Blut Aus Nord
Memoria Vetusta II: Dialogue with the Stars


4.5
superb

Review

by Nate B. USER (13 Reviews)
August 23rd, 2009 | 140 replies | 18,058 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A mystical journey through planes unknown.

7 of 7 thought this review was well written

Do you remember the last time you just sat and looked up at the stars on a clear night? It’s amazing how such a simple act can fill you with childlike wonder and amazement at the vastness of the cosmos and what lay beyond it. French progressive black metal outfit Blut aus Nord has successfully channeled these feelings into musical form with their latest effort Memoria Vetusta II: Dialogue With the Stars, and I’m not kidding around in saying that it’s a serious contender for album of the year.

Black metal is usually typified by its instrumental simplicity and minimalism which it uses to get its point across bluntly, but Memoria Vetusta II: Dialogue With the Stars is a fairly complex piece of music comparatively speaking. The guitar melodies are richly harmonized and highlighted by the wonderful production, much of the time played with tremolo picking, as is the black metal custom. Though a persistent celestial vibe is given off throughout the album, none of the songs can really be mistaken for another as the guitars employ a multitude of techniques and songwriting devices that never fail to take the listener off-guard and pique their interest in the piece.

Tremolo’d riffs are counterbalanced by heavy-as-hell palm muted power chord sections and moments of contemplation where the keyboards take the lead while the song continues to steadily pace along beneath. The keyboards aren’t as prevalent here as they are on Blut aus Nord’s other work, especially their first few albums, but they fill in the gaps between the two guitars very nicely and help the album to maintain its mystique. The drumming may not be the most technical stuff in the world, but I can’t imagine it being any more fitting to the album as it never draws too much attention to itself and always seems to be playing the right thing at the right time. The vocals sort of come and go as they please but add to the songs in a butter-on-bread sort of way. Honestly though, if the album were completely instrumental I would like it just as much; it’s that good.

There will be those that accuse Blut aus Nord of being too daring or artsy with this release, but it amazes me how they continue to confidently unfold their sound into unexplored territory without losing touch with their roots. Quite frankly, Memoria Vetusta II: Dialogue With the Stars, along with Beherit’s Engram gives me hope that modern black metal isn’t going to completely collapse in on itself and become totally irrelevant within the next year. Blut aus Nord is still showing that they aren’t afraid to break new ground and challenge stereotypes without compromising the gloom, pessimism, and spirituality that black metal is all about. If you’re losing faith in modern black metal, this could be one album to restore it.



Recent reviews by this author
Les Discrets/Alcest SplitOubliette Nadezda
Primordial Storm Before CalmWatain Sworn to The Dark
Bestial Warlust Blood & ValourMoonsorrow Tämä Ikuinen Talvi
user ratings (179)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
plutosatanclubhouse
August 23rd 2009



142 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album is way awesome

lobby
August 23rd 2009



1251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

definitely a brilliant album

KYZAR
August 23rd 2009



513 Comments


sounds blacktastic

Hawks
August 23rd 2009



35603 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just listened to one of the songs on youtube and it was fucking fantastic.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

R6Rider
August 23rd 2009



4562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not on this album, but I just checked out Procession Of The Dead Clowns

Very scary sh*t

Digging: Plebeian Grandstand - How Hate is Hard to Define

TricksterGRex
August 23rd 2009



2087 Comments


best song they've done tbh

TWWTG is their best album

Mendigo
August 23rd 2009



2299 Comments


great album, but I like Odinist and especially The Work Which Transforms God more, though I probably just need to give this a few more listens.

BallsToTheWall
August 23rd 2009



44164 Comments


Sick review.

jingledeath
August 23rd 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, album is pretty good

Wizard
August 23rd 2009



19333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you’re losing faith in modern black metal, this could be one album to restore it.

You're either too elite or not looking hard enough.

This was a an excellent review. I like what I've head from these guys but their stuff is hard to come by.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

TricksterGRex
August 23rd 2009



2087 Comments


i dunno i hear there's this obscure cd store called amazon.com that might carry their stuff

Wizard
August 23rd 2009



19333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i dunno i hear there's this obscure cd store called amazon.com that might carry their stuff

Really? This is probably only within the last year or two. I heard these guys a few years back.

plutosatanclubhouse
August 23rd 2009



142 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks for the comments guys :D

You're either too elite or not looking hard enough.


This was a an excellent review. I like what I've head from these guys but their stuff is hard to come by.
maybe a little of both? :p

This is new this year so you really shouldnt have a hard time finding it in most distros or even in mainstream online stores for that matter.

BallsToTheWall
August 23rd 2009



44164 Comments


Candlelight is a well known record with plenty of resources, like the guy said, it's so easy a caveman could find B.A.N material. If not you're plain retarded.

Wizard
August 23rd 2009



19333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well I'm partially retarded but that doesn't excuse the fact that I couldn't find anything by them for a reasonable price.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
August 23rd 2009



17204 Comments


moonsorrow lite.

plutosatanclubhouse
August 23rd 2009



142 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't think this sounds anything like Moonsorrow, they sound like a folkier more modern Bathory-Blood Fire Death to me

rasputin
August 23rd 2009



14538 Comments


i have ultima thulee it's pretty good

Bleekill
August 24th 2009



832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was about to review this about a month ago when I saw no review for it. Not necessary now though, good review.

fireaboveicebelow
August 24th 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this rules



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy