Tides of Man
Empire Theory


3.5
great

Review

by James USER (2 Reviews)
August 14th, 2009 | 25 replies | 17,792 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Tides of Man, with their first full length release on Rise Records have created a record filled with driving melodies, unique drums, and "goose-bump" inducing vocals.

2 of 3 thought this review was well written

I am always very skeptical when it comes to new bands, especially bands that I've never heard of signed by Rise. Rise Records is known for usually signing somewhat generic metalcore bands, but with Tides of Man they have signed a band that has a specific style all their own. Upon first listen, there aren't many standout songs besides the incredibly charismatic "Not My Love," which is clearly the definitive track on the album. However, with each listen, the songs became more and more relevant.

The album starts off with "Knowing You Have Arrived." A primarily vocal driven song with spectacular melodies from front man Tilian Pearson. His vocals are very unique, comparisons that come to mind are Johnny Craig (formerly [L]Dance Gavin Dance[L]) and Cody Bonnette ([L]As Cities Burn[L]). This being the first track, it features the stand out aspects of Tides of Man, predominant vocals, unique guitars, and off-beat drums that not only cause the music to flow with legitimacy but that also don't overshadow the other band mate's performances.

The second track is the epic 7 minute song "Create Couldn't Keep Up." This song drags in some parts, but the fantastic harmonies from Tilian make up for it and the song climaxes with a very interesting solo that keeps you hooked. Track 3 is the title track, "Empire Theory." The song is 4 minutes long and the first minute is a soft guitar intro which takes away from the song, which is actually one of the worst on the record. this track also features some of Tilian's more aggressive, yelling vocals.

"Decent from Destiny" is the next track, and has a really fascinating acoustic guitar-like intro, with Tilian coming in around 45 seconds in. This is also one of the more boring tracks on the record, the track feels like its trying to be an epic with lyrics that all start with the same letter for each 4 or 5 lines. (ex. Ever-loathsome, the executor's edict, estranges he from himself, evermore...)

Track 4 goes directly into "Colors Speak True," starting with very heavy drums and a fairly standard guitar part, this is the only instrumental track on the album and it fits well with the other songs and helps segway into track 6 "I Saw Mercy Conquer Hate." This song is very odd, it has a melody that flows with a purpose, and the drums that play fairly standard. The guitars are the standout part of this song, and actually overshadow the vocals for once, which isn't necessarily a good thing.

The next track is "Not My Love," and as I said earlier, it is the best track on the record. This song has an incredibly moving and catchy melody. The vocals have a very "hair-stand-on-end" quality, which make the lyrics have even more meaning. The only downside is the drums don't have the stand out quality that they usually do, its just a standard tom-heavy beat throughout.

After "Not My Love," we are given "Western Scene," which has As Cities Burn like guitars and straightforward vocalization, with not much harmony. The song ends with a Between the Buried and Me riff. Track 9 is "Contents Within." It has exceptional lyrics and shows of the very extensive range of Tilian. Again, guitars and drums take second to vocals. This is one of the only tracks where the bass is even heard as a standalone instrument, otherwise it is almost unheard.

The last track is "Rescue." this song is quite interesting, starting quiet and then building. the guitar and BASS (finally) take the helm on this song until around 2:30 when Tilian starts to yell the lyrics.

Overall, this cd is a great start for a new and upcoming band.
The cons are the bass is almost never heard and this band doesn't fully utilize the 3 gutarists, because the front man is also cited as a guitarist, but there is no definitive part with 3 gutars.

Download: Not My Love


user ratings (233)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Joshua Hunt (4.5)
Do not be fooled by the label, this is not a typical Rise Records band...

James OBrien (4)
Tides of Man draws on many influences and manages to create a crossover feel that works, if not with...


Comments:Add a Comment 
jamesiscake
August 14th 2009



14 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is my first review, constructive criticism please!

scyther
August 14th 2009



1606 Comments


Your writing is very smooth, try a different format next time though.

cvlts
August 14th 2009



8917 Comments


not bad first review.

might check these guys out though the name sounds prty homosexual lol

Digging: Pedro the Lion - It's Hard To Find A Friend

Captain North
August 14th 2009



6743 Comments


The review got me interested, but on listening to the 'definitive track' Not My Love, I was pretty bored. And the vocals are fairly crappy.

shortone323
August 15th 2009



883 Comments


Review's alright. Why did these guys get signed by Rise?

jamesiscake
August 16th 2009



14 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No idea bender, I guess Rise is looking for diversity :D

byronvisiado09
October 26th 2009



32 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty good review. not necessarily agree with some parts but well writen nevertheless. I saw these guys live a couple weeks ago and WOW their bassist seriously looks like he's soloing the whole time hah its a shame they have him so in-the-background in this cd. i personally liked the way the started "decent..." in the EP better but the poetic aspects of the lyrics do it for me. Its not everyday (specially now-a-days) bands try to put some creative aspects into their lyrics. Overall i personally love the cd but it does seem a little repetitive or not as diverse in sound and i tend to skip it when i dont feel like really paying attention to everything being played.
keep the reviews coming :D

MichaelTheos
November 7th 2009



21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love this band

schwarzekatze7
November 9th 2009



41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Good review! And such a good album. For me it's like a less weird Mars Volta
But certainly the band have some music. At the drive in - Circa survive style. Very catchy and certainly better than The fall of Troy last album!

avaeyeadore33
November 18th 2009



1 Comments


Your review was well written, but I disagree with almost everything you said! I absolutely adore this album. Everything that you didn't like about it, I loved. Also, Not My Love is actually my least favorite song on the album (but that isn't really saying a whole lot, because I still think that song is fantastic.)

PinkBlackberry
January 2nd 2010



2346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really like the album and the review was well written.

but just..a random thought..does the Singer sound strikingly similar to another singer floating around right now? the reason I am being so vague is because I can't quite put my finger on excactly WHO he sounds like..but ..he sounds..so similar..if anyone has any ideas or wouldnt mind helpin' me out on this..would be much obliged!

the song that gets me the most, is 'Mercy'

xenomorphman
January 19th 2010



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really like the CD. I pretty much disagree with your review. It appears that you are reviewing a music style you do not like to begin with. It is written in a manner that seems like you are more interested in impressing the reader with your "smarts", rather than critiquing the CD as a whole. Too critical. Listen to the music as a listener, not a critic.

Freditron
January 24th 2010



23 Comments


@PinkBlackberry, it's obviously Anthony Green you're thinking of.

sspedding
January 25th 2010



4715 Comments


need to check this out some time.

smiff0009
February 10th 2010



83 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The singer sounds exactly like Scott Shepherd from The New Nervous.

JohnW
March 3rd 2010



8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is nearly my favorite band. I agree with most of your points but I say it definitely deserves more than a 3.5.
Also their singer plays guitar in live shows during the solo on Create Couldn't Keep Up. Just sayin'

PirateSquid
March 3rd 2010



1881 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They're playing here with Jonny Craig methinks on the 20th.
Not seeing them, but seeing Past Lives the next day.

I don't know why I make these posts.

Lucian
March 25th 2010



152 Comments


Knowing You Have Arrived is just the most epic song I've ever heard.

Foxhound
March 27th 2010



4570 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This ain't bad. I might do a review for it after I give it some more listens.

00mee
April 12th 2010



202 Comments


cant shake off the anthony green feeling every time i listen to this band
still good tho



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy