Ol' Dirty Bastard
Return To The 36 Chambers: The Dirty Version


3.5
great

Review

by Joe Schmoh USER (73 Reviews)
November 20th, 2009 | 34 replies | 6,143 views


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of the few terrible rappers to release a good rap album.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

It’s clear that fame and quality doesn’t walk hand and hand. Wu-Tang’s most talented members such as Ghostface Killah and Raekwon are less recognizable faces to the public than the likes of Method Man and O.D.B., whose energetic and sporadic personalities makes them incredibly recognizable instead of using lyrical prowess. O.D.B. is much more at fault for lyrics, as he barely writes anymore than a catchy hook and attempts at punchlines that sound like a crackhead trying to rap, which is basically the truth. However, on his debut album Return to The Thirty-Six Chambers: The Dirty Version, O.D.B. manages to make his sub-par lyricism nigh unrecognizable amongst the schizophrenic, aggressive flows, the minimalistic dusty RZA atmosphere, and arsenal of Wu-affiliation that manages to make up for his lack of actual substance and skill.

The soundtrack for Return to the Thirty-Six Chambers sounds like a continuation of Enter The Wu-Tang: 36 Chambers, as the title would suggest, and with the occasional exception, it contains an arsenal of excellent albeit seemingly status quo RZA beats at the time. However, despite how that sounds, in 95, status quo RZA beats would’ve been an incredible occurrence. Some exceptions to the almost entirely RZA-driven atmosphere is the True Master concoction of the albums best song “Brooklyn Zoo”, which sounds like an interpretation of RZA’s beat, albeit with a more simplistically evil atmosphere than anything else produced on the album. Other tight cuts include the Old School-inspirations of “Damage”, the dissonance (between the sweetly vocals and forceful drums) of “Snakes”, and the lo-fi, eccentrically joyous pianos of “Cuttin Headz”.

Although the beats certainly make a driving experience for Ol’ Dirty Bastard, he truly makes Return to the Thirty-Six Chambers his own. His schizophrenic flow and crazy-as-*** personality manages to make every song on the album unique, and his lyrics occasionally have hilarious meaning, whether or not it is intentional. The gibberish musing on “Shimmy Shimmy Ya” introduces us to O.D.B. with a bang, and shows he’s not all about MCing for a lyrical stature, but much rather for the fun of it. Although some decent punch lines occasionally appear (“Cause I create, rhymes good as a Tasty Cake, mix/This style, I'm mastered in/Niggas catchin headaches, what? What? You need aspirin?” from “Brooklyn Zoo” is about as good as it gets), O.D.B. clearly doesn’t make it his focus to make thought provoking lyrics. That’s why Return to the Thirty-Six Chambers is a considerable and respectable release.



Recent reviews by this author
Rick Ross Teflon DonKrallice Dimensional Bleedthrough
Method Man and Redman Blackout!Pharrell In My Mind
Freddie Gibbs The Miseducation Of Freddie GibbsE-40 Revenue Retrievin': Night Shift
user ratings (211)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Francis Jones (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2009



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good review man. "Brookly Zoo" is sweet and it's now playing in my mind due to my friend always blastin' it. Other tracks like "Shimmy Shimmy Ya" and "Protect Ya Neck" are great stuff too

Digging: Metsatoll - Karjajuht

cvlts
November 20th 2009



8917 Comments


Ohhhh baby, I like it RAAWWWWW!!! lolz, good review

Digging: Pedro the Lion - It's Hard To Find A Friend

erasedcitizen
November 20th 2009



716 Comments


I think Raw Hide is his best song ever.

Tits McGee
November 20th 2009



1876 Comments


good album

illmitch
November 20th 2009



5429 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

another great review, i completely agree with you on the premise. ODB is definitely a pretty subpar rapper but this is a good album.

hydeyomoney
November 20th 2009



934 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Snakes is my favorite song on this album even though ODB is the worst part of it. Killah Priest would only fall from that height other than his Liquid Swords apperance.

qwe3
November 21st 2009



21154 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i like your reviews man well done. maybe i'll actually listen to this. was never gonna listen to it because its ODB but hey

StrizzMatik
November 21st 2009



3158 Comments


Rap classic. ODB had plenty of talent and a brilliant flow. The Stomp is one of my favorite rap songs ever

hydeyomoney
November 22nd 2009



934 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Are we listening to the same rapper? ODB was humorous, spastic, and was a hilarious personality in hip hop, but c'mon, in a technical sense he's fucking terrible.

qwe3
November 22nd 2009



21154 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ODB had plenty of talent


nah

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 22nd 2009



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ha had awesome delivery though

hydeyomoney
November 22nd 2009



934 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i can agree with that lol.

StrizzMatik
November 23rd 2009



3158 Comments


Who listens to ODB for his technical skills? Just having it doesn't mean shit if there's no charisma behind it. Eminem is technically one of the most gifted rappers ever and his last three records are the definition of uninspired. Talib Kweli hasn't been interesting in years and he slays on the mic. Without the charisma they suck, and ODB was all about the delivery and the attitude. Would you say punk bands suck because they don't rip shred solos all the time? ODB might not be the Rhymenocerous but his delivery and overall style have influenced countless MC's.

Enotron
January 27th 2010



7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

your odb hate is making me woozy

Odb's style almost reminds me of like free-form jazz saxophonists. He's so spastic and his style is hectic, and I completely think it flows. Sure he's not really technically a great rapper, but he's more exciting than a lot of technical rappers.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2010



5923 Comments


You can't spell equality without Kweli.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2010



5923 Comments


Oh, and good review. Might check this out.

DiceMan
January 27th 2010



7068 Comments


Hands down one of my least favorite Wu rappers...

Enotron
January 27th 2010



7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Frankly, my dear, it's because you have no soul power.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2010



5923 Comments


Eno who would you say is the worst

Enotron
January 27th 2010



7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I never really got into U-God or Masta Killa. ODB isn't even one of my favorites. That probably goes over to Ghostface or Raekwon. GZA, Method Man, Inspectah Deck, they are all probably better than ODB. I still think he's pretty awesome though. Just wish he was featured on more tracks on Enter The Wu-Tang.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy