Nazxul
Iconoclast


3.5
great

Review

by The Green Scarf Bandit of Italy USER (17 Reviews)
August 25th, 2009 | 44 replies | 7,342 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: After 11 long years, Australian black metal group have finally delievered their second full length album, Iconoclast, which was originally announced in 1998."

3 of 4 thought this review was well written

Parental Advisory- Album Contains Explicit Keyboards

Evidently 2009 is the year for comebacks. Since January, many bands that were thought to have died out many years ago have miraculously reformed and somehow managed to scrape together a host of impressive new material. Unanimated and Alice in Chains were inactive for 14 years, Absu for a less impressive 8, and let's not forget Cynic of yesteryear who lay sleeping for a colossal 15 years. Apparently there has never been a better time to come roaring back to life. Nazxul is yet another band to add its name to the recently revived after 13 years of truancy in the studio. Their long awaited effort, Iconoclast, does not disappoint.

Since their last (and only) full length release, 1995’s Totem, Nazxul’s sound has changed dramatically, most likely due to their radically different lineup which contains only two of the original members. The band has shifted away from their grittier blackened death metal sound and opted for a more traditional symphonic style in the vein of Dimmu Borgir and their ilk, albeit without the horrific production. In fact, the shift in sound is rather shocking if you are familiar with Nazxul’s previous works.

The guitar is crisp and clear, and no longer hidden behind a wall of fuzz and distortion. Due to a change in vocalists, the vocals are no longer a motley arrangement of grunts and growls but a sophisticated rasp that is much more common for black metal. In addition, the keyboards are no longer relegated to obsolete background noise; instead they are just as audible as the guitar; highlighting the riffs and reinforcing the symphonic nature of the songs.

Unfortunately, Iconoclast is not without its downfalls. Capping off at 56 minutes, the album is a bit long and needless to say it drags quite a bit. Granted, there are 5 instrumental tracks that are no longer than 2 minutes; however the album grows tiresome about half way through. Additionally, the album suffers from a grating lack of variation. The songs sound generally the same with the exception of Oath (fides of Resurrection) which is eerily upbeat for black metal.

Nazxul’s Iconoclast is an overall strong album and will probably be enjoyed by those of you that listen to classic symphonic black metal bands such as Emperor or Dimmu Borgir. However, be warned, there are keyboards. Hopefully we won't have to wait another 13 years for a follow up.



Recent reviews by this author
Geist GaleereAltar of Plagues Sol
The Crimson Armada GuardiansMalevolent Creation Retribution
Legiones DemoTruckfighters Mania
user ratings (12)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zip
August 25th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I felt that this band needed at least a little attention, I'm working on the artwork now, but it doesn't seem to want to work so-
[img]http://www.eisenton.com/shop/cover/2732nazxuliconoclastltd.cdpreorder220090721.jpg[/img]

jingledeath
August 25th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I remember listening to this a while ago, it was alright

Zip
August 25th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I agree, but for some reason this has a lot of replay value for me.

SCREAM!
August 25th 2009



10038 Comments


Meh symphonic black metal meh

Digging: Old Witch - Come Mourning Come

Zip
August 25th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

How was Lands of the Plague? I've been meaning to check that out.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2009



8328 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice review, your conclusion was damn lazy, but I'll still pos :-)

Also the two songs I heard off Totem were HORRIBLE, so no, I am not going to bother with this even if it is rather different

Zip
August 25th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dude I didn't even think it was the same band at first. Fuck totem, at least try this.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2009



8328 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

but it's kvlt black metal that drags, I am too much of a pussy to listen to kvlt black metal that drags

Zip
August 25th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol this isn't kvlt, this is Dimmu Borgir from Australia.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2009



8328 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

never enjoyed dimmu too much, but ok, just to make you happy, I'll give some of these songs a go after I have stopped listening to the new Ensiferum.

Phantom
August 25th 2009



8930 Comments


this sounds pretty gay; pass.

Zip
August 25th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ Magnus
Pfft that's what you always say which is your way of saying: "I'll never listen to this but I'll tell you I will so you'll leave me alone."

Zip
August 25th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this sounds pretty gay
I reviewed it, given

Willie
Moderator
August 25th 2009



15914 Comments


The artwork has to be 200x200 to work. Also, the release date is July 28, 2009.

Parental Advisory- Album Contains Explicit Keyboards
Very nice intro, there.
Unanimated and Alice in Chains were inactive for 14 years, Absu for a less impressive 8, and let's not forget Cynic of yesteryear who lay sleeping for a colossal 15 years.
You forgot Beliver, Atheist, and Pestilence.

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

Zip
August 25th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have the right filesize, but it doesn't seem to be working regardless.

I didn't forget them, but isn't three examples enough?

Willie
Moderator
August 25th 2009



15914 Comments


The picture you have posted in the first comment is 400x400. Anyway, yeah, three examples are plenty but I had to throw those out there anyway. This sounds like it could be good. I'll add it to my list.

Zip
August 25th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Grr I could have used Immortal as an example too
The picture you have posted in the first comment is 400x400.
Yeah but the one I have saved is 146 by 146

Willie
Moderator
August 25th 2009



15914 Comments


Immortal, yep. I'm not saying you had to include more. I'm saying that I used your examples as a good excuse to name drop some other bands tha people should know.

I'm not sure what the minimum dimensions are anymore, but maybe that one is too small?

Edit: Nevermind. It looks like the album art uploading thing is broken again.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 25th 2009



8328 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@ Magnus
Pfft that's what you always say which is your way of saying: "I'll never listen to this but I'll tell you I will so you'll leave me alone."

lies, all lies, I didn't say I will get the whole album, i said I will check out a few songs and then decide and when i say I will check out the songs I will. Don't be too suprised if I won't get this album though, you now black is not my thing

Zip
August 25th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh, well thanks anyways. I guess my first comment will have to do.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy