The Dismemberment Plan
Emergency & I


5.0
classic

Review

by Alex Robertson STAFF
September 17th, 2009 | 148 replies | 10,328 views


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: rock music of the future. Seriously.

There is something very important about The Dismemberment Plan's 1999 album Emergency & I that is often overlooked, and that is that it has a Point A and a Point B (along with other intermediary points throughout the album), and it transports you from that Point A to that Point B smoothly and effortlessly, without any unnecessary stops or detours. The album touches on a lot of musical themes, almost all of them having a unifying subject matter: this is the album that illustrates the downfall of the great minds of America, those who slyly and candidly observe those around them, sitting in their hotel room because they simply haven't anything else to do. There's also something even more important about the album that is almost never forgotten: the music is ***ing good. The album, ahead of its time to this day, used fairly standard rock instruments (keyboards, guitars, drums, etc.) to make something entirely new. The term has already been applied to the music of bands like Godspeed You! Black Emperor and Sigur Rós, but the album, as a whole, fits the term "post-rock" perfectly: while not technically doing anything rock hasn't done, the music combines the instruments and song structures given to them by conventional rock music and twists them back around to devise an all-new genre; the rock music of the future.

The album's brilliance, along with its musical innovation, also lies in its lyrical proficiency. Possibly the album's centerpiece, "You Are Invited" is also a brilliantly surreal blah blah ok *** this just get the goddamn album


peace


-djdorama



Recent reviews by this author
Teebs E S T A R ATabu Ley Rochereau The Voice of Lightness: Congo Classics 1961-1977
Julia Holter Loud City SongNara Leao Dez Anos Depois
Thelonious Monk Thelonious Monk TrioZahava Seewald and Michael Grebil From My Mother's House
user ratings (431)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
Paul Golden (5)
A beautiful contradiction, as complex as life itself....

robin EMERITUS (5)
I lost my membership card to the human race....

MemoryMachine (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2009



15000 Comments


ready for my approval rating to hit 100 now

americanmusicmachine
September 17th 2009



3953 Comments


nice.

Yotimi
September 17th 2009



6456 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album absolutely rules.

Digging: Millie and Andrea - Drop The Vowels

Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2009



17204 Comments


If she spins fast enough then maybe the broken pieces of her heart will stay together but ain't no gyroscope can spin forever

Waior
September 17th 2009



11442 Comments


Review is not one of your better ones but the album is good.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2009



15000 Comments


correction review is my best one

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2009



15728 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

k so as weird and trippy and bad as this review is it makes me want to listen to the album so pos

but remember dj, you are not lewis parry

lewis beat me to it

Digging: Alvvays - Alvvays

plane
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2009



6092 Comments


I feel used.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2009



15000 Comments


explain ? huh


did lewis do this before

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2009



15728 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lewis (5:05:43 PM): but this review
lewis (5:06:07 PM): is blatantly ripping off a) pitchfork's concept of not actually reviewing the album but praising it as a classic and b) me

americanmusicmachine
September 17th 2009



3953 Comments


this is a review tho. also pitchfork informally reviewed it which still counts soooo no to a)

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2009



15000 Comments


haha what


maybe that's true i have no idea


DONT TALK ABOUT ME BEHIND MY BACK GUYS

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2009



15000 Comments


http://kanyelicio.us/http://www.sputnikmusic.com

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2009



15728 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

old

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2009



15000 Comments


niggas is fast

americanmusicmachine
September 17th 2009



3953 Comments


how great is 'back and forth'?



robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2009



15000 Comments


least favorite

americanmusicmachine
September 17th 2009



3953 Comments


really. it's my fav.

Yotimi
September 18th 2009



6456 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Back and Forth" is probably my least fave too. That or "The Jitters". Both still awesome though. The bass is unreal on this album.

Wadlez
October 1st 2013



3866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not quite sure what I just listened to.. But it was fucking awesome



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy