Marduk
Panzer Division Marduk


3.5
great

Review

by somberlain USER (64 Reviews)
December 29th, 2009 | 27 replies | 9,906 views


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An all out assault on the senses, it’s over before you know it and will leave your head spinning.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

The sixth offering by Swedish black metal band Marduk, well they call themselves a black metal band and although their subject matter would be considered “black,” they’re sound is clearly more death metal influenced. Panzer Division Marduk is a war-themed album as evidenced by the album’s artwork which along with the World War II themes caused the band to be accused of being Nazi sympathizers, something that they were quick to deny.

The album starts out with sounds of bombs and several tracks start off with similar sounds, keeping with the war theme. Starting things off is the title track and it gives an indication of what’s to come: very fast guitar riffs and blazing drum work that at times sounds like one constant blast beat. Not a whole lot of variety, that’s obviously not the goal here, this is a band whose aim was to be “the most blasphemous band in the world” so it would stand to reason that they would not try to make something that’s even remotely accessible. Black or extreme metal is a genre that prides itself in being anti-commercial and one-dimensional and that’s exactly what this is.

Although war-themed, Marduk’s favorite subject matter is also ever-present and on full display here that of course being Satanism and attacking religion, with subtle song titles like “Christraping Black Metal” and “Fist***ing God's Planet,” clearly making their point. The goal of this album is to simply pummel the listener into submission and it does that with it’s raspy vocals, constant blast beats and blindingly fast riffing. The production is surprisingly good for an album of this genre, not perfect but again, that’s not the intent, it fit’s the style of music well.

This is extreme metal at it’s best(worst?), unlike the tank on the album cover, this is more of a sonic carpet bombing by fighter jets flying by at high speeds, doing what they need to do and quickly moving on(about 30 minutes long), leaving the listeners in a daze, trying to dig themselves out of the rubble.

Legion – vocals
Morgan Steinmeyer Håkansson – guitar
B. War – bass
Fredrik Andersson – drums



Recent reviews by this author
Nas Street's DiscipleLloyd Banks The Hunger For More
The Haunted The HauntedOrganized Konfusion Organized Konfusion
Roadrunner United Roadrunner United The Concert (DVD)AZ Doe or Die
user ratings (135)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
FuneralMarch (2)
...

MoosechriS (4)
Marduks combination of blastbeats and bullets punishes your senses and you'll love every second of i...


Comments:Add a Comment 
somberlain
December 29th 2009



2121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is my first metal review so any feedback would be greatly appreciated

Wizard
December 29th 2009



19333 Comments


Thats fucked you reviewed Marduk because I'm listening to La Grande Danse Macabre right now!

Perfect review for this and excellent for a first. Glad to see your doing reviews for albums that seem to lack any.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

somberlain
December 29th 2009



2121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah so far I've only done stuff with no reviews maybe later I'll do a 2nd for something if I don't like/agree with the 1st. doing a 3rd review is just pointless imo though some albums have 5-10 reviews!

TricksterGRex
December 29th 2009



2087 Comments


cant stand any marduk

Wizard
December 29th 2009



19333 Comments


I'm the same way; done a few reviews where I thought the other one didn't do it justice.

Is this worth checking out if I pretty much enjoy everything else they've done? I reviewed their latest album 3/5.

Relinquished
December 29th 2009



24918 Comments


This is a war-themed album as evidenced by the album’s artwork

I would put the album's name instead of 'this', it would fit better.
I can't stand Marduk though.

somberlain
December 29th 2009



2121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ Wiz you mean you've heard everything else by them except this?
well then what are you waiting for?!
this is just fast, fast, fast don't think they've done something else quite like this

hydeyomoney
December 29th 2009



934 Comments


ehhh not a fan of this band, good review though.

somberlain
December 29th 2009



2121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanx for the suggestion Relinquished, fixed it

Wizard
December 29th 2009



19333 Comments


@ Wiz you mean you've heard everything else by them except this?

Sorry, I meant everything I've heard by them I enjoy.

Hawks
December 29th 2009



35592 Comments


Yeah Wiz you'll like this. The only Marduk album that isn't good is World Funeral. And good review man. Great album.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

iranscam
December 29th 2009



469 Comments


lol marduk

FadeToBlack
December 30th 2009



10913 Comments


this album has a couple of good songs (CHRISTRAPING BLACK METAL!) but its pretty boring overall

Opus Nocturne is definitley their best album

Silenius
December 30th 2009



302 Comments


Marduk with Legion isn't my piece o' cake, good review though.

EnCrypt.
May 27th 2010



882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"this is more of a sonic carpet bombing by fighter jets flying by at high speeds, doing what they need to do and quickly moving on"

That was a great line, it went perfect with the album and your summary.

gutturaldevourment88
September 27th 2010



37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is marduks best album imo. Legion was their best vocalist.

Hawks
September 27th 2010



35592 Comments


Eh Legion was pretty mediocre.

somberlain
October 3rd 2010



2121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thx EnCrypt. I felt it really went with the theme of the album and the cover


Ire
October 3rd 2010



41754 Comments


lol this band

somberlain
October 3rd 2010



2121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mireduk



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy