Indukti
Idmen


2.5
average

Review

by Elijah K. STAFF
October 19th, 2009 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Yes. There is more than one progressive rock/metal band from Poland.

Indukti are :
* Wawrzyniec Dramowicz – Percussion.
* Ewa Jablonska – Violin.
* Piotr Kocimski - Guitar, ethnical instruments.
* Maciej Jaskiewicz – Guitars, sound mathematician.
* Andrzej Kaczynski – Bass guitar, Doublebass.

Indukti are a progressive rock band hailing from Poland. While Riverside may be the more popular Polish prog band, the similarities should end there. Indukti take a more metal approach, incorporating more chugging riffs and distorted guitars. Through in some violin and acoustic elements and you have a fairly interesting sound. Unfortunately, this very sound is ultimately the album's biggest shortcoming.

Long, epic compositions. Interesting and deeply layered songs. Strange time signatures and frequent tempo changes. Sound fantastic? Fresh or original? In all actuality, Indukti use a formula employed by many prog rock/metal bands before them. Influences from Tool, Porcupine Tree, and even Meshuggah are obvious throughout. "Nemesis Voices" finds the band sounding incredibly like Tool. The dense atmosphere and Maynard-esque vocals are all in check. Yet it sounds completely contrived.

Parallel to "Nemesis Voices," moodier and more subdued feel is "Tusan Homichi Tuvota." Without a doubt the record's strangest and heaviest song. Unfortunately this is as engaging as "Idmen" gets. The vocals on this track are much different than the rest of the record. Boisterous, overdone, and slightly on the cheesy side. However, around the halfway mark we find the vocalist growling the lines "Hawk kills chickens. Hawk kills rabbits." more times than necessary. And yes, its just as awkward and ridiculous as it sounds.

The rest of the tracks are hit or miss which leads to my next complaint. Track placement leaves much to be desired. "Sansara" and "...And Who's the God Now?!" are easily the albums high points, but are both placed in the first half. This doesn't give the listener much desire to continue listening. The rest of the tracks are a little uninspired. Chugging along, throwing in some elements to trick the listener into believing what they're listening to is more interesting than it actually is.

Now it sounds like this album is utter trash right? That's not entirely true. "...And Who's the God Now?!" sounds tribal in some parts, and the all instrumental "Sansara" is actually very good. Unfortunately, Indukti are just far too wiling to rehash ideas from other bands. Those other bands, of course, have taken tose ideas, and have done them much better. So whats left is an incredibly inconsistent album. Indukti are an interesting band with a lot of potential, "Idmen" is proof of that. Yet the album has far too many issues, thus undeserving of a high recommendation.



Recent reviews by this author
Myrkur MPissgrave Suicide Euphoria
Cattle Decapitation The Anthropocene ExtinctionKronos Arisen New Era
Krallice Ygg HuurHowls of Ebb The Marrow Veil
user ratings (58)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Burn2Burn
October 19th 2009


2378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

meh, i disagree.

jingledeath
October 19th 2009


7103 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I disagree as well but I'll pos.

Willie
Moderator
October 19th 2009


16351 Comments


The reasons you're using for this being bad sound more like issues you had to reach for just to support a desire to write a negative review. I'm not saying that because I disagree - I've never even heard this.

Edit: Oh yeah, and spell/grammar check.

jrowa001
October 19th 2009


8752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album is good but S.U.S.A.R. is better

accompliceofmydeath
October 19th 2009


4314 Comments


I'll check this out.

Digging: Grade - Under the Radar

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2009


6353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review. Haven't listened to it yet, but I really hope you're wrong.



S.U.S.A.R. was one of my favorite albums ever, so I definitely have high expectations for this one - and I'm not to keen on getting those expectations shot down, haha.

EasternLight
October 26th 2009


2704 Comments


wtf im never conforming to this pokemon avatar phenomenon. polish?! holy crap.

Burn2Burn
October 31st 2009


2378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I wish there were some goddamn lyrics to ...And Who's The God Now?! on the net.

Burn2Burn
October 31st 2009


2378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

also album rules rules rules rules album rules

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2009


6353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just realized that I misspelled "too" in my last post. I just started listening to the album and so far, Sansara is sick. I get the feeling this album is going to be excellent. Although if it is the album's zenith, like you said, I may end up slightly disappointed.

Willie
Moderator
November 2nd 2009


16351 Comments


This is a really good album, but there are parts that drag and some of the lyrics are definitely bad.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2009


7519 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, but there aren't that many singing parts here. I don't care at all about the vocal performance in Tusan Homichi Tuvota. Quite uninspired I must say. Plus, you're right some parts drag, but not many. Still, it's a great prog metal album that more people should check out.

Willie
Moderator
November 2nd 2009


16351 Comments


It is an album that more people should check out. It probably needs a second review with a higher rating.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2009


7519 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmm. I can do something about it once I sink into this deeper.

BigTuna
December 15th 2009


5168 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is weird. Hawks kill chickens is the most ridiculous line in the world.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 16th 2009


7519 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hawks kill chickens. Hawks kill rabbits.



Yeah. This line is silly, yet it's kind of creepy in its own sick way in my opinion (like the whole track).

Burn2Burn
January 12th 2010


2378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

But the hawk won't kill TUSSAAANNNN HOMMMIICCHHIII!!

eccentricdemise
May 22nd 2012


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This review seems to be a very bad one. Comparing bands to other bands due to their "influences" and down right dismissing them is very unfair for the band. I do not know what you were smoking brother - but I find the album high on theme, intense emotions and a very "hey, just found this cassette in my grandpa's coffin" sorta sound. They are totally avant-garde with your first listen being the worst listen.



The first time i heard it, I could not differentiate between the sounds, but after a couple of listens - this band has done what other bands in Poland have not - they are not predictable. I like my music to be that way - in no way should the music be served on a platter.



Tusan homichi is a folk tale about a mouse saving the village from the powerful hawk - you can draw a parallel on various levels - regarding the power of one to bring down the tyrannical rule of the powerful. Whose the god now - speaks of various human emotions - sang in a very interesting manner - "you may be as he is, but you are stronger - anything you can do..." and so on the song goes.



Ninth wave is again an amazing instrumental, whose interpretations may vary from person to person, but the song is beautifully tailored.



For me, the vocals on this album/band is by far the most innovative and intriguing. They have made sure that the vocal is part of the band, not a leading feature (as per our present day trends of having a uber cool frontman with amazing ear screeching abilities). The band has the vocals as a part of a wheel, where their prime motive is to entice your emotions on a combination (but NOT due to a single factor) of instruments and voice to create MUSIC.



It is absolutely sad that bands like this do not get recognition - because we, the audience, have not evolved to their level.



TRUST ME - this album will get their cult status.



Please - do not take this personally, but I simply hate it, when people "review" such albums on their face value and dismiss it as a futile effort. This album caters, almost certainly, to an esoteric audience, and I am most happy to be one of them.





eccentricdemise
May 22nd 2012


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

""TRUST ME - this album will get their cult status."



I'm sorry for your generation"



The revolution is coming!!



I think it already has - but everyone seems to be looking on the other side

eccentricdemise
May 22nd 2012


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

probably few do not understand the progressiveness of such albums - but I may be screaming down the wrong forum wall!!



Cheers



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy