Every Time I Die
New Junk Aesthetic


4.0
excellent

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
September 10th, 2009 | 625 replies | 57,930 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Crack open a beer. It's party time

The first thing that comes to my mind when I think of Every Time I Die is the music video for the song “Ebolarama”. The roller-rink escapades of the video were a brilliant visual interpretation of the controlled chaos that was Every Time I Die at that time. Their first two releases, Last Night In Town and Hot Damn!, were some of the most spastic, memorable, and most importantly fun releases to emerge from the Metalcore scene. Then the change set in. Starting with Gutter Phenomenon and coming to realization on The Big Dirty, Every Time I Die's sound began to shift from the start-stop jolts of their early days to heaping slabs of groovy southern fried riffs.

So here's the surprising part about New Junk Aesthetic: the Every Time I Die freight-train has jumped off of the riff-rock track that it had been rolling down for the last four years and has started to make it's way back to the quick bursts of unbridled aggression of their early days. It's not a complete reversion. The New Junk Aesthetic still has all the makings of the riffstravaganza that one would expect from them after listening to The Big Dirty, but instead of developing them into drawn out groovy cuts, they are assembled into succinct sub-three minute blasts that play like a greatest hits collection packed into a single song. “The Marvelous Slut” and “Who Invited the Russian Soldier?”, with their hyperactive structuring and off-kilter dissonance, are sure to make those early fans who gave up on Every Time I Die rejoice. While on the other hand “Wanderlust” and “Host Disorder” still retain all of the hooks and meaty guitar work that made The Big Dirty the bad ass' party album of 2007. To put it simply, there's something for everyone.

The New Junk Aesthetic is a brash in-your-face maelstrom that is, without a doubt, Every Time I Die's best release since Hot Damn!. It combines everything that has made them what they are into one bite size morsel. So crack open a beer. It's party time.



Recent reviews by this author
YOB Clearing The Path To AscendUnited Nations The Next Four Years
Matter TeraphimThe Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is There
Owls TwoTaking Back Sunday Happiness Is
user ratings (1177)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Blindsided (4)
After listening to this album you'll feel like you’re in a metaphorical room filled with broken fu...

PeteyThePistol (4.5)
Don't let the title fool you, there is no junk to be found on this album....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2009


17212 Comments


rules. but you already knew that.

Digging: Inigo Kennedy - Vaudeville

CrackTheSkye
September 10th 2009


726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes, yes I do.
Good review. Album certainly surprised me by how good it was.


cvlts
September 10th 2009


8954 Comments


hell mothereffin ya!

definately gettin this now, thanx.
havin the privledge of seein these guys on monday.
good review, if a bit short.

Groink
September 10th 2009


768 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome review. This album is a lot of fun.

LisbonGirls
September 10th 2009


832 Comments


the big dirty was the only album that disappointed, Im so glad this is a return to form. Nice review sir.

cvlts
September 10th 2009


8954 Comments


Host Disorder is soundin HELLLA good!

Transient
September 10th 2009


1461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i've heard so much bad stuff about these guys, might as well give this a shot though

accompliceofmydeath
September 10th 2009


4213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I missed these guys on Tuesday but, this looks great.

Digging: Life of Agony - Ugly

Ulsufyring
September 10th 2009


1724 Comments


adam would i like this

Phantom
September 10th 2009


8930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

dont like this band

good review though

WarAllTheTime988
September 10th 2009


360 Comments


I got an E-Mail yesterday that my pre-order is on it's way and I'm so fucking stoked! This band can do no wrong as far as I'm concerned!

accompliceofmydeath
September 10th 2009


4213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think you would like this Ulsuf. I've yet to hear this album but, I think it leans too much toward the pop-metalcore for you. Although they did used to have Deadguy listed as an influence on their myspace, so take that for what it's worth. I think they're awesome though.

DrReg
September 10th 2009


127 Comments


This site now has reviews that are too short to be meaningful, too often. Didnt use to matter with editing and what not, but now, not useful.

Ulsufyring
September 10th 2009


1724 Comments


i mean there's that track on guitar hero i can get 5 stars on i'm so amazing

DrReg
September 10th 2009


127 Comments


Good point, and I'm glad you made it.

gaslightanthem
September 10th 2009


5209 Comments



This site now has reviews that are too short to be meaningful, too often. Didnt use to matter with editing and what not, but now, not useful.


oh yeah the site as a whole should totally start writing long ones again that keep reiterating the same point in slightly different words again and again or 10000 word concept reviews that sucked good idea man

Ulsufyring
September 10th 2009


1724 Comments


case in point

Greer's vheissu review

silverfang's ride the lightning review

that one douche's dahlia review

accompliceofmydeath
September 10th 2009


4213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^haha, sarcasm...
Edit: That was referring to gaslight.

DrReg
September 10th 2009


127 Comments


His other reviews are good. Honestly, more than two paragraphs will suit me.

ianjulian
September 10th 2009


630 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i like



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy