Something For Kate
Echolalia


3.5
great

Review

by doug USER (78 Reviews)
September 17th, 2009 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Full of filler, though the stand out tracks still make you listen over and over.

Something For Kate, a band that is well recognised down under, and overly praised by some listeners, (re: Doug Belfast), are hardly known elsewhere, though this double disc effort was made to try and change that. Echolalia, named after the mental disorder that lets people express in a form of constant mimicking doesn’t sum up this album quite right. Though as it is a double disc effort, there is a lot of filler.

The first disc features a majority of the highlight tracks, one of them being ‘Monsters,’ which was quite successful here in Aus, with its sweeping verses and quite light weight chorus. And lyrically Paul Dempsey is once again at his phenomenal best:

I was hiding away under water
Waiting for distance and buying some time
Trying to be two hundred thousand years younger
So i could excuse myself from humankind
'Cause i don't want to be a container
Or a bastard with a ten page disclaimer
But these monsters spin me around
Get me down, just try and shut me out


The early parts of the record gives as a slickly produced sound that could probably sound a lot better live, though is glossed with studio perfection. As the record roles on we come to ‘Feeding The Birds and Hoping for Something in Return’ which begins with a march like drum beat, before the gloriously voiced Paul Dempsey directs the pattern in a different direction with his guitar work. ‘Twenty Years’ is probably the best song on the first disc with a very pop heavy feel, though it has a more rushed tempo, giving it a spine tingled feeling and a sense of urgency.

The second disc is full of live versions of the first disc, as well as some re recorded older material and is a bit scratchy in sections. While the live versions of some tracks are quite spectacular, it doesn’t have the nice coherent flow that the first disc does. While the album has some amazing standout tracks, like ‘Monsters’ ‘Twenty Years’ the fast paced ‘Say Something’ and odd ‘Feeding The Birds and Hoping for Something in Return’ it is plagued with filler, which is unfortunate since some of the good tracks are up there with Something For Kate’s best.

On Echolalia Something For Kate are gasping for a wider playing arena, and have had some success with ‘Monsters’ but unfortunately it has probably come out as the bands weakest release to date. While the album is slickly produced, it doesn’t seem quite full enough, or it’s missing something vital, though it is a Something For Kate album, so whatever the lows may be, there are still a lot of highs.



Recent reviews by this author
Flume and Chet Faker LockjawThe Naked and Famous In Rolling Waves
James Blake OvergrownTaylor Swift Red
Macklemore and Ryan Lewis The HeistChet Faker Thinking in Textures
user ratings (25)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Douglas
September 17th 2009


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Probably my most hashed review.

Album is good, though as a Something For Kate fanboy I suggest looking at Beautiful Sharks or The
Official Fiction before this.

Digging: The Preatures - Blue Planet Eyes

MassiveAttack
September 17th 2009


2688 Comments


You write to much Dougie =)

(Joke almost on par with my writing schedules)

Douglas
September 17th 2009


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, yeah I know, its because I procrastinate by writing reviews... odd hey.

MassiveAttack
September 17th 2009


2688 Comments


So do I, but I feel it gives me more time for flexibility, I used to churn out 2-4 reviews a week now I'm going 1 per week (usually).

Douglas
September 17th 2009


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah depends on my work load. I used to be like once a month, but suddenly I just just kept writing them since it seemed better then writing essay's on boring topics.

Fugue
September 17th 2009


7353 Comments


Arghh all these reviews knocking mine down. In all honesty I've seen better from you before, but hey least you challenge me for the 'longest time between reviews'title. Funnily enough being non-Aussie as I am I've never heard of these guys.

Edit: Holy shit 21 reviews, your not far off my total!

Douglas
September 17th 2009


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah probably should have spent longer on it, but the album needed a review. Haha well I good way to get started is either The Official Fiction or Beautiful Sharks. Or even try Paul Dempsey's solo work Everything is True

Vooligan
September 17th 2009


3541 Comments


Dougieeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. Good stuff.

PS. Go Dogs.

Douglas
September 17th 2009


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha hey Billy.... Dogs have no chance.

Jim
September 17th 2009


5110 Comments


dogs shouldn't bother turning up

yeah review's good dougie, but does seem rushed compared to your last few. the singles on this are incredible, but they remind me of neighbours =(

Douglas
September 17th 2009


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I admit to it being rushed. Might give it a once over tonight.
Yeah singles are great. haha oh dont start Jim.

Waior
September 17th 2009


11452 Comments


Haha, yeah I know, its because I procrastinate by writing reviews... odd hey.


Ugghhhh yes. It's the worst, I'm habitual with that.

Jim
September 17th 2009


5110 Comments


it only reminds me of neighbours because they played monsters for like every episode for a while

back when neighbours wasn't as crap anyway

Douglas
September 17th 2009


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Those bastards taking music for their shitty shows. Haha yeah Caleb, probably the worst habit.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 20th 2009


20857 Comments


Album needed a review, so good stuff Dougie. I actually think it was a good move from the band to try to get a wider audience. They deserve it & to some extent, it worked.

Douglas
September 20th 2009


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah it was, though I am glad they went back to what they were good at with the next release, even if it did reach wider acclaim then this album.

How bout those saints?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 20th 2009


20857 Comments


Can't begrudge the Saints their spot in the granny, as they've been the best team all season. Although, I'm not totally convinced they were the better team on the night. I guess it's a good sign that they were able to take their opportunities when they were presented to them.

Douglas
September 20th 2009


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Shhhh, we are still in there. If those seagulls hadn't been blocking your view, you would have seen the game a lot differently.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 20th 2009


20857 Comments


I know, what is with those f'n seagulls?

Of course, if those seagulls hadn't been blocking the umpires view, Riewoldt wouldn't have got the softest free kick in history!

Douglas
September 20th 2009


9110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can agree there, that was horrible umpiring.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy