad)

"cause the beats are nice" not at all descriptive


"Pr0n S0ng" has to be my personal favorite and a real funny song" same

"I could go on forever about how great each song is and why you listen" unsure what you meant by that but I wish you would have went into more detail.

Tip: take more time with the review and this on definitely doesn't read like a 4.5

ThePalestMexican
January 9th 2010


2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, at least you gave a reason.
I cut back a lot on this review, cause I found that the compliments to each song I gave was about the same. (nice beats, & fun lyrics, repeated about 16 times).
This was my first Hip-Hop review, I found myself having a hard time describing the sound.

I'm usually more into metal/rock, so I think I'll just stick to that from now on, some reviewers can do multiple genres. I'm not one of them lol

TheEnforcer
January 9th 2010


270 Comments


Well then I admire your spirit. Don't give up on hip-hop just get a little more descriptive, when I write I always keep a thesaurus at hand.

BallsToTheWall
January 9th 2010


44294 Comments


This is what sputnik has always needed....an honest yet iron willed review enforcer. Unfortunately for me I dont give a fuck about writing spirited reviews so my approval will probaly drop to 23%.

Digging: Tiamat - Clouds

ThePalestMexican
January 9th 2010


2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Take a gander at my first 3 reviews, they were horrible.
I was coming out of a chronic capitalization problem, and it really took a bullet to my reviews.

I've been slowly improving, though by looks of my approval (52%) It hasn't been much lol.

hydeyomoney
January 9th 2010


934 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Nerdcore basically is incredibly stupid, kind of like this review.

elephantREVOLUTION
January 9th 2010


2743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nerdcore basically is incredibly awesome.

ThePalestMexican
January 9th 2010


2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

okay, never touching hip-hop again
lol

hydeyomoney
January 9th 2010


934 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

no dude, continue if you want, just, you know, describe stuff and things. Also take some of TheEnforcer's advice, though he hasn't reviewed quite yet, he seems to know what he's talking about.

PirateSquid
January 9th 2010


1881 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fags like to FUCK!

I love this album.

ThePalestMexican
January 9th 2010


2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nah, cause I don't know quite enough about the hip-hop genre to really describe things past "WOAH! Nice beats! Funny lyrics!"
as with more metal or rock bands I can at least describe the sound while knowing how to word it out.
this I didn't know how to quite word it out, so I winged it.

never doing that again.
cause I'm striving to be a decent reviewer, and I'm not quite there yet, so I'll stick to what I know.
I might re-do some of the things here, after I get a little bit more cultured.

Dreamsoffew
January 9th 2010


1002 Comments


You cut a lot of sentences in half, especially in the first paragraph. Use commars instead.

ThePalestMexican
January 9th 2010


2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I will keep that in mind when I re-do this review.

HipsterDoofus
September 27th 2011


7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a great album. I mightbe more fond of it than I should Be, because of what it got me into. but still, a good album. good rhymes, unique flow. so on, so forth



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy