Trigger the Bloodshed
The Great Depression


3.0
good

Review

by Mike Stagno EMERITUS
April 19th, 2009 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Great Depression is a good album, but it's lacking in important areas.

The Great Depression isn't a very inspiring name. The reference is obvious, exaggerated, and not quite as insightful as some will probably make it out to be, but hey, that's metal for you. Similarly, critics and fans alike will exaggerate when they hail the latest release from Britain's Trigger the Bloodshed as an exercise in technical and brutal death metal unparalleled in today's scene, but hey, that's the metal press for you. Though there may be some truth to the hype behind the band, as The Great Depression has its moments, at the same time, the record is lacking in certain areas of importance, which puts a real damper on the record.

Trigger the Bloodshed's tech-y brand of death metal is hardly an original addition to a stagnating genre, but it's an entertaining one none the less. Guitarists Rob Purnell and Martyn Evans' mile a minute riffs may be standard death metal fare, but on occasion the duo exhibit flashes of brilliance here and there, most notably in "The Scourging Impurity". Fortunately, Purnell and Evans generally spare us of listless, sterile guitar solos; rather, they instead opt to express their skill through relatively technical riff patterns, a stylistic decision made especially effective in "Warbound". Brief blasts of melody in the title track and "Sanctuary of the Wicked" keep the album from sounding too mechanical; such a divergence is subtle, yet still accentuates the main riffing rather well, making for two of themore interesting moments on The Great Depression.

What holds The Great Depression back is essentially exactly what holds back every other album exactly like it. Not only does it possess filler tracks such as the minute long "I", which serves no purpose other than to eat up time on a thirty-four minute record, and "Terminus", which suffers from the same technical overindulgences of a Neuraxis or Martyr, but it also lacks a certain flair that would make Trigger the Bloodshed standout among their peers. Once you get beyond the fact that Trigger the Bloodshed's sound is as heavy and fast as any in the genre, the lack of depth begins to show. Drummer Max Blunos' overreliance on blast beats makes him a virtual non-entity on The Great Depression. When he forgoes blast beats in the first minute of "The Infliction of Tophet", he showcases some of his potential; though it certainly isn't brilliant, it makes for a much more interesting piece.

The Great Depression may end up being one of the better albums in its respective scene this year, but it's lacking in important areas. The album is extremely predictable from start to finish, as nearly every song attempts to capture the exact same levels of intensity. The record has little to offer from a technical standpoint, and is mostly built on the strengths of the band's guitarists who, luckily, do a decent job of engaging the listener. Still, The Great Depression shows flashes of excellence from time to time and a little more diversity would do the band wonders. Every member of Trigger the Bloodshed is skilled at what they do, that much is certain. This talent just needs to be better reflected in the group's song writing.



Recent reviews by this author
Funeral for a Friend ConduitPropagandhi Failed States
Tycho DiveMegadeth Th1rt3en
Fair to Midland Arrows and AnchorsArch Enemy Khaos Legions
user ratings (34)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mikesn
Emeritus
April 19th 2009


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this started as a 3.5, but i'm liking it less and less every time i listen to it :/

Wizard
April 19th 2009


19641 Comments


Great to see you reviewing some metal again Mike. Would I like this considering I don't particularly enjoy about 90% of the tech-death metal today?

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

foreverendeared
April 19th 2009


14678 Comments


no i don't think you'd like this at all wiz. I haven't heard this new album yet but i have Purgation and still listen to it from time to time. oh, and good review!This Message Edited On 04.19.09

Phantom
April 19th 2009


8930 Comments


Nice review. What annoyed me about their first album was the lack of diversity between the tracks and the fact that there were just too many tracks. It doesn't sound like the band have done much towards remedying this. Will still look into it...eventually.

OllieS
April 19th 2009


2037 Comments


Nice review, would like to have known something about the vocals though.

jrowa001
April 19th 2009


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i really liked this and much better then their previous album. rating might drop after more listens though

alytee123
April 19th 2009


23 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

An improvement from their first album, but very samey, particularly the drumming. I'm enjoying it at the moment, though as jrowa001 said my rating might drop after a few more listens.

Altmer
April 20th 2009


5652 Comments


tech death also known as the genre where wank reigns supreme

Infernis
April 20th 2009


398 Comments


It's an okay album, I couldn't give an adequate rating...Maybe a 3. The drumming is pretty insane, but I think his ability to transpose speed into more of a grove feel kind of got lost in the mix. In a studio video, he said it had a lot more groove parts...and I guess at times it's there, but the guitars drown out the dynamics (when they do actually occur.)

Better than the first, just a little stale...came across these guys on accident too with a Facebook ad or something.

iamthenightmare
April 20th 2009


754 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

should throw in maybe a short section on the vocals. Considering thats the only lineup change from their previous effort, and a major fault of the first record it would be nice to know if the new vocalist is better/worse/same as the old. And although this is tech death, it is much more similar to standard death played at insane tempos rather than the usual tech death fare. But w/e decent reviewThis Message Edited On 04.20.09

Mikesn
Emeritus
April 20th 2009


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's an okay album, I couldn't give an adequate rating...Maybe a 3. The drumming is pretty insane, but I think his ability to transpose speed into more of a grove feel kind of got lost in the mix. In a studio video, he said it had a lot more groove parts...and I guess at times it's there, but the guitars drown out the dynamics (when they do actually occur.)
Yeah exactly. I'm sure he's capable of wonderful, wonderful things, but he's a bit of a non-entity here.

boristhebladexx
April 21st 2009


61 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this cd is really fast

boristhebladexx
April 21st 2009


61 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

and the drums are really quiet

Pebster49
April 21st 2009


2993 Comments


This sounds pretty good, its an upgrade from their last.

Wizard
April 21st 2009


19641 Comments


no i don't think you'd like this at all wiz. I haven't heard this new album yet but i have Purgation and still listen to it from time to time. oh, and good review!

Oh thanks for giving me the heads up on this being garbage hahaha.

would like to have known something about the vocals though.
should throw in maybe a short section on the vocals.

This is like asking the reviewer to tell you how much fuzz is on the guitarists distortion. I have a pretty damn good idea what this vocalist is going to sound like. Plus, it's redundant to talk about a vocalist in metal unless he does something extraordinary. Mike, just add in a line about him going, "RAHHHHHHHHHRGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH".



This Message Edited On 04.21.09

Anthracks
April 22nd 2009


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

you cant distinguish between vocalists in metal? lol

Digging: The Decemberists - What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World

iamthenightmare
April 22nd 2009


754 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is like asking the reviewer to tell you how much fuzz is on the guitarists distortion.
Not at fucking all. all i wanted to know is does the vocalist follow in the same direction as the old or does he switch it up slightly. That's why i called for a SHORT section on the vocals. Even a sentence would be adequate. And seeing as its the ONLY FUCKING LINE-UP CHANGE i don't see how it's irrelevant to the album, or how it can be implied to someone who hasn't heard the cd yet.

Mikesn
Emeritus
April 22nd 2009


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've only heard a few songs off Purgation, but the vocals aren't really that different. He doesn't do the higher screaming, mostly just sticks with lower ranged growling. He's a better vocalist though.

Phantom
April 22nd 2009


8930 Comments


They got a new bassist too, so not the only lineup change.

RagingNoob
April 23rd 2009


134 Comments


Great review. I heard one track off their last album and was almost physically sick. Then I heard a song from this one, and was almost pleasantly surprised enough to buy the album. The vocals and lyrics have improved out of sight, even if they're nonetheless nothing to get excited about.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy