Lacuna Coil
Karmacode


3.5
great

Review

by kintups USER (2 Reviews)
April 29th, 2009 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Despite it's mainstream shortcomings, Lacuna Coil has found where it belongs.

The road to successful goth music has been a bumpy one, and some may say that Lacuna Coil’s Karmacode does nothing to alter the path. The music, however, ultimately speaks for itself. The ever-present synthesizers combined with Cristina Scabbia’s beautiful vocals create an exotic experience that is, quite simply, not present in mainstream radio. Cristina's vocals often soar into the complex beauties of the Indian/Arabian scale almost as if it's natural. Even the cranked up bass guitar helps further the exotic atmosphere that is so often prevalent in Lacuna Coil’s music.

When listening to Lacuna Coil's music, it puts you in a nearly mythical trance while the distant Arabian vocals cascade over the sands of Egypt. While Cristina's beautiful power behind the mike may be enough to entrance, Andrea Ferro's backing vocals provide a rude awakening. With his gruff, doom influenced singing, it brutally collides with Andrea's voice providing a beauty and the beast outcome. This approach is commonly found in gothic music, and is in no ways out of place.

The change to playing nu-metal may seem strange at first, but after a few listens, it is apparent that the formula works. Without the excessive use of synthesizers, their songs are quite simple in design. A perfect example of this would be ‘Our Truth’ which boasts intricate synthesizers throughout the entire song, as well as relatively simple drums and guitars. It is still an enjoyable listen, and the most logical choice for the first single. The chugging guitars of the album sound uninspired and weak in comparison to previous albums, but the weakness adds a distinct melody to the music. Bass guitars are easily audible (perhaps too audible) and provide the signature sound which you would expect from any given Korn album. The overly powerful bass guitars can sound motonous at times, but overall provide an angst to the otherwise blindly cheerful music. Everything that works against them also works for them.

Most of the songs on the album sound extremely similar, which is a blessing as well as a curse. It ensures that the album will flow nicely, but it also ensures that some may grow tired half way through the CD. Some also may complain that the band has chosen a sickeningly mainstream path, and old fans may be disappointed from the lack of heavy guitars. ‘To the Edge’, however, has obvious hooks as well as a catchy beat, claiming itself as a superior song. ‘What I See’ claims the heaviest riffs off of the album, and perhaps the most gothic feel, which is saying something considering the album’s unusual absence of depression. Many would label this as nu-metal, but examining the weak guitars it fundamentally plays out as radio friendly hard rock with a twist.

Pros:

Middle-eastern vocals compliment the music quite well.
The simple moody beats make up for the lack of gothic material
Excellent synthesizers
Back up vocals are used to the greatest extent
Uplifting melodies

Cons:

Music can be too simple and repetitive
Old fans may look away
Washed out guitars
Possible overuse of synthesizers

End Result:

3.5/ 5 – Great

Recommended songs:

Fragile
To the Edge
What I See
Fragments of Faith


user ratings (465)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
Starblind (1)
As if we needed another reason to say "Comalies" is a masterpiece....

Ian (2.5)
...

radianteclipse (2)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
kintups
April 29th 2009


491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I ADDED A BIT. After Waior's comment = the edited review.This Message Edited On 04.30.09

ninjuice
April 30th 2009


6760 Comments


Too short, needs a space between the two paragraphs, and how are Scabbia's vocals "middle eastern influenced"?

The first thing I'd recommend is taking the first line and developing it into a separate introduction paragraph.

MassiveAttack
April 30th 2009


2688 Comments


you should just delete that first review thing. It says (1 Review) by your username. You should expand on your description, especially about the overall atmosphere the album brings (I know you mentioned it, but be more in-depth such as the guitar sound, overall rhythm, prevailing occurrences within the album, etc.). There is tons you can talk about, your review skims through the core, but as I said earlier more in-depth analysis would be good (probably 1 paragraph extra would do it after reading what this sounds like). Not a bad first review, but you got lots of room to improve. Good luck on your journey through sputnik music reviewing.

ninjuice
April 30th 2009


6760 Comments


There's a link to edit your reviews under your profile picture.

kintups
April 30th 2009


491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for the help guys!

Waior
April 30th 2009


11454 Comments


While I'm a fan of shorter reviews, it would be great to expand just a tad, just to familiarize the reader with the album a bit. Now, for an entirely personal preference: I despise Pros and Cons. But most don't, so you can probably leave it without hail.

Solid start!

kintups
April 30th 2009


491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I expanded just a tad. Hope it's better.

Waior
April 30th 2009


11454 Comments


That's definitely improvement. Just separate your paragraphs a bit, and then you're good.

kintups
April 30th 2009


491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm good then.

Waior
April 30th 2009


11454 Comments


Then pos. Look forward to seeing more from you.

BallsToTheWall
April 30th 2009


44606 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

They took the Arabian influence right out of Nightwish and Epica's playbook, much less every other mediocre goth band. Review isn't bad but i'll stick to Draconian. I suggest you do the same.

Digging: Mare Cognitum - Phobos Monolith

zuzek
April 30th 2009


751 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I never really got into this band at all, but I'd like to say that this is a fine review to start off with. Readers who have no clue of what to expect from LC will definitely be helped by this. Like Waior, I'm not one for pros and cons as they usually try to capture the essence in a few short descriptions, which ultimately always falls short of providing a good impression of the music.

Anyway, pos for you.

Poet
April 30th 2009


5935 Comments


I hate this band.

upagainstthewall
April 30th 2009


838 Comments


Great first review! Never heard much of these guys stuff.
Mr backwards sputnik, I give you a pos.

(777th comment, ya me)
.This Message Edited On 04.30.09

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2009


20857 Comments


All the edits make it seem like this is a totally different review than the one I saw hours back. But all the edits are positive ones, so well done on listening to the advice and going from there kintups.

As for the album, it gets way too much crap because it moves so much more towards the mainstream than their older stuff. I like it. Probably a 3.5 for me as well and am looking forward to comparing it to their newie.

Comment number 2, 6-6-6 for me. There goes 'The Number of the Beast' getting stuck in my head again!


This Message Edited On 04.30.09

upagainstthewall
April 30th 2009


838 Comments


This seems to happen a lot for you Davey. I think you should stay away from the triple 6 threat.

jingledeath
April 30th 2009


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

finally someone agrees with me!

kintups
April 30th 2009


491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ BallsToTheWall: Draconian is still awesome. One of my favorites.
@ everyoneelse: Thanks all! Still, more comments would be nice.This Message Edited On 04.30.09

MassiveAttack
May 1st 2009


2688 Comments


btw this was a fantastic rework, look to see more sir. pos.

kintups
May 6th 2009


491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just did another review the other day. More to come soon?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy