Judas Priest
Point of Entry


2.0
poor

Review

by Matthijs van der Lee USER (219 Reviews)
July 18th, 2009 | 153 replies


Release Date: 1981 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Priest continues the mainstream approach and release their first weak album...

Because of the enormous success of 1980’s British Steel, Judas Priest were obviously not going to abandoning their current direction. In fact, the sound of their next album Point of Entry was more radio-friendly than ever. It came out a year later than its predecessor, and used its mainstream sound as a basis for the new album, while expanding it with blues-rock influences reminiscent of AC/DC, something only hinted at way back in their career; on their debut Rocka Rolla.

Point of Entry’s Judas Priest was:
- Robert John Arthur Halford ~ Vocals
- Kenneth Downing Jr. ~ Lead Guitar
- Glenn Raymond Tipton ~ Lead Guitar
- Ian Frank Hill ~ Bass Guitar
- David Holland ~ Drums

For the most part, Point of Entry gives its listener a very negative impression. Almost all songs are uninteresting, bland and very uninspired (blues-)rock. Singles Don’t Go and Hot Rockin’ are annoying tunes that could have been composed by any rock band. You Say Yes is even worse than the rest, and has such an idiotic chorus that it makes me wonder how this band ever managed to release such a masterpiece as Sad Wings of Destiny.

Luckily, there are just a few gems in the sea of mediocrity that make the album not all that awful. Opener Heading Out to the Highway is a rocking and catchy song about driving, obviously, but it works well and turns out to be the highlight of the album. Two other great songs can be found in the middle of the album: Desert Plains and Solar Angels. The former is highlighted by a very solid pulsing rhythm section, and the latter has some great soloing for a change, as the rest of the soloing on the album, which is normally the highlight in a Priest song, isn’t worth so much. Most importantly, these 3 tracks show the band having good fun making music, something unfortunately not heard on the rest of Point of Entry.

There isn’t much more to say about the 7th Priest studio album. It consists of mostly poor songs with just a few great ones among them. Their discography has so many better albums to offer, and Point of Entry is a Priest album that is supposed to be picked up only by diehard Priest fans and collectivists.

+ The good moments show that Judas Priest can still do mainstream rock just as well as heavy metal

- Overall, the album is very bland and uninspired
- Way too many poor songs
- The mainstream inspiration seems to have died out for a great part

Recommended tracks:
Heading Out to the Highway
Solar Angels
Desert Plains



Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (384)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
Mart0001 (2)
Only recommended for Judas Priest diehards....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
July 18th 2009


8256 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Short review about uninteresting album that doesn't deserve a longer one.

Xenorazr
July 18th 2009


442 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This is an easy album to dislike; it's basic, soft, has little to no staying power and almost too accessible by the band's standards. That said, it does make for a fair, relaxing listen on a late night when you feel beat (which, thanks to midnight shifts at my job, comes around rather frequently).

R6Rider
July 18th 2009


4626 Comments


3rd shift sucks

Digging: Dodheimsgard - 666 International

Nagrarok
July 18th 2009


8256 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is an easy album to dislike; it's basic, soft, has little to no staying power and almost too accessible by the band's standards. That said, it does make for a fair, relaxing listen on a late night when you feel beat (which, thanks to midnight shifts at my job, comes around rather frequently).

I'm sure it does, but then I still don't think it deserves higher than a 2, maybe a 2.5 if you're in the right mood.

KILL
July 18th 2009


71850 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

never heard this one and dont intend to, good review

Digging: A Guy Called Gerald - Black Secret Technology

KILL
July 18th 2009


71850 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

oh and please dont ruin painkillers classic reviews streak!

ConorMichaelJoseph
July 18th 2009


1870 Comments


^This, Painkiller is awesome.
Also, while this isn't a really great album, I don't think its exactly 2-worthy either. Review was to the point, therefore good. Pos'd

shindip
July 18th 2009


3536 Comments


Pretty good review. I havent heard this and I am not really planning on it.

Douchebag
July 19th 2009


3624 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Painkiller is excellent, but so over rated on this site. People seem to think 'oh painkiller!' but never explore the band's other albums. ah well.

I bought this and Stained Class yesturday together real cheap.

"Singles Don’t Go and Hot Rockin’ are annoying tunes"

I love those songs!

Nagrarok
July 20th 2009


8256 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thank ye all. You'll have to wait a while for my Screaming for Vengeance review. I'm waiting till my physical copy arrives, so I can make sure I fully explore it before deciding on a rating and writing a review.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 20th 2009


8368 Comments


great review man, i like it that you are still on the path of reviewing every Priest album.

londoncalling457
November 14th 2009


2607 Comments


I actually kind of like this album. Not my favorite Priest album by a long shot, but it has some great songs. Desert Plains is just amazing.

mark7477
August 23rd 2010


393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

On behalf of the songs heading out to the highway and desert plains point of entry isn't that bad.Yes there are some crappy songs but they could of done much worse.

BigHans
June 6th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

FROM DESERT PLAINS ILL BRING YOU LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

KILL
June 6th 2011


71850 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

hot rockin

Parallels
July 13th 2011


6641 Comments


troubleshooter makes me giggle.

TheNotrap
July 16th 2011


8108 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

After the previous classic British Steel this record somehow didn't fulfil the expectations (except Desert Plains and Heading Out to the Highway).

This is probably the worst album of their classic era (yep in my opinion is worst than Turbo)

Digging: Threshold - For The Journey

rockandmetaljunkie
September 27th 2011


3313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I think this is their worst album even though i haven't heard Turbo and Ram It Down. It's unbelievable that there is not a single memorable track. Not even one.

KILL
September 27th 2011


71850 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

hot rockin for life

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2011


50432 Comments


Album title is really gay

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy