Truckfighters
Mania


3.5
great

Review

by The Green Scarf Bandit of Italy USER (17 Reviews)
June 24th, 2009 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A great effort from Truckfighters but it's sounding a bit thin without that second guitar.

Truckfighters is one of those unfortunate bands that is doomed to go through constant and destructive line-up changes, dropping members like flies. Since 2008, Truckfighters has gone through two drummers and a guitarist. Their second drummer left due to an injury and was replaced by their original member who left again very shortly after. The second guitarist Fredo abandoned ship in early 2008 and Truckfighters wall of guitar sound was greatly diminished as a result. Mania is Truckfighter's third studio album and although it is still a great effort by the band (which is now only Ozo and Dango), the lack of a second guitar is quite noticeable.

Truckfighters’ signature sound consists of a distinct blend of fuzz and hard rock that generates a wall-like guitar sound that hits hard but is oddly relaxing and laid back. Unfortunately, Truckfighters had to ditch their wall of sound, and focus the remaining guitar on creating a more atmospheric sound. No longer is Truckfighters creating music that is saturated in dual fuzz-drowned guitar sound, what they have now is a smooth hard rock sound that doesn't pack as much of a punch. However, the loss of the second guitar wasn't all bad because it resulted in a niche being opened for the bass which was mostly over-shadowed on past albums. This newfound duality has resulted in some seriously sick songs such as "The New High" which is without question the most sinister song I have ever heard from Truckfighters. The bass is immensely gritty, growling out from behind the throaty drop-tuned lead guitar. As a whole, the band's sound seems to be getting progressively more aggressive and violent in nature and it becomes visible throughout the album.

Vocally, Mania isn't anything out of the ordinary for Truckfighters, and nothing that Truckfighters' fans haven't heard before on the past two albums. Ozo does seem to be getting more aggressive in a few songs but this is counter-acted by the more laid back tracks on the album such as "Last Curfew."

Although the loss of the second guitar had a somewhat adverse effect on Truckfighters' sound, I believe that as a band they are progressing quite noticeably. Mania isn't much longer than Phi, but there are only 8 songs here and there were 10 tracks on Phi. This means that Truckfighters is creating lengthier tracks and heading for a progressive sound which is made apparent by the weird unnatural introduction to Majestic. Truckfighters seems to be shifting away from ultra-dense stoner metal, and getting closer to much more marketable progressive rock with strong psychedelic influence. This is not to say that Truckfighters is the new Mars Volta, but they seem to be more interested in generating their own sound rather than impersonating Fu Manchu's hard n heavy style.

Although I didn't find Mania to be as enjoyable as Phi, it's still a great album from the best stoner metal act around, hands down.

3.8/5



Recent reviews by this author
Geist GaleereNazxul Iconoclast
Altar of Plagues SolThe Crimson Armada Guardians
Malevolent Creation RetributionLegiones Demo
user ratings (38)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zip
June 24th 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty great album but you'll need Phi first if you want to get into this band.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2009


8387 Comments


good review. Btw shouldn't it be "although I didn't......" in the last sentence?

For some reason i really never got into this band

Zip
June 24th 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fixed

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2009


8387 Comments


btw why/how do you write so much. While I have done 2 reviews, you have done, well, 8 haha

Zip
June 24th 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Idk how I write so much, it's just one of my hobbies. When nobody is around to talk to I just write reviews. I am 4 times more productive than you!

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2009


8387 Comments


well idk when I write a review I kind of prepare for it and do it with my heart tbh, not out of boredom. I am writing a review (hopefully) this week about an unknown death/thrash band Descending. The albums just rules so much face and you are going to love it, trust me I know

Zip
June 24th 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well you are usually right about what I'd like. Except... I didn't like Sixstitch.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2009


8387 Comments


you didn't? if I may ask then why?

Zip
June 24th 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Idk, it was too weak. The guitar was very absent sounding... idk I just found it hard to crack. However, the vocals on New World Disorder are the best thing ever.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2009


8387 Comments


idk the guitar was not absent, I agree that it was not the most heavy sounding but imo it was fitting and smooth. Maybe it could have been a lil bit louder though.... OH and "The Curse" must be one of the best songs ever, seriously that song is 101% ownage

Zip
June 24th 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It could have been much louder.
Have you heard Anaal Nathrakh before? I know that you're not a big fan of black metal but that band is sheer rape.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2009


8387 Comments


I have HEARD of them but I haven't LISTENED to them tbh. And yes thats because i am not too big on black. And whats with you reviewing all black stuff lately (exept this)? Do some more thrash, death, alternative metal, industrial or nu metal reviews so I could check em out haha.

Zip
June 24th 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Idk I've just been on a black/blackened death stint lately. However, the next couple of albums I'm reviewing are groove metal, black metal, some more deathstars, some thrash and even some pop punk thrown in. September is gonna be a big month for me.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2009


8387 Comments


more deathstars, you mean their debut? If so then sweet, because I don't have their debut yet, have only heard the singles from that. Btw which groove band and which thrash band?

Zip
June 24th 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Groove is Devildriver, Thrash is Five Finger Death Punch. Btw, where's my pos bitch?

I gtg now.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2009


8387 Comments


do you really think you are pos worthy?

MassiveAttack
June 24th 2009


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good to see Truckfighters still got it. =)

ProfessorVeerappan
March 20th 2013


792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is an amazing album especially the song
Majestic it's fucking crazy and valid for everybody
that hope is fading and you will also soon
...

KILL
March 20th 2013


72077 Comments


which fuckin trucks do these posers have my pakcer would fuck em all up

Digging: Steve Hackett - Out of the Tunnel's Mouth

coneren
March 20th 2013


11111 Comments


fuckin christ have these guys seen gravedigger



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy