Geist
Galeere


4.5
superb

Review

by The Green Scarf Bandit of Italy USER (17 Reviews)
September 22nd, 2009 | 75 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A misleading album that draws you in with peaceful ambience and then drowns you in a flood of icy riffs

At a first glance, Geist appears to be some sort of blatant Wolves in the Throne Room clone; right down to the pretentious song lengths and dark cover artwork. In fact, the introduction to Galeere sounds almost identical to that of the WITTR track “Behold the Vastness and Sorrow” off of their Two Hunters album. However, quite early on, Geist makes it quite clear that they’ve got their own personal agenda in mind. After about a minute or so of dapping in WITTR-esque ambience, Geist cuts the crap and leaps straight into the maelstrom.

From start to stop, Galeere is one leviathan of an album. Instead of expanding on the gloomy shoe gaze style black metal that they displayed early on, Geist opens up the sky and brings down a torrent of hard hitting riffs. Geist strays away from the blast-beat/tremolo picking formula and explores their options, dropping juicy (and ferociously heavy) riffs into the fray along with hard-hitting drum patterns. This combination gives the album a much more ‘metal’ feel by creating tight grooves and rhythm patterns as opposed to the rapid fire assault aural assault that black metal usually is. Several sections throughout the album are 100 percent head-bang-able.

Unlike most black metal albums, the sound quality of Galeere is crystal clear. The vocals (which are all in German, unfortunate for some) are startlingly clear and discernible without over-powering any of the other instruments. Every single note and chord on the guitar floats seamlessly into your ear, clear and striking. The ambient sections are possibly the greatest example of this, audible guitar duality blending perfectly with the sound of crashing waves to create soothing atmospheres filled with grim emotion.

Every piece of the album is perfectly proportioned and well placed, and throughout the albums fifty or so minutes it does not drag at all. However, this album is not for those “black metal” fans who have only ever listened to Ulver, Dissection, and Emperor. I strongly recommend this album to anyone who appreciates ambient or progressive black metal such as Panopticon, Skullreader and of course Wolves in the Throne Room.



Recent reviews by this author
Nazxul IconoclastAltar of Plagues Sol
The Crimson Armada GuardiansMalevolent Creation Retribution
Legiones DemoTruckfighters Mania
user ratings (36)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zip
September 22nd 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Been a while since I reviewed anything and I wanted to get back into it. Sorry Crysis if you were gonna do this one. Tell me what you think

Willie
Moderator
September 22nd 2009


15982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sounds good and it's a good review too. I'm adding this to my list.

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

lobby
September 22nd 2009


1251 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this is already on my rec list, have to speed up my turnover rate so i can get to this...

Zip
September 22nd 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah this is definitely rec worthy

Ulsufyring
September 22nd 2009


1724 Comments


--;dr

Zip
September 22nd 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what does that even mean?

BallsToTheWall
September 22nd 2009


44413 Comments


You didnt appear to mention of of the aquatic sound samples or overall dark misty atmosphere that of one of a ship doomed to oblivion. Otherwide good effort. Still need to finish my review for thsi however.

Digging: She Past Away - Belirdi Gece

Zip
September 22nd 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I mentioned the ocean ambience! I just don't know anything about the concept.

BallsToTheWall
September 22nd 2009


44413 Comments


Well I mean the synthesizers on this record, while understated certaintly add much of the texture to this. On another note, not really, artwork is still completely amazing. That ship is going down.

Skullreader? You mean Sun Of The Blind?

Zip
September 22nd 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I barely noticed the keyboards. I was too busy moshing to the amazing guitar riffs. So wait you guys made the ghost ship stuff up?

Essence
September 22nd 2009


3585 Comments


--;dr


I think he meant he didn't read.

Half of tl;dr --> too long, didn't read.

(which are all in German, unfortunate for some)


This sold it for me. Gonna get this later today.

Zip
September 22nd 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ok dude, you're going to have to pick one or the other someday

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2009


16397 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, I was procrastinating about writing a review for this, but you gave as much justice, if not more, than I was hoping for.

Fantastic album.

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

BallsToTheWall
September 22nd 2009


44413 Comments


No I didnt make up the ghost ship? Look at the cover, listen to the pirateship organ melody which I forget which song specifically, look at their pirate rocker inspired corpsepaint. This is totally ocean metal bro.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2009


16397 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agree with Balls

Essence
September 22nd 2009


3585 Comments


Brocean metal.

jingledeath
September 22nd 2009


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good review, great album

Lunarfall
September 22nd 2009


3179 Comments


i took one glance at the album art. its like i can smell pretentiousness radiating from this album.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2009


8363 Comments


nice review.

However, quite early on Geist makes it quite clear that they’ve got their own personal agenda in mind.
add a comma after on. It's a small nitpick but it would really imrpove the flow of that sentence. Otherwise solid job.

I am not going to check this out though, too much stuff, tool ittle time, and i do not need any more.

Ulsufyring
September 22nd 2009


1724 Comments


i took one glance at the album art. its like i can smell pretentiousness radiating from this album.


likewise to your avatar and yourself



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy