Mudvayne
The Beginning of All Things to End


2.5
average

Review

by Maniac USER (21 Reviews)
January 2nd, 2010 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is the beginning. The beginning of Mudvayne that is. This is where the Peoria, Illinois metal band got their start.

When a band releases their debut material, it usually isn't produced very well and it often shows just the raw talent of the band. Well that's the case here.
There seems to be very little production in this album, making it a very raw and aggressive one. This being the first, you can see much of the same thoughts and themes that were put together to make the great L.D.50, yet much more immature. Songs like "I.D.I.O.T.", "Fear", and "Poop Loser" are a sign of times before Chad Grey's much more intelligent lyrics, examples such as: "Skrying", "Fall into Sleep", and "Severed" showcase how much Grey has progressed. Though as I said, the lyrics were not as great, you can still hear the potential in "Cultivate" and "Seed", which happen to be my favorites off the album.

So now you must be wondering wondering about Ryan and Matt, most Mudvayne fans do. Were they just as good back in the day as they are now? The answer ... complicated actually. The original bassist as some of you may, or may not know, was not Ryan Martinie. In fact Ryan is only in the remixes of "Dig". The original bassist was Shawn Barclay. Now you may be thinking... "Well I dont know this Shawn person, is he any good?" The answer to that question is not as complicated, actually he was a very decent bassist and he stood out through the whole album. I believe the bass was one of the high points of the album, even without Martinie. Shocking isn't it? As for Matt, well i think Matt was decent here, not as great as future albums, but he shows as much potential as Grey. Greg Tribbet however, plays the same now as when they started, by pounding out power chords through the whole album, with a nifty solo here and there.

Though this album has some major pitfalls, primarily the immature lyrics and the lack of much creativity, Mudvayne show that they have enough talent to produce worthwhile music in the future.



Recent reviews by this author
Black Swan Black Swan (In 8 Movements)Rishloo Feathergun
Atrium Carceri PhrenitisUnexpect Fables of the Sleepless Empire
Laura Stevenson Sit ResistJulie Christmas Coextinction Release 5
user ratings (202)
Chart.
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
LeviofDoom (3)
The Beginning of All Things to End showcases Mudvayne's talent as a band, but not so much as writers...

mudvayne_bass_player (3)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Zio
January 2nd 2010


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Very well written and solid information backed up with solid facts.

Nice one MuzikManiac, couldn't have said it better myself. :P

Powerban
January 2nd 2010


2380 Comments


In your profile, click edit reviews.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


8387 Comments


nice review for a first. Some pointers:
1) you comment too much, if that makes sense, trying to think for/like the reader. But leave that part to the reader ;) (I'm thinking of sentneces and comments inside the review like "So now you must be wondering wondering about Ryan and Matt..." or " Now you may be thinking..." or "Shocking isn't it?"). In a nuthsell; less small talk, more review/descriptions
2) next time, a bigger conclusion would be appreciated
3) try to improve on sentence flow ( a thing that will progress with writing anyway)
4) maybe a tad more detail


Alright, with that said, this is decent for a first, and you may have my pos.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


8387 Comments


no problem man. Oh and also a thing I forgot to mention earlier - always make sure you back up your rating well. For instance, this reads much more like a 3.5 or a 3 review, because the only time you state the flaws of this album is in 1-2 lines in the conclsusion and that is far not enough. That is something you could do right away tbh, go back and edit this a bit, try to add like 2-3 sentences into the second paragraph about why this isn't deserving to be more than a 2.5. Expand your thoughts a bit etc

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


8387 Comments


good to see your enthusiasm. Keep at it

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


8387 Comments


then you should raise this to at least a 3. Also, in that case, soften the conclusion a bit

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


8387 Comments


yeah tbt's aren't really well-liked by teh majority, including me haha. Also, a little proofreading help on the house:

Though this album's pitfalls are the immature lyrics and the lack of much creativity, they show that they have enough talent to produce worthwhile music in the future.

sentence flow is a bit bad, go with something like this: Though this album has definitive drawbacks, such as immature lyrics and lack of creativity, Mudvayne showed that they have enough talent to produce good music in the future.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


8387 Comments


replace the "they" after the comma in the last paragraph with "Mudvayne" and I'll be pleased ;)

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


31475 Comments


Such a taskmaster Styles.

Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


8387 Comments


Such a taskmaster Styles.
hey now, I'm doing this for him (and yes, I know your comment was meant as humorous). It's really important to get pointers early on in your reviewing career. I thank curseworship to this day because he was so kind to help me out after my first, and terribly poor review.

KieranVandRakim
January 2nd 2010


332 Comments


poop loser

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


31475 Comments


If you want my advice beef up your conclusion, there's not really much going for it. This album is actually a re-release (remastered version as well) of their demo, Kill I Oughtta. Compared to that album there's a ton of production here. You also don't mention the Dig remixes, or the entire 17 minute "track" as well.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


31475 Comments


No need to say that, but I would advise more than 10 minutes be spent on it.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


31475 Comments


It's the default review. It's the most pos'd, plus tbt's arent't cool, unless you can do them really well.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


8387 Comments


actually, as much as I've gathered from this undoubtably turbid system, the default will be either: 1) the one that doesn't have any negs 2) if an album has more than 1 review, and both of them are pos'd, then the default will be the one done earlier, dunno why

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


31475 Comments


Or you can ask to flag it.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


8387 Comments


flag = being the default review

And yes, yours does because it's better than that other, aged tbt.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


8387 Comments


looking foward to it

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010


8387 Comments


just make sure you take your time with the next one :-)

TRMshadow
January 2nd 2010


4982 Comments


Good first review. . . I really need to get to doing another one. . .



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy