Bad Rabbits
Stick Up Kids


4.0
excellent

Review

by Mark Campbell USER (12 Reviews)
January 4th, 2010 | 43 replies | 43,533 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I dare you not to get down.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Bad Rabbits were a rather inauspicious band to be opening for Glassjaw when I saw them at Maxwell's in New Jersey on 12/23/09. Out of the the five bands on the bill, they definitely stood out like a sore thumb; amidst a bunch of indie and wannabe post-rock groups - one in particular cashing in on a particular band member ("Oh hi we're Sainthood Reps and there's a guy from Brand New in our group and did we mention we're from Long Island?"), Bad Rabbits were playing straight-up 80's throwback soul/funk/R&B with a delicious pop twist, kinda like mixing Prince and the Minneapolis sound with P-Funk and Michael Jackson with modern pop sensibilities. And make no mistake, it rocks. Despite the music being decades old, Bad Rabbits serve up the funk with a freshness not seen in a long time. Opener "Booties" sounds like a modern take on Bobby Brown's "On Our Own" while the vintage keyboard samples bring out your inner High-Tops kid. "Stick Up Kids" starts out with what could be an almost post-hardcore chord progression before going into an awesome dancey keyboard/guitar vamp. "Can't Back Down" combines 80's Minneapolis with tight funk riffs and a huge rock outro, with high-pitched falsettos and lush faux-keyboard to great effect.

And these guys are really talented. All the keyboard you hear on this record are actually guitar riffs passed through a pedalboard! That's ***ing awesome dude. Singer Fredua Boakye is probably the closest we'll get to a Baby Prince with his awesome, soulful falsetto and undeniably vintage vocal melodies. Guitarists Salim Akram and Santiago Araujo serve up faux-keyboard lead lines and tight funk upstrokes and riffage that constitute the musical highlight of Stick Up Kids. Point is, it's so fun and vintage you can't help but love it. And make no mistake, as good as the EP is it simply does NOT compare to hearing them live - they're much better. Expect big, big things in the future.

This EP is offered as a free download on the band's Myspace. Here is the link: http://www.sendspace.com/file/1gxqih



Recent reviews by this author
Propagandhi Failed StatesGlassjaw Our Color Green (The Singles)
Bad Religion The Dissent of ManLetlive. Fake History
Candiria Kiss The Lie (Vinyl/Digital)No Use for a Name The Feel Good Record of the Year
user ratings (92)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrizzMatik
January 4th 2010



3175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So yeah band rules, you can get the EP from www.karmaloop.com and it's on iTunes and Amazon. The band offered it up for free download recently, not sure if that's still good or if the links are up but I'll ask Fredua about it

Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years

erasedcitizen
January 4th 2010



716 Comments


That's fucking awesome dude.

StrizzMatik
January 4th 2010



3175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I noticed I used the word "vintage" a lot but it was written in 15 minutes on my lunch break so w/e fuckers

^^ haha yes, it is fucking awesome dude. Seeing it live was ridiculous

alachlahol
January 4th 2010



7471 Comments


passed over this when i came up on their myspace a few months back but i should probably look into it and fuck you

StrizzMatik
January 4th 2010



3175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

EDIT: no u

NewYorkZoo
January 4th 2010



95 Comments


you've convinced me to listen to them. good review.

BigTuna
January 4th 2010



5154 Comments


I'm pretty sure there is a member of Irepress in this band.

Digging: Common - Nobody's Smiling

BigTuna
January 4th 2010



5154 Comments


Yep there is.

StrizzMatik
January 4th 2010



3175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah the drummer. Dude's awesome, the rhythm section isn't as flashy as the guitarists and vocalist but they hold it down

BTW band's Myspace is http://www.myspace.com/badrabbitsband, two of the songs from the EP are streaming plus a standalone song called "Trix Are For Kids"

TRMshadow
January 4th 2010



4982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I found out about these guys through Irepress' facebook status. Downloaded and loved. Great review too, pos.

StrizzMatik
January 4th 2010



3175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok guys, the link for the EP download from the band's myspace is now in the review. Enjoy!

StrizzMatik
January 6th 2010



3175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Come on it's fucking free

TRMshadow
January 6th 2010



4982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It's awesome, I hate most of this kind of music, but this just grabs me like nothing else has. GET IT NOW!!!

TRMshadow
February 1st 2010



4982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is SO F**KING CATCHY!!!!

StrizzMatik
February 2nd 2010



3175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So yeah people bump listen to something good oh yeah IT'S FREE AND THE DOWNLOAD LINK IS IN THE REVIEW

elephantREVOLUTION
April 8th 2010



2734 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i just saw them live last night and they blew my mind.

darkbunny
April 13th 2010



141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is some good shit.

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

Timma!
May 15th 2010



19 Comments


How could you not groove to this..?

TRMshadow
July 29th 2010



4982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Fredua Boakye was in the studio with Chino Moreno last night. Look forward to something amazing.

zuzek
August 16th 2010



750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Happy catchy awesomeness.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy