The Duskfall
Source


3.5
great

Review

by Magnus Altkula STAFF
August 5th, 2009 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Duskfall's second outing is very reminicent to their debut with some minor improvements.

Frailty was a decent classical melodeath album and it is easily comparable to melodeath classics like The Jester Race (by In Flames) and Slaughter Of The Soul (by At The Gates). Only a year after the release of Frailty, The Duskfall landed their second full-length Source. What Source is, is a short; little bit improved version of Frailty and that is actually saying rather much since Frailty was a great album itself.

First thing that one probably notices is the length of this album: only 8 songs in 33 minutes. That makes Source a brief, enjoyable listen. The short length of this album is actually a plus since on Frailty, some songs were more pale-faced then others and while not being bad in any way, they didn't stand out much. On Source though, there are no filler songs, every song is one of a kind and while all of them (except the last song) are very similar to each other, there never evolves a feeling of repetitiveness.

The album kicks in with the track "Case Closed" which sounds like it's straight-up from Frailty since all the characteristics have remained the same. Strong offbeat drumming; raspy, shouted vocals; great melodies and a catchy chorus are all in that song. "Striving To Have Nothing" takes a little bit more aggressive route and sounds like something At The Gates would do. Third song "The Grand Scheme" maybe this album's weakest song, but it still has enough charisma to it, and thanks to that charisma, the listener probably won't push the skip button. After "The Grand Scheme" comes the title track "Source" and as on Frailty, the title track is once again a sure standout. A somewhat deep melody controls this song and the chorus is also kind of dark.

When the first half of the album is finished, there should only be one though in the listeners mind: more. If you won't get that feeling, don't bother with this any further. Fifth song "Not A Good Sign" has some thrash riffing in the verses and is considerably thrashier then any Duskfall song before it. The chorus is very melodic once again though. Sixth song "Guidance" is this album's longest song clocking over 5 and a half minutes, but it never becomes boring, showing that The Duskfall can create a long song very well. "Lead Astray" might be this album's best song next to the title track: thrashy riffs in the verses; catchy chorus and it is a groovy, fast-paced song in general. Last song "The Destroyer" is different then any Duskfall song though since it is not melodeath anymore, that is already a thrash song in its nature. The drumming, the guitars and even the vocals (to some degree) are thrash orientated. Even the chorus isn't melodic anymore, it is pure thrash and nothing else. The song might not be the most fitting closer, but it sure is fun to listen to The Duskfall playing thrash.

There is no reason to talk about the topic of invention in this review since by the time this album was released, melodeath had been going strong for about 10 years already and since the somewhat simplistic nature of the genre, in the year 2003, there really wasn't much to invent anymore. Source is definitely not the best thing to ever come out of the melodeath genre, but it is a damn good album. It isn't very flashy and nor is it stunning, but the all-around effort the band put into this is very respectable. This album is not superb in any way, but what it is, is a plain good melodeath album.



Recent reviews by this author
Atrum Tempestas NeantEluveitie Origins
MiXE1 Starlit SkinDoom:VS Earthless
Nocturnal Breed Napalm NightsThyrien Hymns of the Mortals - Songs from the North
user ratings (16)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2009


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Frailty was like a 3.5, this is like a 3.74, because I just can't force myself into giving this a 4

Nagrarok
August 5th 2009


8301 Comments


I like this better than the previous review. Pos'd.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2009


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hahaha I guess that means this turned out pretty damn well since you also pos'd my last review :-)

Nagrarok
August 5th 2009


8301 Comments


At your last one I was a bit on the edge: Pos/not pos/pos/not pos? It lacked some depth, but this one is better.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2009


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

alright thanks man, but as I said right in the first comment of my last review, it was supposed to be a easy-and-simple-to-read kind of review

Hollow
August 5th 2009


263 Comments


And there goes another one, you however seem to describe the album like it should be more like 4.Anyways good writing again, everything is perfectly understandable.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2009


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah Hollow, look at my first comment, it is about 3.74 for me, I just can't give it a 4, doesn't just quite do it. IF there would have been one more track like "Source" or "Lead Astray" I would have given this a 4.

Zip
August 5th 2009


5312 Comments


So how'd you like Swordmaster my friend?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2009


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

tight my friend, really really tight, but needs more listens to rate it. Atm my rating could be anything from 3.5 to 4.5, so we'll see what will I rate it eventually.

You gonna give these guys a go sometime?

Zip
August 5th 2009


5312 Comments


I might try these guys out sometime in the future but atm I've been hitting up a lot of black metal and old school death. However, I'm still massively digging Lay Down Rotten.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2009


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well yeah these guys are not really like Lay Down Rotten, but imo they are very good as well in their own niche. I am doing their discography just so you know so I hope that eventually you'll give me some feedback about The Duskfall

Zip
August 5th 2009


5312 Comments


I might as well, after all you generally have pretty good taste. How many albums do they have out?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2009


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

4 lol, so not that big of a challenge to do their discography. And also, they do remind me Swordmaster a bit, albeit they haven't got THAT amazing guitarwork, although the melodies are really tight. One thing that might scare you away though is that they do remind me of IN Flames. If you mix older IF and Swordmaster then the result would be something like these guys imo. They also remind me of At The gates a lot

Zip
August 5th 2009


5312 Comments


You know, I've never actually listened to At the Gates.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2009


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ATG are pretty much one of the creators of melodeath along with Carcass (which i haven't heard) IN Flames and Dark Tranquility. ATG make melodic yet rather aggressive melodeath.

Zip
August 5th 2009


5312 Comments


Wow you have never heard Carcass... kill yourself. I guess I'll cehck them out since they still qualify as old school.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2009


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

check who out ATG are The Duskfall? Also i'd like to point out that you wishing me death all the time is not really nice dude, now is it.

Zip
August 5th 2009


5312 Comments


I guess I'll check them both out sometime today, along with Enslaved. I wish death on everyone it's nothing personal.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2009


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

of course I know it's nothing personal, after all you are my favourite douchebag in the world hahahaha. And yeah, for starters check out Frailty by these guys, it should provide a nice starting point, although I think this album is just a tad better.

Zip
August 5th 2009


5312 Comments


Well as far as Carcass goes, you need Heartwork and Necrotism right now.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy