Circle Takes the Square
As the Roots Undo


5.0
classic

Review

by JohnnyGetYerKnife USER (19 Reviews)
December 9th, 2009 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With our voices in harmony, the offering, of a crow quilled threnody.‏

If you have not heard of Circle Takes The Square, you should be slapped twice across the face. They have one of the most unique sounds I ever heard, and it's a sound that no other band has. They play a mixture of hardcore and chaotic emo, something I like to call 'Experimental Chaotic Screamo.' Circle Takes The Square create an album that is a mixture of aggressive noise and beautiful melodies, as well packing so much emotion into their music and lyrics as well. They create a masterpiece that's sound has not been heard in the music business lately. Their music is made even more beautiful because of the comparison of Drew Speziale's vocals to Kathy Coppola's vocals, which feature and contrast on most of the songs. Circle Takes The Square take a lot of influence from other bands similar to themselves such as Pg.99 and Saetia, and this album is proof of that. They may not be as brutal as Pg.99, but they mix hardcore and emo perfectly.

The lyrics on the album are incredible, some of the best lyrics I've ever seen. The majority of them are so deep and hard to understand the true meaning behind them all. The album revolves around the protagonist, a suicidal man who jumps from the roof of a building. But, when he does so, he regrets it. He then arrives at heaven, realizing it's not all it's hyped up to be. God is very demanding and controls the people there. The protagonist then devises a plan to overthrow god in order to make heaven peaceful. The plan is successful, but he becomes just like god, controlling and demanding. Altogether, I think the lyrics work very well as a story and more bands should do this. You could say that this album is one long poem... Only one hundred times more awesome than a regular poem.

Circle Takes The Square's song structure and technicality are amazing. Drew's guitar work sounds inspired by 80's thrash, whilst the drumming sits at the other end of the scale, resembling some of the main aspects of grind. Caleb Collins is easily one of the most underrated drummers in the history of the world. As usual, the bass lingers in the background like most other albums, but the quiet interludes show the complexity of it. The main highlight of the album's instrumentation for me and many others is the vocal work. As mentioned above, the two vocalists contrast regularly and harmonize perfectly. Drew has performed some of the best vocal work he ever will on any album. The vocal work is undeniably some of the best you will find in the genre.

On average, each song lasts 6 - 7 minutes, except for the last two tracks which clock in at over nine and a half minutes and just over eight minutes respectively. This may be off putting to some, but all the tracks sound so great and this length is perfect. Emo-Violence is a genre that gets thrown around a lot and every song on As The Roots Undo is the perfect definition of it. Whether it's the quiet interludes of tracks like In The Nervous Light Of Sunday or be it the full on brutality of The Same Shade As Concrete, each track is stunning.

This album contains some of the best, most accessible Chaotic Emo to ever be recorded and it certainly lives up to the hype. Whether you're a fan of Pg.99 or I Would Set Myself On Fire For You, this album is worthy of your attention. You may, eventually, get sick of this album after listening to it over 1,038 times but, you can only get sick of it after you've analyzed every little bit of detail on it. It's an incredible album, it really is. As The Roots Undo lives up to all expectation, and even defines a genre. Circle Takes The Square, I salute you.



Recent reviews by this author
Cannibal Corpse Butchered at BirthSuffocation The Close of a Chapter
Satanic Destroyer CorruptionDark Funeral Attera Totus Sanctus
Bathory OctagonTiamat A Deeper Kind of Slumber
user ratings (1868)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Thor
December 9th 2009


10200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'Experimental Chaotic Screamo.'

JohnnyGetYerKnife
December 9th 2009


157 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fuck yeah. My first 'Experimental Chaotic Screamo' review. yes, I like emo, my fellow metal heads. Please shoot me when you're ready.

combustion07
December 9th 2009


5376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nonthing wrong with a little emo, this is proabably my favorite record that fits the label, I haven't given this a listen for a long time. This needs to change.

pride
December 9th 2009


227 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Most of the people around here seem to, I didn't like this though.
Pretty good review.

qwe3
December 9th 2009


21362 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah its just called screamo dude.
coupla things

The main highlight of the album's instrumentation for me and many others is the vocal work.

instrumentation doesn't include vocals


On average, each song lasts 6 - 7 minutes, except for the last two tracks which clock in at over nine and a half minutes and just over eight minutes respectively.


this is pretty unnecessary in my opinion.

the comparison of Drew Speziale's vocals to Kathy Coppola's vocals


i think a more fitting way of putting it would be "vocal interplay between Drew and Kathy" or something. "comparison" doesn't quite work.

and you use a fuckload of superlatives and kinda overdose on hyperbole man, it makes it hard to take some stuff seriously.

e.g.
"The vocal work is undeniably some of the best you will find in the genre."
"one of the most underrated drummers in the history of the world."
"The majority of them are so deep and hard to understand the true meaning behind them all."

but there was a lotta description and you obv know the material well


oh and i liked how you included the concept


JohnnyGetYerKnife
December 9th 2009


157 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The drumming is fuckin' INSANE though. Thanks, I'll edit when I can be arsed. lol.

SnackaryBinx
December 9th 2009


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

review contains way too many over-generalizations.
they aren't close to emo-violence
drummer is alright to be honest.

Prophet178
December 9th 2009


6397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The lyrics on the album are incredible, some of the best lyrics I've ever seen.


You can see lyrics?!

Foxhound
December 9th 2009


4570 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nice concept but this band isn't my cup of apple juice.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 9th 2009


23909 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review but I don't think I'm alone when I say that the vocal work is definitely not one of the
strong points of the album (in terms of technicality). The gritty screams work well with the music
but I hardly think they're the technical highlight of the album.

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

DiceMan
December 9th 2009


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

as well packing so much emotion into their music and lyrics as well.

uhhwhat? SnackaryBinx is right... This review is chock full of over-generalizations, this isn't emo-violence, and the drummer is just ok. The drummer actually pales in comparison to the vocalists who do some really awesome interplay pretty consistently through the entire album.

illmitch
December 9th 2009


5429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

glad to see this album has finally gotten the positive review it deserves

DiceMan
December 9th 2009


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^yeah. A sixth (5) review for this was rather unneccesary to be honest with you also. Also, Aids, I personally think that they are a technical highlight of the album. Listen to Same Shade As Concrete again and tell me that it isn't one of the technical highlights. Also, Kill The Switch.

Inveigh
December 9th 2009


25025 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Just got into this in the past couple weeks.. good stuff -- no idea how I missed out on it for so long. Review is pretty full of hyperbole, but I like the bit about the album's concept.

Schizophrenik
December 9th 2009


842 Comments


"They have one of the most unique sounds I ever heard, and it's a sound that no other band has"

"...that's sound has not been heard in the music business lately"

redundant



other than that, i dont know cause i didn't read past the first paragraph. to many 5 reviews for this to care


kitsch
December 9th 2009


5107 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

its not chaotic experimental emo
or emo violence
is screamo

stop being a tool and using labels that you have no idea what they mean

erasedcitizen
December 9th 2009


716 Comments


This reads like some passing thoughts about what to include in a real review. Sucky, amateur, etc. re-write it.

fromtheinside
December 9th 2009


18717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

album is good.

Digging: Devin Townsend Project - Z2

Fapper
December 9th 2009


649 Comments


If you have not heard of < band >, you should be slapped twice across the face.

I tend to stop reading reviews here.

rasputin
December 9th 2009


14550 Comments


I stopped reading after this:

If you have not heard of Circle Takes The Square, you should be slapped twice across the face. They have one of the most unique sounds I ever heard, and it's a sound that no other band has.


Edit: as above



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy