Dies Irae
Sculpture Of Stone


4.5
superb

Review

by OceanOfWisdom USER (7 Reviews)
November 8th, 2009 | 10 replies | 2,391 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Easily their best album to date, excellent riffage, drumwork, and vocals. And it even has drumwork by the late Vitek from Decapitated!

0 of 1 thought this review was well written

I'll keep this short, sweet, and to the point.

While many people out there arent aware of the existence of this band, these guys have been tearing it up for some time now. (Not recently of course, in honor of Vitek - RIP)

While their other works "Immolated", and "The Sin War" are both reputable albums in their own right, "Sculpture of Stone" completely blew those 2 out of the perverbial water. Mainly in due part to late Decapitated drummer virtuoso Vitek's contribution to the drumwork on the album. Making the overall sound of "Sculpture of Stone" become much more solid and in-your-face.

As far as I have been able to gather, "Sculpture of Stone" is Dies Irae's latest and final work. Mostly out of sheer respect for the memory of Vitek's recent passing.

All in all, the musicianship is somewhat dry and empty, leaving a tad to be desired, knowing from first listen that this band has/had the capacity for MUCH more. But that aside, this is easily a worthwhile buy or download for fans of the genre, moreso for fans of bands like Decapitated, Hate, Meshuggah and the lot.

Catchy lyrical hooks, structured guitar work with a healthy dose of the Tech-Tapping and Palm-Muted Chord progressions now made famous by Meshuggah, The Faceless, Necrophagist, Obscura, etc....And of course intensely solid drumming made possible by VITEK.

Overrall a good listen.

4.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Amogh Symphony The Quantum Hack CodeEnfold Darkness Our Cursed Rapture
Dark Funeral Angelus Exuro pro EternusWino Punctuated Equilibrium
Yyrkoon Unhealthy OperaAnsur Warring Factions
user ratings (6)
Chart.
4.6
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
tombits
November 8th 2009



3470 Comments


Try to limit your reviews to one a day, or else you knock everyone else's off the front page. Also, although you want to keep it short and sweet, your review doesn't really justify your rating, so add some more content.

Prophet178
November 8th 2009



6397 Comments


Note: If you want to give a short summary review, use the sound off
feature.


OceanOfWisdom
November 8th 2009



99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Mmm....Yeah, BIG DEAL. This isn't a site where if someone's review gets knocked off the top list they're gonna cry about it; I can't controll whether or not my reviews make it to the front. If someone else's gets knocked off because of it, well then I either expect the same to happen to me at some point, or all I can say is I'm sorry. Sue me.

The reviews I DO decide to write are spur-of-the-moment occasions, generally on rather obscure albums, and is only albums that I feel deserve either just a review in general or a better one than the one present. This isnt an every-day thing. I dont have the time to sit on my ass all day writing reviews for albums I already know are good.

Dies Irae didnt even have 1 complete review, and they certainly deserve at least that much.

And frankly, to me; Yeah, my review DOES justify my rating; There isn't anything that I said in that review that listening to it 1 complete time wouldnt tell you point blank. But people who've never listened to them should at least know that much.

FistfulOfSteel
November 8th 2009



894 Comments


people put alot of time and effort into their reviews (not to say you haven't), but a review gets the most attention from the sputnik community when its on the front page. to have three of yours dominating the front page right now is not fair to others who have put together reviews, so limit the frequency of your submissions. you are allowed to write these reviews on microsoft word and save them for submission at a later date, you know?

OceanOfWisdom
November 8th 2009



99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

True; As i stated before though, I generally do these on spur-of-the-moment decisions and normally dont have time for doing these; Tonight was an exception.

At least you proved your point in a non-asinine way. Which I appreciate. And I admit; This particular review was a less-than-worthy one. But you learn from your mistakes, as I have.

Prophet178
November 8th 2009



6397 Comments


I can't controll whether or not my reviews make it to the front.


All reviews except for the first automatically get sent to the front page.

tombits
November 9th 2009



3470 Comments


Dude, how about you blow the fuck back out to wherever you came from in cyberland. If I spend time and effort working on a decent review like I did only for it to get knocked off the front page - and therefore only recieving half the views and comments it should have - by a piece of shit soundoff like this one then i'm going to get justifiably annoyed about it. I wasn't an asshole about it at first and was just trying to give you a heads up on how this place works, and if you aren't going to take on advice then you may as well just leave now.

mareep
November 9th 2009



391 Comments


haha reviewer is a moron

FR33L0RD
July 23rd 2011



1461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent album.
Dies Iraes is one the new-wave of great metal band from the emerging Poland scene.




DeusAvertat
January 17th 2013



1 Comments


Drummer is Doc (RIP) from Vader, not Vitek (RIP also).

Album is a great example of Polish Death Metal. Hertz studio wins again.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy