CiLiCe
Deranged Headtrip


4.5
superb

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
September 16th, 2009 | 80 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: CiLiCe push the envelope with the album which is so superbly conceived and realized that it may appear impossible to surpass by any metal band this year.

They couldn't name their debut album more aptly. "Deranged Headtrip" is a crazed, psychotic and totally mind-bending release that defies expectations. On the surface, Dutch outfit CiLiCe play mad math metal as they prefer to call their style. Heavily influenced by Meshuggah and Dillinger Escape Plan, their music is defined by a permeating sonic assault, mechanical riffs and frequent time signature changes. Calling CiLiCe math metal is a severe understatement though. They tend to be experimental, progressive and not so easy to label.

The level of musicianship is top-notch with all members contributing to their carefully structured, richly-layered compositions containing the variety of passages ranging from trippy and cacophonic to supremely melodic. The melody is retained through both classical guitar soloing and outstanding vocals. Daniel de Jongh is definitely a standout member of the band delivering surprisingly versatile performance. He superbly uses his voice whatever technique he's employing from mercilessly biting growls, through devilish whispering, to melodious clean singing. In this last mode his vocals resemble Mike Patton's harmonies, which can only be regarded as a compliment.

With their superb technical skills, instrumentalists never sacrifice the cohesiveness of the album in favor of showy performances. Instead, they compose actual songs that depart significantly from ordinary structures, yet are not undecipharable binary codes of sound, which is the case with many bands playing math metal. Besides, CiLiCe still manage to create their own hybrid of sound that frequently relies on industrial and progressive aesthetics. As for industrial, the album abounds with samples and synths that create inhumanely gloomy atmosphere throughout. The most notable example of this type of playing is "Drone", a sinister, dark ballad amped with an effective use of chello. The progressive influences are the most hearable in constantly evolving "Left/Right Hemisphere" as well as "Malice" that almost entirley relies on groove. "Mental Breakdown" finds the band in their most schizophrenic mode with distinctively syncopated vocals by de Jongh, while the riffs in "Golem Servants" reference a more straight-forward approach of Pantera.

Overall, "Deranged Headtrip" dares to be the most refreshing metal release of the year. CiLiCe truly push the envelope with the album which is so superbly conceived and realized that it may appear impossible to surpass by any metal band this year. The bar has just been set ridiculously high.



Recent reviews by this author
Sparky HumanimationLo-Pan Colossus
Kimbra The Golden EchoDog Fashion Disco Sweet Nothings
So Slow DharaviMastodon Once More 'Round the Sun
user ratings (83)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ulsufyring
September 16th 2009


1724 Comments


i'm so tired of people using lines from their reviews as summaries

seriously, just THINK of a new summary

bloc
September 16th 2009


34919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album is absolutely insane.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2009


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ulsufyring: Done

bloc01: Yep. It's insane. That's why more people should check it out.



Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

weareshadenow
September 16th 2009


175 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i checked them out before you

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2009


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah. Good for you. Seriously, what's wrong with people not wanting to listen to an album which has such amazing song titles as Golem Servants and Chernobyl? LOL

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so their myspace is ok, and i suppose i will get this album now. Didin't sound too spectacular thugh.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2009


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As far as I remember, I didn't like it that much on the first listen. The complex song structures/signature changes are not that easy to follow at first, yet the album is extremely rewarding after a few listens. Just like with Argento's movies, you have to be obsessed with it to fully enjoy.

fromtheinside
September 16th 2009


18717 Comments


hmmmm a 4.5?
i'll check this out probably the rec's make it interesting.

Digging: Devin Townsend Project - Z2

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2009


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the concert video to God of Lies:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YJkM3HSPlbY

Willie
Moderator
September 17th 2009


16049 Comments


Sounds interesting. Good review.

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

Ulsufyring
September 17th 2009


1724 Comments


another fucking meshuggah clone goddammit

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2009


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well. What have you expected? This is a math metal album. Still, they are far more diverse than meshuggah. As put in the review, they've lots of progressive and industrial influences.

Ulsufyring
September 17th 2009


1724 Comments


but there's so fucking many; textures, after the burial, benea reach, these guys

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2009


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've only heard textures out of these bands and they're pretty neat. As for Deranged Headtrip, it's head and shoulders above the last meshuggah album which was rather one-note in my opinion.

Andross026
October 13th 2009


49 Comments


yea def this band and cd kick ass. God of Lies is the fucking best song ever, the clean vocal section rulez. this band and cd are like meshuggah without the annoying repetiveness that their songs have. for you drug users, its like the perfect hit or dose of some really good shit. not too much to make you feel like shit, but enough to make your whole body feel it.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

holy crap. So I approached this cd with care at the start as their myspace wasn't all THAT intriguing, but in a long run, this album definitely kicks ass. One of the most underrated records in 2009.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2009


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad you liked it. This is really an incredible album and definitely a grower. The more you listen to it, the more you enjoy it. It's very even as well: still don't know what's my favorite track out of it.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it's hard to pick a favourite but I think for me it might be either "God Of Lies", "Golem Servants" or "Psychotic Mindwarp". Also the start of "Chernobyl" is fucking awesome. That nasty growl sounds like straight from a GOOD horror movie.


greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2009


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah. Chernobyl. I guess Chernobyl, Left/Right Hemisphere and Malice are standout tracks for me. Still, God of Lies seems to be the most representative for this album/band.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you know, just a though almost entirely out of context, but I really really would like to see a good horror movie made about the events that took place in Chernobyl. The material to work on is there, now only some people need to get interested in doing that. Under some good hands, the result could be awesome imo.

And I agree that God Of Lies is a good representation for the rest of the record.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy