God Dethroned
Passiondale


4.0
excellent

Review

by Zippermouth USER (21 Reviews)
April 26th, 2009 | 54 replies | 8,086 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: THE SNIPER NEVER SLEEPS

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

War. It’s a common theme for metal these days. A lethal concoction of drop a guitars and jackhammer drums complimented to gruesome lyrics revolving around hopeless conditions, shattered morale and brutal warfare. Unfortunately, the delivery of these sorts of albums is rather ruined by the fact that the true story of the lyrics can't be discerned through the heavily distorted vocals. Bands such as Hail of Bullets and Arch Enemy have fallen into this trap before. God Dethroned, however, brings you the full spectrum of dark and dank emotion with their new release, Passiondale.

"Life Expectancy, there is none!"

From start to finish, Passiondale delivers every dark, gritty and bloody war torn scenario to your ears with throat-shredding but disturbingly comprehensible growls. You would be surprised how much this adds to the music. What normally would have been a mundane album full of blistering riffs and pounding drums is an album animated by memorable vocal lines and skillful song-writing.

“Die, no hope no glory!”
“Die, no victory!”

In my opinion, one of the greatest parts of “war metal” is the sheer heaviness. Almost every second of Passiondale is home to an endless supply of good, heavy riffage. About enough heavy to sheer the skin off of your bones and render your ears completely useless. Ever so often, Passiondale is graced with a shrieking, squealing solo that burns up notes faster than a bat out of hell. The drumming is nothing more than the standard mash of indistinguishable double bass blitzkrieg and violent snare hits, but with the rampage in your ears, you won’t notice.

“Carnival of death!”

Although musically solid, Passiondale’s shining strength is in the lyrics. The true focus of Passiondale is a body-strewn, gas infested battlefield of 1917, in the burning heart of WWI. The lyrics focus heavily on the darkest aspects of the war, “poison fog” being a tribute to the sickening use of mustard gas to eradicate entrenched soldiers. The song portrays the excruciating tale of a god-forsaken soldier whose lungs are filling with the crippling gas, and he can no longer breathe. The rest of the lyrics often delve into the actual warfare itself, describing horrendous battle scenes littered with corpses and soaked in blood. “No Survivors,” is perhaps the greatest and saddest example of this lyricism. Fortunately for the listener, the lyrics avoid straying into truly gruesome details. True, some of the content is rather graphic, but nothing even comes close to the grisly lyrics and carcass-like gore references of other “war metal” bands, particularly Hail of Bullets. Thus, Passiondale makes a powerful point without scaring off potential listeners.

This is quite easily, the best heavy stuff I’ve heard all year, and it sure as hell beats Chimaira as far as “pure ***ing metal” goes.

4/5



Recent reviews by this author
Gwynbleidd NostalgiaZao Awake?
Allen / Lande The BattleChimaira The Infection
Then Falls Caesar The Dawn- EPTruckfighters Phi
user ratings (67)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Darion Paone (4.5)
Passiondale is one of those albums that makes you feel like you're in the middle of the theme. The t...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Zippermouth
April 26th 2009



1305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://www.metalsucks.net/2009/04/24/exclusive-full-album-stream-of-god-dethroneds-passiondale/

There's the stream, enjoy. Personal 4.5.

Phantom
April 26th 2009



8930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is quite easily, the best heavy stuff I’ve heard all year, and it sure as hell beats Chimaira as far as “pure ***ing metal” goes.

Lol. And it really isn't that hard to beat Chimaira's latest...

Zippermouth
April 26th 2009



1305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And it really isn't that hard to beat Chimaira's latest...

no kidding.


Anthracks
April 26th 2009



3668 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

album is ok

Zippermouth
April 26th 2009



1305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nah, album is awesome.

KYZAR
April 26th 2009



513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sounds good, and yea chimiera's infection isnt BAD it just isnt that great i think

EDIT* this is sick and YEA zipper you and me are the only 15 year old metalheads on this site!


itchyandscratchy
April 26th 2009



314 Comments


their old stuff is better though

itchyandscratchy
April 26th 2009



314 Comments


both chimaira's & god forbid's

jingledeath
April 26th 2009



7104 Comments


i'm going to stay away from god dethroned, god forbid and chimaira for now

jrowa001
April 26th 2009



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is awesome. they always deliver in the riff department. the vocals are an improvement from The Toxic Touch. not as good as there three albums before TTT but great nonetheless

Zippermouth
April 26th 2009



1305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'm going to stay away from god dethroned, god forbid and chimaira for now


Your loss. Who is God Forbid?
This Message Edited On 04.26.09

jingledeath
April 26th 2009



7104 Comments


I'll maybe get this later and God Forbid is a metalcore band.

Wizard
April 26th 2009



19210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The review feels like you wrote this while giving the album it's first spin. I don't know, I would probably beef this up a bit.

Album is pretty average after a few spins. It has a monster sound but nothing that has been duplicated a million times.This Message Edited On 04.26.09

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

itchyandscratchy
April 26th 2009



314 Comments


ya wth idk why i was talking about god forbid :[

hungover manggg

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2009



8318 Comments


cheers Kane, I've had a major hungover for about 6-7 hours now and it's still going strong haha. Friends birthday - great party which crown was when one of my friends, while being in some kind of a sleep transe, stood up , took out his dick and peed all over a motherfucking pillow and then went quietly back to sleep. Once-in-a-lifetime experience haha. Still having major, major lulz from that.

Anyway, this review is fine Zipper, but I think that The Wiz is right, maybe beef this up a bit. I don't really want to hear any war metal now, but when i'll have the urge to, then I will remember this stuff.

Zippermouth
April 26th 2009



1305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Alright, I'll listen again and add some things, just for you, ya fuckin drunks.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2009



8318 Comments


why thank you! God I feel so wasted right now and I have a lot to study for monday. I think I'm going to fail the tests on monday, too tired to study anything right now.

taylormemer
April 26th 2009



4913 Comments


A bit more dignity could have been applied to the fact that this is in reference to the Third Battle of Ypres and not just some gloat about heavy riffage and pounding drums. Surely there's something in this to evoke the feelings and experiences other than those. Hopefully the song titles are reflected in some way by the creativity.

Also, I never remember Arch Enemy ever doing anything in referal to war, as much as this does.

I'm personally interested but if the band can't find more representative lyrics then those you mentioned then I'll probably be tasting mindless lemons by then end of it.This Message Edited On 04.26.09

Zippermouth
April 26th 2009



1305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I had a feeling that this was World War I.

Rise of the Tyrant had a lot of war reference.

The lyrics I chose aren't representative, just phrases that caught my attention, I am 15 after all.

taylormemer
April 26th 2009



4913 Comments


Rise of the Tyrant had a lot of war reference.

Where, exactly?
I am 15 after all.

I see.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy