Max Tannone
Jaydiohead: The Encore


2.0
poor

Review

by Richard Craig USER (120 Reviews)
July 17th, 2009 | 22 replies | 5,820 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Basically ‘Jaydiohead: The Encore’ is pretty much the same as the original ‘Jaydiohead’ album – only a bit shit.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

Jay-Z and Radiohead: one, an entrepreneurial/ platinum selling hip-hop artist; the other, an alternative rock band who have experimented with several genres over the course of the career yet always maintained their own identity. Apart from the fact that they have both headlined the Pyramid Stage at England’s prestigious Glastonbury festival they are seemingly worlds apart, right? Wrong. Last year Max Tannone, or Minty Fresh Beats created ‘Jaydiohead’ a mash-up album featuring Radiohead’s instrumentation with Jay-Z’s vocals layered on the top. Now, in 2009 he has released ‘Jaydiohead: The Encore’, an album following the same simple idea.

The first ‘Jaydiohead’ album divided opinion: many were able to enjoy it for what it was; though many could not. However, the simplicity of the project was undeniable; any idiot with a basic knowledge of computer technology in relation to music could have created the album, though that counts me out. Essentially, Minty Fresh Beats put in minimal effort. He simply picks one track by Radiohead, one by Jay-Z and thinks to himself: “they could work together” - sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. Unfortunately, more often than not on ‘Jaydiohead: The Encore’ this simple method does not work and is instead just irritating.

Often there is a change in pace from the originals, and this detracts from its quality. Radiohead’s ‘Reckoner’ is slightly sped up in ‘Reckoner’s Encore’ and so it loses its euphoric nature, while ‘Encore’, Jay-Z’s ‘contribution’ to the track loses its drama. There is a similar problem in ‘Air Roc’ (Airbag & Roc Boys...) Additionally there is too much continuity in Jay-Z’s vocals compared to Radiohead’s backing track and so there is a noticeable and trying clash.

The only track where Tannone seemingly does mash-up Radiohead and Jay-Z to good effect is where he mixes their tracks ‘High and Dry’ and ‘Song Cry’ respectively. This is because for the most part the music compliments the vocals. That is to say that when there is a chorus in ‘High and Dry’ the vocals from ‘Song Cry’ are removed, eliminating any awkward conflict between the two tracks. Also, the guitar solo in Radiohead’s track comes in at a suitable moment – whereas in other tracks such passages do not and they are often lost underneath the vocals.

While the first Minty Fresh Beats mash-up project divided opinion, ‘Jaydiohead: The Encore’ is probably going to do the same as one suspects it is a love-it-or-hate-it kind-of thing. On the first album Tannone, while being lazy and uncreative, was intelligent enough to allow the tracks to complement each other as marked changes in the vocal track coincided with similar changes in the backing track. However, with the exception of ‘Song and Cry’ on ‘Jaydiohead: The Encore’ he does not do this, or at least does not do this effectively. Basically ‘Jaydiohead: The Encore’ is pretty much the same as the original ‘Jaydiohead’ album – only a bit ***.



Recent reviews by this author
leer SPRINGBREAKNOPARENTSThe Lawrence Arms Metropole
You Blew It! Keep Doing What You’re DoingHammock Oblivion Hymns
Warpaint The FoolThe Gaslight Anthem Handwritten
user ratings (9)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
maxtannone
July 17th 2009



3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm all for an honest review, nor do I expect everyone to like The Encore. But....

"any idiot with a basic knowledge of computer technology in relation to music could have created the album" There is a lot more invovled than simply playing 2 songs at the same time. Hence the deluge of awful mash-up and remixes that are online...although I guess you think The Encore adds to that pile.

"On the first album Tannone, while being lazy and uncreative..." "Lazy and uncreative"? I didn't half-ass any of this, or I wouldn't put my name on it.

A lot of people are enjoying it, its too bad you couldn't be one of them.

Thanks for the review, regardless.

-Max

craigy2
July 17th 2009



551 Comments


yeah, sorry i couldn't enjoy it.
loved the first one though


WatchItExplode
July 17th 2009



3227 Comments


Sputnik review elicits strong reaction from creator...nice work, though I wouldn't dream of listening to this

sub101
July 17th 2009



5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Any idiot with a basic knowledge of computer technology in relation to word processing could have written this review. As with any great artist, critics can't appreciate a tremendous work at the time it emerges. Those who can do, those who can't, review.

You didn't make one valid point, you sir are the true idiot in this equation.

jason

craigy2
July 17th 2009



551 Comments


but with a lot of great artists you CAN appreciate a tremendous work at the time it emerges, maybe not fully, but you can still tell that it is something that will grow on you in a big way. this mini-album just doesn't do that for me.
however, as i pointed out, this, like the album preceeding, it is likely to divide opinion and therefore there are going to be people who agree with me to some extent and there will be those who disagreee.
all my review is is an opinion
and also, i never claimed that i could "do" (create music)
in fact, in the review i even said i couldn't create this type of music

sub101
July 17th 2009



5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://iamsuchatool.com/index.php?/archives/26-Tool-Fool-Review.html

craigy2
July 17th 2009



551 Comments


haha
that just made my day
thanks

CelestialDust
July 17th 2009



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

this sucks compared to the original

sub101
July 17th 2009



5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I didn't say you could make music, I just turned your ludicrous logic on you. Word processing is the lowest level of computer interaction, congratulations, you can type!

You don't list a single artist other than those who play rock (mostly bad rock) on your profile music tastes, how can you review this album if you can only appreciate one genre? Like I said, you are the idiot not minty fersh whose work I find spectacular and more well crafted than most mash-up/remix albums. You should read the Sputnik review of the first Jaydiohead album, quite different in contrast to your own uninformed dribble. Open your ears, there is so much great music out there other than rock. You are unqualified to write any music reviews.

ninjuice
July 17th 2009



6760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There is a lot more invovled than simply playing 2 songs at the same time

Definitely.

Let's see:
Air Roc and Song and Cry work surprisingly well.
Life There is lame, mainly because it uses "Party Life".
Reckoner's Encore and December Backdrifts are.....okay.


craigy2
July 17th 2009



551 Comments


"you are unqualified to write ANY music reviews"
yet you go on about how much i love rock music and nothing but it. surely i'd be qualified to write reviews of rock bands, right?
also, while the pie chart on my profile may not be as diverse as some others on this site, it still covers a fairly wide range of genres.
"rock music" is an umbrella term with many different sub-genres underneath it. saying you like "rock music" doesn't necessarily mean you have a narrow taste in music.

FairyFly
July 17th 2009



2 Comments


Craig, you obviously have no taste in music….It’s clear that Max Tannone is extremely talented and a genius when it comes to music. Like you said you couldn’t do this, so how could you have any idea how much work was put into the project? You are just one of those critics who enjoy being negative, but just know that you are wrong on this critique. Jaydiohead is an amazing piece of art, but I guess you have to have taste to see that.
ps- I agree with Sub101

CelestialDust
July 17th 2009



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

my taste in music is superior to all of yours, bitches.

MTC1
July 17th 2009



3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

This has to be the most ignorant review I have ever read, ever. Not just about this album, or any specific album. I am talking about any review for anything ever. The whole review is saturated in stupidity. The author clearly has no idea what he is writing about. He has probably not listened to the whole album, hasn't listened to the original, hasn't listened to the tracks that the albums were mashed with.

I really shouldn't even be treating this as if it were actually a legitimate review. I shouldn't even awarding this page with another hit.

The author has severely damaged the credibility of the entire site.

With reviews like this, I am reluctant to pay heed to any review on this site, from this author or otherwise.


The author owes me two minutes of my life.

sub101
July 17th 2009



5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

MTC hahaha 120 seconds gone for ever. I have put at least ten minutes into this, apparently some people (me) will do anything to avoid work because this is sure a waste of everyones...

MTC1
July 17th 2009



3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I just feel dumber from reading this. It makes me feel gross.

CelestialDust
July 17th 2009



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

guys, disagree agreeably and write your own reviews...

MTC1
July 17th 2009



3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"my taste in music is superior to all of yours, bitches."


I disagree.

CelestialDust
July 17th 2009



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

according to your profile, you have no taste in music whatsoever, so im going to have to disagree with you disagreeing with me

sub101
July 17th 2009



5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fair enough celestial Dust. I never ever actually checked this site out, that is true, I just saw the review on minty's facebook page. I have broad tastes in music which are quite diverse. I guess your opinion is very important in this forum and I am sick of wasting time on this thread. Fuck it, you can be right if it is that important to you.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy