Madder Mortem
Eight Ways


4.0
excellent

Review

by fireaboveicebelow USER (108 Reviews)
July 15th, 2009 | 22 replies | 5,938 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist


3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Madder Mortem is downright weird. They aren’t terribly complex or “avant-garde”, but they’re just weird. Starting out as a gothic doom band, they released two records, both with good reception, which allowed them to gain a larger audience while touring with Tristania and Rotting Christ. Soon enough they landed a deal with The End records to release their third record, “Deadlands”, a darker and heavier album that caught a certain Mr. Akerfeldt’s attention, giving Madder Mortem the opening slot on the Deliverance tour. Further evolving their progressive doom edge with “Desiderata” (2006) and the new release of “Eight Ways”, they effortlessly stand apart and above their contemporaries through their sheer, passionate, and eclectic arrangements.

Within the jazzy drumming and the fluidly performed, harmonized guitars, the voice of one female Agnete Kirkevaag cordially soothes your soul before shrill shrieks tear it apart with said metaphorical beastliness because Eight Ways is all about polarities. The opener Formaldehyde induces lounge sensibilities for the first minute and a half before breaking into more doomy and aggressive territory; however the drums are still stuck in their jazz patterns. This track is perfect for showing off what Agnete brings to table as well. Songs like Amour and Resolution follow a more gothic metal representation but maintain that amorphous song structure as the music goes wherever it wants, whether it be polyrhythms or catchy choruses. Madder Mortem is very good at being audacious is such ways, furthermore adding to the excitement of hearing really groovy bass lines (When Dream And Day Collide) in between the album’s heaviest tracks or the almost nu-metal stylings of A Different Kind Of Hell that combines harmonized doom leads and slow, low rhythm lines as Agnete blows out her lungs. Also noteworthy is the guitar tone, especially the clean sound. It is the epitome of lush, bringing the King Crimson influence out of nowhere straight to the table.

Eight Ways is hard to pinpoint as far as its status of enjoyment goes because its melding of unconventionalities with dynamic clichés is frankly remarkable. Think what you may, you’ve never heard something like this before. Listening to this is like being swept away to a blue-filtered meadow picking flowers only with the biggest thorns while smiling unmercifully. Madder Mortem is without doubt a black sheep in the metal scene, and that’s just how it should be because not everyone can appreciate such rare flowers.



Recent reviews by this author
Thrice Major/MinorMournful Congregation The Book of Kings
Blut Aus Nord 777 - Sect(s)Nightwish Imaginaerum
Tom Waits Bad As MeDevin Townsend Project Ghost
user ratings (27)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
fireaboveicebelow
July 15th 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

huh..this came out on my birthday and I don't own it? I must fix this

BallsToTheWall
July 15th 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Sounds like a bonerific album. Good review. Will pursure after Panopticon.

fireaboveicebelow
July 15th 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks, I'll be surprised if you don't drool over this honestly

BallsToTheWall
July 15th 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Armour is pretty good. She's a bit hefty but a nice singer.

fireaboveicebelow
July 15th 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Armour is such a single though haha

Willie
Moderator
July 15th 2009



15909 Comments


These guys sound cool. I think I'll have to investigate further.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2009



1986 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gave it a listen and thought it was pretty good.

fireaboveicebelow
July 15th 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks for checking it out

Wizard
July 15th 2009



19333 Comments


Will pursure after Panopticon.

Oh boy Balls, that is how all black metal should be done.

So fire, in a month when I get this shit in the mail, will I be going, "Fuck this amazing jizz jizz jizz", or will I be going, "This sucks ass CRY FOR ATTENTION"?

Excellent review is an excellent review is an excellent review.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

fireaboveicebelow
July 15th 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

uh..well shit I dunno, I thought you didn't like female vocals

BallsToTheWall
July 15th 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Anything is worth a spin to Wizard, he's kvlt and boats an unpredictable music taste.

fireaboveicebelow
July 15th 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is true, in that case there's a 67% you'll enjoy it immensely

Wizard
July 15th 2009



19333 Comments


Anything is worth a spin to Wizard, he's kvlt and boats an unpredictable music taste.

What other way could there be? Plus, if this is bolstered by the hottest man in metal, then I'm in hahaha.

BallsToTheWall
July 15th 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Who is this hottest man in metal? I have this now. Listening and it's.....uh interesting.

jingledeath
July 15th 2009



7104 Comments


I remember checking out a few songs from this and they were great but for some reason I didn't get the whole album. Will do so now.

Willie
Moderator
July 22nd 2009



15909 Comments


I listened to this and their previous album and so far I like their previous one more, but they're both good.

BallsToTheWall
July 22nd 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah this wore off on me very quickly. Single is still good though.

jrowa001
September 21st 2009



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

didnt know this was reviewed. i love this album. the vocals are a bit iffy at times, but this band deserves more recognition

fireaboveicebelow
September 21st 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's pretty unique

neikos
October 17th 2009



9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i am the one too, who prefers the past album...
anyway, "eight ways" is a very good release... unique...
nice review man!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy