Dark Funeral
Attero Totus Sanctus


2.5
average

Review

by JohnnyGetYerKnife USER (19 Reviews)
November 29th, 2009 | 36 replies | 7,321 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Predictable, boring, generic... 'Nuff said...

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

Black Metal has always been famous for incorporating certain elements into the music, such as ridiculously fast drumming, and beautifully melodic vocals. Unfortunately though, it seems that some bands have nothing better to do than to write their music intentionally poor in every aspect, just to gain attention in the underground scene. Despite the success of Dark Funeral, a band that is respected by most people, it's now clear that they've run out of ideas.

Attera Totus Sactus is one of those albums that should never, ever be shown to a friend or a relative who knows nothing about black metal, or the metal scene in general. Why not? It's easy to explain: you would look insane to anyone else who heard this, knowing nothing about Black Metal, because it would be impossible to explain why this album might be enjoyed, without hammering your skull against the wall, screaming "They are not actually singing these sh-t lyrics, are they?!" Bands like Darkthrone have always been famous due to their lyrical masterpieces, but the concept behind this album is clearly an attempt to create fast and aggressive music, hence dropping their status to that of a joke band, a band that don't take themselves seriously.

If you are familiar with Black Metal, and you know how to deal with looking for meaning behind these lyrics, then, by all means, go ahead. Leave a comment when you've deciphered please. I'd like to see Dark Funeral explain why such poor lyrics have been used, which don't support the other aspects of the music at all. One track, Godhate, sees all the flaws of the album in one place, resulting in a complete failure of the whole song. If this was the only track where this happened, we would overlook it, due to the other awesome songs... But no, at least half the songs fail in this way, and some end up sounding similar to everything else that's been done before.

Beside the crap lyrics, and half the tracks, the music really is a spectacular piece of Black Metal, though some may say it's too modern and sounds too clean. Sure, the production does help in its way to give the tracks the last piece of energy they need to be fully enjoyable, despite the lyrics and vocals. The drumming of Matte Modin has a huge impact on the sound and tempo of the tracks. His beats revive hope and lift some tracks beyond the level of average Black Metal bands using double-bass drumming. Like in other albums, he makes the difference and it is his style which keeps the songs on a high level. Not very surprisingly the guitars have used the momentum from the drum to support their play. Both parts are closely linked and it works fine on this record.

The tracks seem predictable, as Dark Funeral is famous for fast Black Metal. Atrum Regina, though, is an exception, with its midtempo rhythms, which is a contrast to the rest of the album. It is, sad but true. This song is so badly written that it is hardly tolerable, not speaking of endurable. Some may call this evolution, whilst others may call it 'sh-t', but, it does show what the band is capable of and what is too demanding for them. Writing good songs beyond the spectrum of extreme Black Metal is enemy territory for them. Don't get me wrong, there is far worse Black Metal out there, (check out Bathroy's Octagon), yet Dark Funeral seems a complete ordeal to listen to from start to finish, with their *strange* lyrics. Although the music is good, it has far too many flaws.



Recent reviews by this author
Cannibal Corpse Butchered at BirthSuffocation The Close of a Chapter
Circle Takes The Square As the Roots UndoSatanic Destroyer Corruption
Bathory OctagonTiamat A Deeper Kind of Slumber
user ratings (85)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyGetYerKnife
November 29th 2009



157 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Don't get me wrong, it's got some 4/5 votes and even 4.5/5 votes... I just didn't like it.

Wizard
November 29th 2009



19208 Comments


Nothing has ever stood out for me with this band. Liking you as a reviewer, keep up the good work.

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

JohnnyGetYerKnife
November 29th 2009



157 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks, man. What to review next? Hm...

Wizard
November 29th 2009



19208 Comments


Please do a neg review for World Painted Blood, please, please, please!

KILL
November 29th 2009



70563 Comments


you'll make jesuslaves cry lol

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

Wizard
November 29th 2009



19208 Comments


Maybe it will toughen him up a bit.

illmitch
November 29th 2009



5429 Comments


good review! fuck dark funeral

XulOnerom
November 29th 2009



1818 Comments


Dark Funeral has always been pretty mediocre... Good review

Bands like Darkthrone have always been famous due to their lyrical masterpieces


I hope that was sarcasm

hydeyomoney
November 29th 2009



934 Comments


good review! fuck dark funeral


hawks probably has this as a 4 AT LEAST.

OMG hawks is even more predictable than expected. 4 point 5.

XulOnerom
November 29th 2009



1818 Comments


Gorgoroth > Dark Funeral

hydeyomoney
November 29th 2009



934 Comments


well yeah but they both suck so it doesn't matter.

OceanOfWisdom
November 29th 2009



99 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And so.... the cycle of ignorance spirals violently out of control.


I've always been a fan of Dark Funeral, relating most to their lyrics; Specifically on "Attera Totus Sanctus" - Being with the lyrics mostly pertaining to Satanism and sheer hatred for ignorance. Something which NOONE here apparently understands.

Ok so sure - It's amazingly cliche, and often laughable from the sheer nerve it shows. But what most people need to understand is that there ARE people out there who really think like this on a daily basis. Such as myself to a certain degree. Lead singer "Caligula" and the Lead Guitarist are both ARDENT Satanists. Which apparently seems to be a subject of laughter and joke for the ignorant as of lately.

And sure - For an inexperienced listener; It CAN get boring and annoying with the constant speed, constant blast beats, and constant raspy vocals. But it certainly is not anything less ballistic or Satanic than their older albums like "Vobiscum Sathanas" or even "Teach Children to Worship Satan". So that point is completely mute.

Also, if you're going to do a review on a Black Metal album; At LEAST have your history correct - Black Metal has NEVER been known for, OR been famous for having "Beautifully Melodic Vocals" or even "Rediculously Fast Drumming"; Black Metal STARTED as being known for bands like Bathory, Burzum, HellHammer, and so on; Pioneered having VERY fast guitar riffs, but not so much fast drumming to accompany it, often having almost Punk-Beats most of the time. And BELIEVE ME....The vocals were NOT famous for being "Amazingly Melodic"...if not the exact contrary.

Now bands like Dark Funeral, have indeed turned Black Metal into something far more controversial and often hated by the majority populace. But for goodness' sake, if you dont like the band - Then at least spare them the indignity of having a review wrote by you; someone who OBVIOUSLY shows zero interest in the group.

hydeyomoney
November 29th 2009



934 Comments


Now bands like Dark Funeral, have indeed turned Black Metal into something far more controversial and often hated by the majority populace.


what the fuck.

Dark Funeral haven't done SHIT. You're acting like they're influential when they're just generic as fuck. It's clear you haven't listened to GOOD black metal.

OceanOfWisdom
November 29th 2009



99 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sure i do, I just dont dislike a band because they arent QUITE as
innovative or QUITE as good as other noteable Black Metal acts.

I never said they were influential - I said theyve turned what Black Metal used to be and brought it to the Mainstream, and now everyone seems to believe that this is how it's always been. When its not.

Take a look at my "Favorites" or whatever, and you'll see that there are PLENTY of awesome BM bands i listen to; I just have my particulars.

And if they havent done SHIT....then why are they one of the ONLY major BM bands being reviewed on this site?

There is apparently a MAJOR strain of hate for Black Metal here, being where people say they like BM, have them even on their favorites, and YET......almost NO reviews, and those that are there, are mainly hate reviews.......Interesting.

hydeyomoney
November 29th 2009



934 Comments


you must not go on this site very much do you good sir i don't think you do say hallo to mr. sputnak.

OceanOfWisdom
November 29th 2009



99 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And I ask; Why is it, when I write a lengthy message of some sort.....People IMMEDIATELY start saying that I'm *ragin* or *venting*.......Does a longer message than average, dictate anger?...Also interesting.

hydeyomoney
November 29th 2009



934 Comments


theres no point in reviewing bad black metal and lieing about it because then you're hawks.

hydeyomoney
November 29th 2009



934 Comments


omg there's no midpoint.

XulOnerom
November 29th 2009



1818 Comments


And I ask; Why is it, when I write a lengthy message of some sort.....People IMMEDIATELY start saying that I'm *ragin* or *venting*.......Does a longer message than average, dictate anger?...Also interesting.


Writing an overly long response to something as irrelevant as someone disagreeing with you on the internet is the perfect definition of *ragin*, son

illmitch
November 29th 2009



5429 Comments


Sure i do, I just dont dislike a band because they arent QUITE as
innovative or QUITE as good as other noteable Black Metal acts.


read: not innovative and not good

Take a look at my "Favorites" or whatever, and you'll see that there are PLENTY of awesome BM bands i listen to; I just have my particulars.


looking at your 5's, i see 2 1349's, 5 behemoths, 2 borknagars, 5 cradle of filths...gotta stop before i die of laughter

And if they havent done SHIT....then why are they one of the ONLY major BM bands being reviewed on this site?


because they're well-known

There is apparently a MAJOR strain of hate for Black Metal here, being where people say they like BM, have them even on their favorites, and YET......almost NO reviews, and those that are there, are mainly hate reviews.......Interesting.


huh? that doesnt make any sense at all. so people say they like black metal and then write negative reviews for black metal bands? what?






btw lol hawks



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy