Wino
Punctuated Equilibrium


5.0
classic

Review

by OceanOfWisdom USER (7 Reviews)
November 8th, 2009 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An immensely impressive suprise from the singer of Doom Metal act Saint Vitus....Never saw this one coming.

Ok....First I have to confess; I hated this album when it first arrived for me in the mail....

I expected something COMPLETELY different from Scott Weinrich (Ex: Saint Vitus, Obsessed)....Honestly, I cant say what I really expected, but it certainly wasn't this. I suppose I foolishly expected something more...well....DOOMY. So sue me.

Truth be told though, this album is absolutely awesome. From the first second of you playing it, it becomes instantly clear that this is NO Doom album...in fact quite the contrary. This, the first of master Scott 'WINO' Weinrich's solo releases, is virtually 100% 70's Classic Rock with some subtle tech-ish experimental nuances throughout.

From the very first track: "Release Me", the implications are clearly there, dead front and center, of a supremely heavy 70's influence. With iconicly written lyrics and hooks like:

"Release me babe,
From this world of pain.

Beseech thee lady,
Hold me in your arms again.

I dreamed last night,
Of makin' love in the sky.

On a grey storm cloud
In a hurricane eye,
So high!"

.....And that's just the first verse of the first song. See what I mean?

This is not necessarily a bad thing though, as this man most certainly knows what he's doing. His writing skills have certainly improved since his last venture with Saint Vitus, as have his lyric writting skills. Frankly, this is simply an awesome album that completely took me by suprise. And for me it's rather difficult to say such good things about an album in this particular genre, as the genre itself is and has been essentially dried up, overused, overabused, and strung out into something that (for bands that attempt 'Classic Rock' nowadays) is utterly grotesque and nothing less than a chore to listen to. So please believe me when I say that what we call "Classic Rock" is apparently not dead, just resting for someone to come along who knows how to make REAL "Classic Rock" again....and my friends.....that man I believe is quite possibly noneother than Scott "WINO" Weinrich.

This man really knows how to make good Rock that isnt more of a laugh to listen to than enjoyable. This is actually good Classic 'Stoner' Rock that is both fun to listen to and is ACTUALLY impressive to boot.

The guitar work was one of the most noticeable differences to the older, instantly noteable bands such as Queen, Led Zepplin, Pink Floyd, Ozzy, Black Label Society, Steely Dan, Dave Matthews Band, etc etc...... While being immediately nostalgia-inducing with it's iconic "Old-School" sound, it is at the same time, new, refreshing, confusing, interesting, and sometimes downright strange. With his often random 30 second solos spanning a fair portion of the album, utilizing rather odd distortion pedals for the particular genre, giving some of his leads and solos a very Spacey and Other-Worldly sound, and at other times giving them almost discordant and sporadic and confusing sound-mixtures....All coalescing into a single rather massive sound for it to be classified as "Classic Rock" rather than "Experimental-Fusion-Classic".....

Even still, if you break down each separate guitar part induvidually and realise more of what he's doing, you'll realise that his compositions (be them still ultimately simplistic) are actually quite complex in overrall structure... And therein lies his true talents: Writing deeply-layered and complex, simplistic Classic Stoner Rock.

In retrospect, this is an awesome album from beginning to finish. A complete suprise, and that's what makes this a 5/5.

Easily worth looking in to. An enjoyable listen and equally relaxing right alongside noteable Post Rock bands.



Recent reviews by this author
Amogh Symphony The Quantum Hack CodeEnfold Darkness Our Cursed Rapture
Dark Funeral Angelus Exuro pro EternusDies Irae Sculpture Of Stone
Yyrkoon Unhealthy OperaAnsur Warring Factions
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
tombits
November 8th 2009


3471 Comments


Try to limit your reviews to one a day, or else you knock everyone else's off the front page.
Try to limit your reviews to one a day, or else you knock everyone else's off the front page.
Try to limit your reviews to one a day, or else you knock everyone else's off the front page.
Try to limit your reviews to one a day, or else you knock everyone else's off the front page.
Try to limit your reviews to one a day, or else you knock everyone else's off the front page.

Mordecai.
November 8th 2009


8279 Comments


FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK

tombits
November 8th 2009


3471 Comments


COCK OMG YUM
COCK OMG YUM
COCK OMG YUM
COCK OMG YUM
COCK OMG YUM
COCK OMG YUM

Lelle
November 8th 2009


2156 Comments


yum

Edit: Review was decent but I don't think you justified the 5 rating enough. Wont vote for now though

OceanOfWisdom
November 8th 2009


99 Comments


Chill peeps damn....

I dont CARE.

To Lelle: Maybe so, but that's why you have the ablility to give it your OWN rating; because it's your opinion, not mine. And normally I wouldnt give this a 5, but 1-5 is too general of a rating system for an album that comes so close to a 5. I may have not been able to JUSTIFY my rating because of my review, but I can only describe something to such an extent before I begin repeating myself unless it has that much to say about it.

Besides, I based my review and my rating on my personal opinion about the album. All the reviews done here are completely opinionated and biased in some form or another. And those who appear to rate and review something in an unbiased way are still completely biased and opinion-driven, they just adjust their wording and rating ever-so-slightly so everyone else will agree with them that they arent being subjective.

Fuck that; Dont sacrifice personal opinion or belief for someone elses condolences.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2009


16453 Comments


Dude don't bump all our reviews off the front page because you want to submit 3 of them in a day.

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

OceanOfWisdom
November 8th 2009


99 Comments


Dude if I wanted to, I COULD have done at least 10 or 12 by now.

Cry about it.

What are we, 12? Fuck that childish whining bullshit; If I want to write a review on an album that I believe needs one or needs a better one than the one present, then YEAH! Hah, you're DAMN right I'll write a review.

So go cry about the review of that shitty album you just spent 6 hours writing about that just got kicked off the front page.

I swear no matter where I go on the internet; There's always someone right there ready to whine and cry about something that I did because I didnt do it right, or didnt follow the *unspoken rule that everyone else in the world except me knows*....phshh....give me a damn break.

Wizard
November 8th 2009


19558 Comments


Try to limit your reviews to one a day, or else you knock everyone else's off the front page.

Calm down. This is probably worth listening to over half the shit thats posted on the front page.

On that note, this sounds like one of those metal releases that will undoubtedly go unnoticed at years end. Checking this out for sure.

About the review, it was well written but the formatting could use some cleaning up. For starters, the lyrics you've posted should be done like this (easier to read) and italicized:

"Release me babe/ From this world of pain./ Beseech thee lady....

Review has me interested and that's what matters most. Keep up the good work.

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

Zip
November 8th 2009


5312 Comments


Yikes, talk about over-defensive

Wizard
November 8th 2009


19558 Comments


It's not like more than 15 people read the reviews anyways hahahaha.

Zip
November 8th 2009


5312 Comments


yeah but comments like Lelle's don't merit paragraph long rants and crap like that.

Lelle
November 8th 2009


2156 Comments


I didn't bash your opinion, I just said that since "classic" rating is a very high rating I think it's expected of you to justify what sets this apart to be a classic rater than a 4 or 4,5, for example. Personally I haven't heard this so I might check it out

Wizard
November 8th 2009


19558 Comments


New users doing new user things.

jingledeath
November 8th 2009


7104 Comments


this guy already released an album this year under Shrinebuilder with members of Om, Melvins and Neurosis (Scott Kelly) which was pretty impressive. I'll look into this soon.

Wizard
November 8th 2009


19558 Comments


WHAT ()DS*DY(*DS Reviewer didn't say that. Neurosis is God so this is already good as bought.

jingledeath
November 8th 2009


7104 Comments


wiz you need to check out the Shrinebuilder supergroup, slayssss

Gore
November 8th 2009


333 Comments


He posted some interesting bands that i've never heard of before, so i'm rather happy for the many reviews. Ansur is great!

iranscam
November 8th 2009


469 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this album kind of sucks a lot

Wizard
November 8th 2009


19558 Comments


wiz you need to check out the Shrinebuilder supergroup, slayssss

Wayyyyyyyyyy ahead of you. Ordered that a while back : ).

OceanOfWisdom
November 20th 2009


99 Comments


"I didn't bash your opinion, I just said that since "classic" rating is a very high rating I think it's expected of you to justify what sets this apart to be a classic rater than a 4 or 4,5, for example. Personally I haven't heard this so I might check it out"
- *Noted*

"He posted some interesting bands that i've never heard of before, so i'm rather happy for the many reviews. Ansur is great!"

- Thank you, I pride myself on finding worthwhile bands, so please check out my profile, as I will randomly post reviews of bands that I feel deserve them, as I will also continue to add new bands that Sputnik doesnt have.....I've already added something like 15 or so new bands or albums today alone....

And I should have probably took more effort in explaining why I thought it deserved a 5, as it most likely doesnt, but as I said before; It comes DAMN close. And a 4.5 wouldnt do it justice either.






You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy