Hypocrisy
A Taste of Extreme Divinity


4.5
superb

Review

by Dethtrasher USER (232 Reviews)
October 23rd, 2009 | 135 replies | 18,792 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A Taste Of Extreme Divinity follows the same path as Virus, except that this album is basically a mix between Virus and The Final Chapter and the fusion has been injected with steroids.

11 of 12 thought this review was well written

It started as a one-man project but it turned out to be one of Sweden's most respected melodic death metal bands. The workaholic front man and metal genius Peter Tagtgren and his band Hypocrisy has certainly made their own mark on Swedish melodic death metal. Their ability to mix melodic elements with crushing but atmospheric death metal is one of a kind. But that's not all, there are numerous things that makes Hypocrisy to the definitive melodic death metal band. It is basically everything to be honest, but in the end it all falls down one aspect, and that is the incredible versatility that the band has in the music. Their first albums was just plain old-school death metal but after ''The Fourth Dimension'' every album had their own unique style and sound. This is one reason why the band is so good. You never know what to expect when the band releases a new album. Is it going to sound like the Abducted or will they go to back their roots as in Obsculum Obscenum?. The thing is that Hypocrisy is alive and kicking and there are no signs that the band will quit any time soon.

Sience working to crack the code
Bury the gateway, let it go
Don't let them through
Can not gamble with the human race

A Taste Of Extreme Divinity follows the same path as Virus, except that this album is basically a mix between Virus and The Final Chapter and the fusion has been injected with steroids. This album is real goddamn heavy-weight champion compared to any other album that the band has made so far. Only Virus and The Final Chapter are the only albums that has the same type of power as this album has. Peter is still using his classic Hypocrisy ingredients such as catchy heavy and catchy riffs, melodic atmospheric keyboard effects, the famous background choirs and chanting, alien and apocalyptic themed lyrics and of course his superb vocal performance which is bestial monster growls and ear-piercing and throat-slitting screams. The content in this album is mixed perfectly, intense versus calm and atmospheric versus chaos. Every track has a unique structure with various sets of riffs, beats, lyrics and speed. The only possible down-sides with this album are that there are many tracks on it. Even if the music isn't that repetitive there is still a risk that the listener wants to take a break because of the overdose of music. In almost all Hypocrisy albums you will find a slow kind ballad as last track, but not this time. This might come as a huge disappointment for the hardcore fans or those who enjoys the slower songs from this band. If there should be real end on a Hypocrisy album then it should be done with a slow overwhelming and apocalyptic ballad. But unfortunately there is no such song here this time.

You call yourself a god
I call you a liar
I'll take your crucifix and stab it straight through your heart

Any Hypocrisy fan out there will definitely drool over this album, any the reasons are many. A Taste Of Extreme Divinity will take you back the finest days of the peak-era of The Final Chapter and forth. It is still hard to imagine that one man can achieve so much work as Peter Tagtgren has done. He runs his on studio (The Abyss studio), he is a world-wide known producer, he has his second band Pain and his crown jewel, which is the almighty Hypocrisy. Peter actually had a heart failure due to all the hard work and was clinically dead, but even after that he is still making music like there was no tomorrow. Everything in this album is breathing with great enthusiasm and energy. This album will definitely go down as one of their best album alongside other masterpieces that the band has put out. People who aren't dedicated fans of this band but still enjoys melodic death metal should definitely check this out. And for all Hypocrisy fans, get this album as soon as you can because you will love it for a long time.

Pros
+ Splendid and absolutely outstanding vocal performance
+ Superb sound production
+ The guitar performance is filled with new and fresh riffing and soloing
+ Classic Hypocrisy lyrics such as aliens, doom and violence

Cons
-- Nothing actually, just trivial stuff

Recommended Tracks
-- For the fans, get the whole thing!
-- For newcomers, try ''Solar Empire'', ''Global Domination'' and ''Valley Of The Damned''.

Final rating will be a solid 4.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth DamnationFleshcrawl Made of Flesh
Sear Lamentations of DestructionTormented Rotten Death
War (swe) We Are...Total WarCrucified Barbara Til Death Do Us Party
user ratings (228)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dethtrasher
October 23rd 2009



2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The review is probably full of bugs because no english expert has proofread it. Help is welcome.

Heartfang
October 23rd 2009



11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've heard alot about this band, I'll have to check them out and good review.

shindip
October 23rd 2009



3536 Comments


band is awesome. havent heard this yet though

Willie
Moderator
October 23rd 2009



15778 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

The review was pretty good. I don't usually like this band, but this was good.

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2009



16027 Comments


Peter Tagtgren and his band Hypocrisy has certainly made


and his band Hypocrisy have certainly made

there are numerous things that makes Hypocrisy to the definitive melodic death metal band


Delete the "to" after Hypocrisy.

but in the end it all falls down one aspect,


it all falls down to one aspect

that the band has in the music.


that the band has in their music.

Their first albums was just plain


Their first albums were just plain

but after ''The Fourth Dimension'' every album had their own unique style and sound.


but after The Fourth Dimension'' every album had its own unique style and sound

This album is real goddamn heavy-weight champion compared


This album is a real goddamn heavy-weight champion compared

Only Virus and The Final Chapter are the only albums that has the same type of power as this album has.


Only Virus and The Final Chapter are the only albums that have the same type of power that this album has.

classic Hypocrisy ingredients such as catchy heavy and catchy riffs


Delete the first "catchy" or use another adjective.

his superb vocal performance which is bestial monster growls and ear-piercing and throat-slitting screams.


his superb vocal performance which consists of bestial monster growls, ear-piercing, and throat-slitting screams.

The content in this album is mixed perfectly, intense versus calm and atmospheric versus chaos.


I'd just re-write this sentence.

In almost all Hypocrisy albums you will find a slow kind ballad as last track, but not this time.


On almost all Hypocrisy albums you will a slow kind of ballad as the last track, but not this time.

Digging: Katatonia - Kocytean

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2009



16027 Comments


huge disappointment for the hardcore fans or those who enjoys the slower songs from this band.


huge disappointment for the hardcore fans or those who enjoy the slower songs from this band.

If there should be real end


If there should be a real end

drool over this album, any the reasons are many.


drool over this album, as the reasons are many.

will take you back the finest days


will take you back to the finest days

He runs his on studio (The Abyss studio), he is a world-wide known producer


He runs his own studio (The Abyss studio), he is known world-wide as a producer

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2009



16027 Comments


Sorry for the two long comments, but those are the errors I found. I know English isn't your first language, so no worries man. I'll pos this.

Jayxsnoogans
October 23rd 2009



72 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album sounds pretty great.

I'm one and a half listens in, and I'd say it doesn't have the greats that Virus did, but its more consistently good than Virus.

Need a few more listens before I can rate it

Yazz_Flute
October 23rd 2009



18739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I remember saying this sounded like a mix of Virus and The Final Chapter when this first leaked, guess i'm not the only one that noticed that.

Album is excellent. Global Domination, Weed Out the Weak, and Sky's Falling Down are my favorites.

Digging: Anekdoten - Vemod

Phrike
October 23rd 2009



1691 Comments


I´ve only heard Catch 22 (V2.0.08) and it's absolutely mindblowing imo

Is this somewhat similar or they tend to change direction on every album?

fireaboveicebelow
October 23rd 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I feel like my rating will go up when I see them live

Is this somewhat similar or they tend to change direction on every album?
none of their albums really sound the same

Dethtrasher
October 23rd 2009



2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Haha, appreciate it Crysis but the problem is that my microsoft word has a shitty correction system. I just edit the red markings and hope that the rest is kinda good. Anyway, this album is a fucking beast.

BallsToTheWall
October 23rd 2009



44164 Comments


Great album/review. My only complaing would be the core-ish aspect

Dethtrasher
October 23rd 2009



2211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I can actually agree with you, I wish that there was a bit more Virus-brutality in this.

Altmer
October 23rd 2009



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album is solid much like Virus is

BallsToTheWall
October 23rd 2009



44164 Comments


The breakdowns on here get me bro-d out to the max. Still, Global Domination slays.

Wizard
October 23rd 2009



18793 Comments


Good review deth. I will never get around to this because this band has only disappointed me.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Wizard
October 23rd 2009



18793 Comments


I figured.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2009



16027 Comments


I will never get around to this because this band has only disappointed me.

123, band bores the shit out of me.

jingledeath
October 23rd 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm sad that no one has mentioned Hang Him High as a favorite. Solid review dude, album is pretty
great.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy