Rammstein
Liebe Ist Für Alle Da


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jorn van Schaïk USER (172 Reviews)
October 18th, 2009 | 229 replies | 43,360 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This sounds like Rammstein always has, but with a fresh perspective on their sound...

22 of 22 thought this review was well written

Rammstein – Liebe Ist Fuer Alle Da

Over the course of their career, Rammstein have always stuck to an almost singular musical ethic. Their infamous combo of electronic doodles, chugging Metallica guitars, and Till Lindemann’s booming subwoofer voice is a success the world over (but mostly in their native Germany and in the neighbouring European countries). The fact that most of their lyrics are sung in anything but English only enhances their Teutonic mystique, which seems to concern nothing more than a primeval sexual attitude (yes, 90% of Rammstein songs are about sex), a love of morbid humour, and some deadly catchy songs.

For the people who were hoping that Rammstein had moved on from their Sehnsucht-era sex-themed orgasmfests and got some musical sophistication, you will be sorely disappointed. Rammstein’s belated return to the musical arena comes with an album that is exactly like their older albums. The musical reference points to an album that fits squarely between their seminal Mutter album and Reise, Reise; in fact this album is so Rammstein that you wonder if no time has passed at all. What do we find on this album? Atmospheric keyboards? Check. Sexual humour? Check. Thumping guitars? Check. A punishing rhythm section? Check. Till’s ridiculously sub-bass frequency voice? Check. It all is there, pretty much. If you liked Rammstein with any previous album, you’ll like this guaranteed.

Of course Rammstein do experiment here and there. Waidmanns Heil has a pre-chorus vocal line that reminds of German compatriots Die Apokalyptischen Reiter. Fruhling in Paris starts off with a decidedly 60s vibe (think Dutch protest singer Boudewijn de Groot or similar) but ends its sappy ballad with a dose of languid French and a burning melody. Haifisch sounds like the band’s attempt to channel modern-day Tiamat (so, Sisters of Mercy then?). Various other little experiments exist, but all of them are variations on the same theme, and all of them sound like the band always has. Even the band’s attempt at sexual humour with B******** and the Fritzl-inspired Wiener Blut feels familiar (Mein Teil concerned Armin Meiwes). The only real flaw seems to be closer Roter Sand, which sounds like Nebel, yet going nowhere. Even the stupid whistling during the song screams kitsch, and although Rammstein have never been possessed with subtlety, this is probably the ultimate way to kill a ballad by whacking you over the head with it.

Even when the band is at its most generic, lead single Pussy being the prime example, the band is firing on all cylinders. Everything about their songs fits like a glove, and when Till screams the band name in the opener Rammlied, it does exactly that what a Rammstein album is supposed to do; try and make your guts come out of your stomach while simultaneously impersonating something close to a military parade. In that respect, this new Rammstein record is a success as much as every previous album was; it sounds like you expect them to, it sounds fresh by their standards, and it does what you want it to. In an age of musical unreliability, it is nice to find a veteran band sounds like they have everything under control and comfortable in their niche; it is even nicer to find them successful when quaintly venturing out of their zone to experiment with some other styles. Now give us the next one in less than four years, please.



Recent reviews by this author
Frank Turner Tape Deck HeartBrand New The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me
Metallica MetallicaSlayer World Painted Blood
Katatonia Night Is the New DayScar Symmetry Dark Matter Dimensions
user ratings (573)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Scott M. Baldwin (2.5)
A sadly lacking swan song from a band capable of so much more....

when_darkness_falls (4)
After nearly 5 years of being at breaking point, the German Metallers return in characteristically b...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Altmer
October 18th 2009



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is out where I live.

Baphomet
October 18th 2009



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review, and great album. I haven't enjoyed a Rammstein album so much since Mutter.

Altmer
October 18th 2009



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have to say I like later Rammstein more, more sophisticated (Herzeleid is my least favourite), but it's all good. Only band from my early teenage years (I was into them when Mutter came out) I still listen to.

LepreCon
October 18th 2009



3940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I recently acquired this too. Damn this band rules, not one of their albums has disappointed so far. Yet I still feel no need to check out any other dance metal bands like them. Awesome review too

Digging: Overkill - White Devil Armory

bloc
October 18th 2009



34774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

so i heard this was good. big fan of the band.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Baphomet
October 18th 2009



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Same here. I don't like Herzelied or Sehnsucht that much either; but Mutter is to me their best. It's true they're more sophisticated (at least lyric-wise) in their later albums, but Reise, Reise and Rosenrot just don't have thar Rammstein-feeling I get from Mutter.

Altmer
October 18th 2009



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dunno, I die everytime I hear Benzin and the atmospheres on most of RR are so godly. Morgenstern and Stein Um Stein are some of my favourite tracks ever.

Spenray205
October 18th 2009



20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really liked Rosenrot (the album and the title track, best one off that album imo) so it's good to hear Rammstein have followed in the vein of that album and its two predecessors. I guess Pussy is this albums Te Quiero Puta!?

Altmer
October 18th 2009



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably. I do hear some Sehnsucht references, but it sounds less mechanical than Herzeleid.

EyesWideShut
October 18th 2009



3133 Comments


might check this out as Rammstein are always fun for a listen. A friend of mine saw them live years ago and was blown away. Dont think this will be as good as Mutter.

Altmer
October 18th 2009



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The live videos of them I have seen (I sadly didn't get tickets for the Antwerp show) are fucking amazing. I can imagine them putting on a silly amazing live show.

EyesWideShut
October 18th 2009



3133 Comments


Yea funnest live act, but I think their banned from playing the U.S. for spaying some flammable shit in the crowd or something weird/awesome that only Rammstein could do.

SmurkinGherkin
October 18th 2009



1769 Comments


Ha, i wasn't aware they had a new record. I might listen to this.

Poet
October 18th 2009



5922 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't know what to rate this really. I enjoy it, but sometimes it's just meh. I'll definitely have to listen to this more.

randomguitarist
October 18th 2009



158 Comments


Don't really like em but the review was good.

taylormemer
October 18th 2009



4917 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Well, I loved Reise and Mutter but I don't like this.

Wizard
October 18th 2009



19339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Even when the band is at its most generic, lead single Pussy being the prime example, the band is firing on all cylinders.

I would never say that this band has ever been generic tbqh. If they sound like they are bordering onto it, they are most likely poking fun at something or making some sort of social commentary.

Nice review for this.

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2009



8327 Comments


great review, have never really digged Rammstein much other than a few selected songs, but they are ok. Won't check this out atm, but they get played a lot down here, so i guess i'll still hear some of this off radio anyway.

Also, Altmer, have you ever heard Sub Dub Micromachine? If not i suggest you give them a go; they are another german industrial/alt.metal band who are very similar to Rammstein, the only big difference being in the lyrics which are not as humorous/mind-numbing as Rammstein's. Good stuff, give their album "Auferstanden!" a go.

Undead
October 18th 2009



144 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Getting this now.

This is their first real album in like 5 years.

R6Rider
October 18th 2009



4580 Comments


Tier

Digging: Plebeian Grandstand - How Hate is Hard to Define



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy