Testament
The Legacy


3.5
great

Review

by Matthijs van der Lee USER (219 Reviews)
September 11th, 2009 | 131 replies


Release Date: 1987 | Tracklist


The Rise & Fall of Thrash Metal: Part the Second – Smaller Fry

Part II: Testament ~ The Legacy

Another lesser known but interesting band from the mid-80’s thrash scene are Testament, originally formed as Legacy by guitarists Eric Peterson and Derrick Ramirez. In ’87, they released their debut The Legacy, named after their original band name. The album became an underground hit and still has some fame in thrash circles.

The Legacy’s Testament was:

- Charles ‘Chuck’ Billy ~ Lead Vocals
- Alexander Nathan Skolnick ~ Lead Guitar
- Eric Peterson ~ Rhythm Guitar
- Gregory Christian ~ Bass Guitar
- Louie Clemente ~ Drums

Testament’s appeal lies in an intensive, brutal assault on everyone’s part. Guitarists Skolnick and Peterson are both technically skilled and deliver infectious riffs and solos, Clemente’s adrenaline throughout the album, and vocalist Chucky Billy is a beast. He actually has something Dave Mustaine-ish in his tone, which may get annoying, but chooses to shout instead of snarl, something that works out in his favour. The Legacy is a 38-minute sonic full-scale assault, and you’re bound to like it.

Add to that the typical classic metul themes as aggression, destruction and sorcery-related ideas, and you’ve got the basis for a great though cheesy album. With great tunes in the ferocious tone-setter Over the Wall, the most brutal moment First Strike is Deadly, but also excellent melodic achievement with Alone in the Dark, The Legacy seems indeed destined to become a classic album.

It is a shame then, that Testament didn’t keep it all up. Some tracks, such as Raging Waters and Burnt Offerings definitely need some spicing up to create some more punch, C.O.T.L.O.D. (Curse of the Legions of Death) tries to be a menacing 2 and a half minutes, but lacks proper hooks, and Apocalyptic City tends to drag a bit.

Aside from that, The Legacy still remains a great all-round album. It is brutal and melodic at the same time, and Testament had a solid sound that provided some very good moments. With a slightly better effort in the song writing department, the boys could have gotten more out of the album’s potential, but overall, The Legacy comes out as a very satisfying debut, and can be picked up by anyone into thrash metal.

Essential listening:

Over the Wall
The Haunting
First Strike is Deadly
Alone in the Dark



Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (736)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Drew Tyler (5)
Testament's debut, the embodiment of thrash metal....

Dethtrasher (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
September 11th 2009


8323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This second thrash metal idea will probably become a little side-project I'll sporadically add new albums to.

KILL
September 11th 2009


72285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cool review! awesome album!

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

Nagrarok
September 11th 2009


8323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yo KILL, where that eternal idol of yours gone off to?

KILL
September 11th 2009


72285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

whom!?!?

Nagrarok
September 11th 2009


8323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Chuck, of course. I no see him in your avatar.

KILL
September 11th 2009


72285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hes definitely there! on my screen that is

Nagrarok
September 11th 2009


8323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hmm, how strange. I only see that 'cannot load picture' symbol.

KILL
September 11th 2009


72285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea i think thats a problem with sputnik

Nagrarok
September 11th 2009


8323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If that would be true, why can you see him still?

Willie
Moderator
September 11th 2009


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review. I don't like this as much as later albums but it's not bad.

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

Douchebag
September 11th 2009


3624 Comments


I can't see it either...
This band never really impressed me.

Nagrarok
September 11th 2009


8323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's why the 3.5. This is fun, but not more than that.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2009


8393 Comments


good review Nag, actually i happened to look at your profile one day and saw that Waior had chalenged you to write a review about a new release. You gonna do it?

Nagrarok
September 11th 2009


8323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh yes, I shouted that back to him. I had already decided to review a new release since 2 weeks ago or so, but it's not out yet.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2009


8393 Comments


hmm so it isn't Megadeth which I could have seen reviewed by you. Care to give me a hint about which band?

Nagrarok
September 11th 2009


8323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They have been unactive for quite some time and are now coming with a new album...

And I have reviewed 2 or 3 new releases already, I believe (well, new when I reviewed them anyway)

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2009


8393 Comments


yeah it would greatly help if you would name the genre they are in

Nagrarok
September 11th 2009


8323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes... but I don't want to give it away so easily. I'm also probably doing their discography as a build-up to the new release.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2009


8393 Comments


aight you mysterious bastard, I guess i'll have to wait and see then. i'm not even gonna make it a secret, i'm doing the new 69 Eyes today or during the weekend and will post my Crossbreed review when it comes out.

Nagrarok
September 11th 2009


8323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Never heard of them, tbh. Probably metul, huh?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy