Felt
Felt 3: A Tribute to Rosie Perez


3.5
great

Review

by Sobhi Youssef EMERITUS
December 2nd, 2009 | 28 replies | 11,138 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: More or less the Aesop Rock show through and through

To any of my regular readers, it's probably no secret that I despise Slug (of overrated Atmosphere fame) almost as much as I do Murs (of also overrated, 9th Wonder-produced 3:16 fame). And with that, I had a real bias going into listening to a record produced entirely by an emcee instrumental in my hip-hop development. Like any aspiring backpacking blogger-come-critic, Aesop Rock was one of my first forays into progressively produced and lyrically existential hip-hop. But while my days as a purely conscious-bent subject matter proponent are over, a sentimentality still lingers over my time spent with Aes. When I saw he would be responsible for the production on Felt's third installment, A Tribute to Rosie Perez, I was excited and apprehensive simultaneously.

As expected, Aes Rock brings an interesting production style to the table. Influenced by his varied experiences on Blockhead and El-P beats and his lyrical penchant for the complicated/ semi-ridiculous, there are a lot of good things going on here. Namely, Aes displays an almost uncanny tendency to layer multiple samples amidst his progressive, syncopated beats. And while he sounds like a mixture of the aforementioned artists with respect to progginess versus playfulness, a signature Aesop Rock sludgy feel exists throughout. Whether it's an excessively low low-end equalizer setting for the drum track, it's definitely something you'd expect extrapolating his production skills through such eccentric rapping.

Most importantly though, the drumming really does wonders for Felt's sonic background; previous iterations have been saturated in a classically chilled-out west coast vibe. Sans experimentation, it's hard to find anything that Slug and Murs say... well... interesting. Aes does wonders to prop the two up - they're somehow a perfect fit for his sludgy, experimental meanderings. As is typical with Felt releases, you'll find more of the same brag raps, punchlines, odes to the greener things in life, and so on. When Slug is at his most Atmospheric (ie, emotive storytelling), he's at his best, but it really doesn't matter. Nothing here really sticks with you, but it's more or less the Aesop Rock show through and through; hopefully he puts out more in the future.



Recent reviews by this author
Nacho Picasso and Avatar Darko VampsterdamGorguts Colored Sands
Run the Jewels Run the JewelsThe-Dream IV Play
James Blake OvergrownTyler the Creator Wolf
user ratings (46)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Inveigh (3.5)
Almost four years after "Dirty Girl," Felt returns with a truly grimy and East Coast-inspired record...


Comments:Add a Comment 
kingsoby1
Emeritus
December 2nd 2009



4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

late, but had to get it out.

Inveigh
December 2nd 2009



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review man; I like how you compare/contrast Aesop the rapper with Aesop the producer. Described the production perfectly.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

Niceinvader
December 2nd 2009



773 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, so if I like protagonists will I like this album? I thought Aes did an incredible job on that song.

Kyle
December 2nd 2009



667 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I would have thought you'd dig this if you enjoyed protagonists.

Glad you got around to this review, reads well if a little brief on anything other than production. But I guess the production is why you listened to this in the first place.

Inveigh
December 2nd 2009



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea I think Protagonists is a decent representation of the album's sound; although it's certainly not one of my favorite tracks.

AggravatedYeti
December 3rd 2009



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is alright enough. Slug sucks, Murs is alright and production is where it's at.

MoonBoots432
December 3rd 2009



30 Comments


Slug's great, Murs is decent, and you guys are idiots.

But good review, really.

CushMG15
December 3rd 2009



1802 Comments


I'm yet to check this, but my roomate was telling me that it's pretty decent. I, for one, actually really like Slug and haven't really heard much in the way of Murs. I also really dig Aesop, so yeah....gotta get this. Reviews good as always, despite differences of opinion.

Inveigh
December 3rd 2009



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think Slug and Murs are pretty much equal on this record.. tough to say who has the more impressive discography. Newer stuff from both of them has been spotty to say the least. They're both at their best when story-telling; although back in the days of Headshots, Overcast! and Dynospectrum Slug used to hit up some fairly complex rhyme-schemes.

Kyle
December 4th 2009



667 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, Murs For President was pretty weak, but I used to dig The End Of The Beginning.

Inveigh
December 5th 2009



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea I like that one too, although 3:16's probably my favorite from him.

poweroftheweez
December 8th 2009



1290 Comments


might check this if only to hear aesop rocks production. good review soby

Detective Dan
December 8th 2009



169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Felt Chewed Up" is such a great song. Aes tears it up. Too bad the rest of the album isn't so hot.

foreverendeared
December 22nd 2009



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Permanent Standby is such a good song. I'm a fan of Slug, but this album is definitely pretty week lyrically. The production makes up for that for the most part.

Niceinvader
January 7th 2010



773 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^^Permanent standby is so fucking sick.

Inveigh
January 7th 2010



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Permanent Standby's one of my favorites. I love Ghost Dance Deluxe and She Sonnet too. This album's still pretty ace considering what Slug and Murs have done recently.

cirq
January 7th 2010



9263 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Said this in the other review.. Would have been better if aes spit on this

Inveigh
January 7th 2010



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

word cirq, one chorus on one song isn't enough

AziHaka
January 23rd 2010



6 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Felt 2 is far better.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 23rd 2010



4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

nah mang



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy