Thursday
Full Collapse


3.5
great

Review

by Damrod EMERITUS
August 20th, 2005 | 181 replies | 35,200 views


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


Thursday is one of the more popular and successful bands among the modern hardcore/post-hardcore bands, especially in the US. 'Full Collapse' was the second full length release of the band after their "underground" LP 'Waiting', and the album that brought the band to the attention of the "average Joe".

Some general impressions:
One of the first things you notice about the bands music is the voice of singer Geoff Rickley. The singing voice is something many people have to get used to. Some even describe it as 'annoying'. But I think once you get used to it, it adds a good element of rememberence. His screaming voice is good as well. The overall musical work is good. The bass is especially on the verses pretty dominant. The bass lines are very interesting, and quite complex for the genre IMO, accompanied by solid drumming. The guitars go from distorted walls of sound to clean riffs that set accents on certain points in songs and underline a certain mood or feeling.

The topics of the lyrics are about relationship things (like on 'Paris in Flames'), but also about society issues ('Autobiography of a Nation' as example) without getting too political so to say. Though 12 songs are listed in the tracklisting, basically it's just ten, as the first and last song are only noises and compositions of sounds that function as intro and outro of the record. So the playtime of the 'real' songs is about 40 minutes.

Good and Bad:
The composition of the songs is good, and I can understand why many people say, this is about Thursdays best. 'Angry' and melancholic songs are side by side with more mellow and somewhat happy songs. Couples like that are 'I am the Killer' (with it's psychotic lyrics towards the end) and 'Standing on the Edge of Summer' or 'Autobiography of a Nation' and 'A hole in the world' for example. This is especially interesting on the first half of the album.

But the last two songs kinda ruin it for me. Overall, the album is a great listen, but 'Wind up' and 'How long is the night' are the weakest songs IMO. They just annoy me, and are a bad ending for the LP. Like I mentioned above, the singing can annoy if you're not used to it.

Apart from that, nothing bad comes to my mind right now. :)

Summary:
As much as some people despise Thursday because they had quite some airplay on MTV and Radio etc., this is still a good album. Apart from the last two songs, it's solid and fun to listen to. It's not too hard, and not too mellow. The musicianship is nice and the screams/singing is ok as well. Only the last two songs really spoil it, as I do not like them at all and they kinda ruin the end of the album for me.

With a better ending the album would be a 4/5 for me, but taking that into calculation, I'll give it a

Final rating: 3.5/5

Recommended songs:
Autobiography of a Nation, Cross out the Eyes, I am the Killer




Recent reviews by this author
Polar Bear Club Clash Battle Guilt PrideDown-Stares Cobras And Matadors
Unearth The MarchThe Psyke Project Apnea
In This Moment The DreamThis Is Hell Sundowning
user ratings (1341)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Davey Boy STAFF (4)
Well-structured, unpredictable, good musicianship, satisfactory vocals & borderline melodic. Yet, th...

Michael Roberts (4.5)
...

Blair Chopin (5)
...

Chris Maziejka (2.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Rudd13
August 20th 2005



952 Comments


Nice review.

Cross Out The Eyes is ACE.This Message Edited On 10.09.05

DFelon204409
Emeritus
August 20th 2005



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is a pretty important significant album. The recording quality is weird because Victory records with too much reverb, but it makes it sounds almost like some of the older emo bands like Indian Summer and Grade. However, after TBS started getting the same mix, it had to stop.

Amused
August 20th 2005



5 Comments


man, how long is the night is one of my favourite songs by them.

the ribbon was crimson, the colour of the night..

StormX
August 21st 2005



13 Comments


This is an amazing CD. I've had to buy it three times, because it kept breaking, but it was worth it.

Society Sellout
August 21st 2005



292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is an amazing album. Definatly one of my favorites and influental on my own writing and music. Every song on here is fresh for me and has something that makes it stand out imo.

incubus62086
September 27th 2005



147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Definantly a stellar album.

Cross Out The Eyes
October 15th 2005



42 Comments


i Really love this album great review

Zaine
October 23rd 2005



199 Comments


excellent review. this album is fantastic. my favorite song at the time, and this is in all music, not limited to the album, is autobiography of a nation. it is honestly that good. definately give this album a shot if you havent had the pleasure of listening to it.

vicy77
November 17th 2005



164 Comments


This band is great. His voice is so great once u accept it after a few listens. It has a billy talent and system of a down feel, but much much better

cbmartinez
December 11th 2005



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've been listening to this alot lately and I think it's one of the best albums of the last decade.

ttop87
December 29th 2005



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

good review, thursday kicks hinney.

Captain_Civic
February 11th 2006



12 Comments


One word for this album: Brilliant.

santi3hg
February 12th 2006



440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album is very impressive and as splatoutpath said, its one of the few albums that cant be compared to anything else in my collection of music.

Full Collapse299
March 21st 2006



507 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah this album is great. I still can't see how you don't like Wind Up and How Long Is The Night at all. I'll admit Wind UP had to grow on me, but I absolutley loved How Long Is The Night the first time I heard it. You should give more credit to the intro and outro tracks too. They're actually pretty catchy and a lot better then some other albums, and unlike some albums, it's not annoying to listen to. I went to go see Thursday late December and that's when I realized I liked this album the best and that Autobiography Of A Nation is my favorite song by them. It was so amazing just screaming "Write these words back down!" as Geoff held the microphone out to the crowd.

Full Collapse299
April 13th 2006



507 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Concealer is the only song on this album I have yet to trance in to. It is freakin amazing, and I do not doubt concealer will be in me soon, next to the rest. They had some amazing moments in this album and I would stab the pope to hear them live (luckily I wont have to, cuz... MAY 10TH!!!!)


Hahaha, yeah, they put on one amazing show. I'm still shaken by it, and the show was like 3 and half months ago. I'm hoping to see them again at warped tour
bad news: Geoff is pretty sick, so hopefully his voice will get better by may 10thThis Message Edited On 04.14.06

f_u_c_t
April 30th 2006



1406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

have you noticed, this album ends the same way it starts?

cbmartinez
April 30th 2006



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I never noticed that!

f_u_c_t
May 1st 2006



1406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ yeah i was listening to this my first time the other day and decided i would listen to it over again after it ended. And noticed that, just found it to be a bit ironic.

CarlitoV
May 3rd 2006



6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Your rating is too poor! If there will be some aliens coming to earth, wanting to know what screamo is, then I'd show them this album!

Society Sellout
May 3rd 2006



292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Your rating is too poor! If there will be some aliens coming to earth, wanting to know what screamo is, then I'd show them this album!


... and you would be miss guiding them to think that post-hardcore=screamo.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy