Despised Icon
Day of Mourning


4.5
superb

Review

by Nate L. USER (1 Reviews)
September 22nd, 2009 | 124 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is Despised Icon on steroids.

I'm hesitant to call any Despised Icon album by genre names like "deathcore," "tech-death," or "grindcore," or even any combination of those. Their three most recent albums have brutally carved an unmistakable niche out for themselves, known to this writer as "Despised Icon metal." The music is so distinctly their own, that it takes less than one riff, one gang shout, or one grind-blast-beat to let the listener know who is currently pounding their ear drums.

Day of Mourning takes all the facets crucial to their sound to the extreme-- it is Despised Icon on steroids. Everything is amplified from their previous efforts. One of the most noteworthy features of this band is their drumming, performed unbelievably well by Alex Pelletier. Pure insanity. It made my brother quit drums. It killed my dog. And got my sister pregnant. The guitar work complements this battery assault quite well-- in both death metal riffing, grind blasts, and breakdowns. The work of the guitarists shows distinct signs of evolution of the course of this band's life. Many subtle techniques are used to perfection, in meaningful ways (showing the obvious maturity of the songwriting) and these are amplified by the excellent production. The guitars ring/cut/saw/slice/explode in perfect clarity, while the rhythm section provides dedicated and ubiquitous support, and, the gang shouts have been mastered. The vocal work is seemingly more raw and definitely more used, but this only adds to the overall sound-- definitely more of a "The Healing Process" sound, compared to an "Ills of Modern Man" sound. Overall, every aspect has been amplified, showing definite signs of progress, and improving the experience as a whole.

Songs like "Eulogy" and "Made of Glass" are standouts for their ability to incorporate all elements that make for a great Despised Icon song. "Sleepless" is a perfect example of the band improving upon previous work. If you thought "Fainted Blue Ornaments" was interesting, this song will surely rattle your brain-- a heavily textured song, combining melody and atmosphere with the unnerving brutality of the band's core sound. The other tracks don't disappoint, and are fully distinguishable, even after the first listen; a problem that plagued "The Healing Process," as well as many other albums in similar genres. Each uses the elements of the toolbox/armory of the band in catchy arrangements that specialize in building blood-pumping tension, soundly crushing your expectations, and keeping you hooked on for more. The use of spastic stop-start slam beats, blazingly fast grind passages, and crushingly bouncy breakdowns all lay the "Despised Icon" scent on thick, and provide a definite grapple for the listen to hold on to (for dear life).

There are admittedly a few shortcomings. The album art is ridiculously stupid, for one-- wtf is going on? I was honestly scared that this album would suck when I first laid eyes upon it. The lyrics to MVP are completely wigger-slam-party busted. The lyrics on "Ills of Modern Man" were challenging and engaging, while this is just a mindless romp. Also another gripe about MVP: the extended one-note breakdown that ends the song-- too much vocals, too boring, too long. A few other brief segments on the album feature these undesirable qualities, but quickly give way to much better passages. My last mention here is that the album features a lot of breakdowns (not in the way that other "-core" bands overly rely on them as a crutch, but more like a "Despised-Icon-rapes-your-face" kinda way), so if you do not like their particular brand of body-slamming breakdowns, I'd suggest approaching with caution.

When one looks back at the catalogue of this band, there is an obvious progression in every aspect-- guitarwork, drumming, vocals, songwriting and production. The band does not re-invent their sound, nor re-invent the wheel. They evolve. This album is a well-oiled, cold, calculating machine mixed with a brutal, unrelenting predator. It will crush you, and you will enjoy it.


user ratings (457)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Adam Gola (3.5)
Many metalheads loathe the genre of deathcore. "Day of Mourning" is definitely not one of the reason...

promiseswept (4)
A shining effort in the dull genre of deathcore....


Comments:Add a Comment 
ianjulian
September 22nd 2009


632 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

excellent album, I like it better than the previous one, thought that with the arrival of new guitarist had to do changes for the worse, but this album is better

Digging: Unearth - Watchers of Rule

KYZAR
September 22nd 2009


513 Comments


my god THREE REVIEWS FOR THIS ALREADY?

Mouth
September 22nd 2009


197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

why do people feel the need to review this so much

glocks4sale
September 22nd 2009


61 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

People feel the need to review this for two reasons, IMO:
1. It's a new and exciting album from a well-known band whose style grows and develops with each release.
2. TO SPREAD THE WORD OF HOW GREAT IT IS!!

LisbonGirls
September 22nd 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't think its so great

Mouth
September 22nd 2009


197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Libson's review was the only one I can find myself agreeing with

all of these others ones are obviously people still under the influence of the fact that it's an 'OMG NEW ALBUM!!!!!!!!!!!'

funtenot
September 23rd 2009


10 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the drummer doesnt play fast enough. id suggest a triple bass pedal.

accompliceofmydeath
September 23rd 2009


4257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I also think that Lisbon's is the best. This is ranging from about a 3-4 for me right now. I'll give it a few more listens and then decide for sure.

Digging: New Found Glory - Resurrection

LisbonGirls
September 23rd 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks, much appreciated

asaf
September 23rd 2009


888 Comments


sooo, i take it everything has been amplified?

...and how is it a 4.5 with a few shortcomings? those all sounded pretty serious.

Thor
September 23rd 2009


10200 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I refuse to believe this album is actually good. I'll check it out eventually and see.

FascoPoop
September 23rd 2009


13 Comments


I'm not into Deathcore at all. Actually, I'm not into anything that ends with the 4 letters ''core'' in this specific order. However, these guys have their own style and sound and I believe this is their best release so far. I'm not a big fan, but I must admit this is a solid effort and it's got its highlight. The second part of Diva of Disgust makes me wanna blow some guy's off with a sledgehammer. Brutal as sh1t!

glocks4sale
September 23rd 2009


61 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, yes this is a very positive review, because I enjoy the album very much.

The "few shortcomings" prevented it from getting a 5-- which is the best score that an album can get, meaning that is is practically water-tight and nearly-flawless.

LisbonGirls
September 24th 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

haha nope, far from it. I respect your opinion and everything but I would have cried had you gave this a 5

glocks4sale
September 24th 2009


61 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, judging from your profile and your digs, it's clear you would never condone this album getting a five.

Admittedly, I was going in to this with very high hopes and positive optimism, but I feel that the band executed the album quite well. They played to their strengths, and made a genuinely fun/entertaining/brutal album.

I'm trying to be as objective as possible with this next statement:
This album is top-notch D.Icon material-- it succeeds at accomplishing its goals, and does so in an engaging manner that improves and innovates on their previous work while still retaining many ways to make the listener bang his/her head and enjoy the ride. Thus I gave it a 4.5.

Mouth
September 24th 2009


197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it sounds almost exactly like their last 2 albums

the only valid reasons i can see someone having for liking this enough to give it a 4.5 is that they either still have that 'new album' feeling for it, or this is the first they've heard of DI

glocks4sale
September 25th 2009


61 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is not the first DI material I've heard, and I hope I made that clear in the review.

The beauty of it is that I HAVE INDEED heard all their other work, YET I STILL enjoy this album so much. Coincidence? No. That's why 4.5

Phantom
September 25th 2009


8930 Comments


do they still use the really bad pig squeals on this album?

zaruyache
September 26th 2009


6879 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Re-listened to MVP. Wow that was bad. Single-note breakdowns are not ftw.

Digging: Ardour Loom - Demo

glocks4sale
September 29th 2009


61 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@ Phantom: They don't use pig squeals as much as IoMM on this album.

@ zar: Well, yeah, I agree with you in that MVP features one of the weaker points of the album: the extended single-note breakdown. That song does have a few redeeming factors, though, but definitely not my top 5 favorite tracks off this album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy