Bandits of the Acoustic Revolution
A Call To Arms


5.0
classic

Review

by J_McMeaty USER (2 Reviews)
August 8th, 2005 | 91 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


The Bandits:
Tomas Kalnoky-guitar/vocals
Nick Afflitto-trumpet
Marcy Ciuffreda-cello
Jamie Egan-trombone
Rachel Goldstein-viola/vocals
Layton Hayes-piano
Achilles Kalnoky-violin
Paul Lowndes-drums
Chris Paszik-upright bass
Mark Rendeiro-french horn
Dan Ross-bari/alto sax
Pete Sibilia-tenor sax
Shane Thomson-congas/timbales
Natalia Ushak-vocals

1-Intro: This is a Call to Arms- This is nice intro that brings you into everything.
Rating:4/5

2-Here's to Life- This is For those of you who are Streetlight fans know this song. But for those of you who dont know, it is BOTAR song. This original is slower (yet still pretty quick), and is quite different from the SM cover. For one its about 30 seconds longers. In a few places there are string features and piano solos as opposed to horn solos/breakdowns. The SM also lacks the presence of a female voice which adds a nice touch to the BOTAR version.
Rating:5/5

3-Dear Sergio- Here is yet another familiar song for you Keasbey Nights era Catch 22 fans. This is an excellent cover. Again, slower yet still pretty quick. Although the original was really good, it was meant to have a string section.
Rating 5/5

4-It's a Wonderful Life- Starts off with a nice string/french horn ditty, then goes into a light melody with the horns and strings. This is a relatively serious song about appreciating life and war, but the instrumentation really lightens the mood/overtone of the song.
Rating:5/5

5-They Provide The Paint For The Picture-Perfect Masterpiece That You Will Paint On The Insides Of Your Eyelids- Yeah, thats really the title. Heres another song with war overtones. (Catch the pattern? "Bandits of the Acoustic Revolution", "A Call to Arms", song dealing with war.) Theres a really sweet guitar breakdown in the middle that speeds up the song, then goes back into the melody.

Overall:
This is a unqiue album. All fans of ska, jazz, classical music should really check this out, a definate must have for the music collection. Nothing bad can be said about this other than its only 5 songs. Rating: 5/5

This cd has been out of print for sometime, but here's a link for all of the songs (courtesy of Zappa): [url]http://skachilles.com/music/botar/[/url]


user ratings (302)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
TheStefan (4.5)
To Life......

Steerpike (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Brain Toad
August 9th 2005


27 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Great album. Very unique. I hope they release more material soon.

J_McMeaty
August 9th 2005


8 Comments


"Their next CD, "99 Songs of the Revolution," will never be released. Ever." Off of wikipedia.

Zappa
August 9th 2005


355 Comments


This is a great great EP, but I think the review doesn't quite explain its full glory. Also, you should have included this link:

http://skachilles.com/music/botar/

Belvedere
August 26th 2005


19 Comments


Is BOTAR better than Streetlight Manifesto? And how many minutes is this Cd in total?


SlappedByTheClash
August 27th 2005


19 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This band has surpassed all praise I can give them.


This EP is pure sex, no doubts about it.

J_McMeaty
September 5th 2005


8 Comments


17 minutes 39 seconds.

Belvedere
September 7th 2005


19 Comments


Thanks J McMeaty.

Zebra
Moderator
September 7th 2005


2647 Comments


This is an awesome ep! This is probably my 2nd favorite 3rd wave ska band.

Taxman
December 14th 2005


82 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

freakin sick stuff
i love em and streetlight
awesome live too
should have an album late spring they said at last concert

Zebra
Moderator
December 15th 2005


2647 Comments


I hope they release a full length album soon.

I agree, this band is amazing live.

Jawaharal
December 15th 2005


1832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've been listening to this alot lately. Once my last fm gets updated you will all see how much I like these guys.

Zesty Mordant
December 16th 2005


1196 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great stuff, I can't wait until an actual LP is released

ThisUserIsAPipebomb
January 16th 2006


39 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The review really, really does not do them the justice they deserve. There's no real attention paid the to the uniqueness or the absolute quality of their songs.
Amazing EP. THe day they release and EP, I will die a happy man.

halfdeadhippo
February 26th 2006


52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is an amazing EP. They're supposed to release a full-length this year as well.

DuckinFutch8
March 15th 2006


25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Amazing, Amazing EP...

I cannot wait for their full CD...

I might just die...

I agree, this deserved a bit more thorough review, it really is an amazing set of songs...

It's a Wonderful Life is my personal favorite.

jagster525
June 14th 2006


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i love this version of here's to life on this ep. too bad its not any longer.

La Revolucion
July 15th 2006


1060 Comments


This album is really, really good.

nutty_bar
July 15th 2006


194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh man I want this cd. Off of their website it says it is for free downloading, but I always get "Cannot connect to server." Do any of you guys know other links to non-p2p downloads of this album?

ThePinkPanther
December 31st 2006


9 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0


easily one of the greatest things i have ever listened to

rudy4u51
June 24th 2007


26 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Streetlight Manifesto and Bandits Of the Acoustic Revolution key for releasing new music:

Streetlight Manifesto will release a new album this summer = 4-5 years from now.

B.O.T.A.R. will release a new album shortly after streetlight does = 5-6 years from now.

All jokes aside, I can't wait to hear more. Love this band.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy