Chimaira
The Infection


3.0
good

Review

by Zippermouth USER (21 Reviews)
April 17th, 2009 | 188 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A passable attempt at metalcore that unfortunately fails to resurrect a genre that is long since dead.

During my time exploring the internet, I subject myself to all different kinds of music, and thus I am no stranger to metalcore, one of the unfortunate accidents of music. More specifically, I am no stranger to this kind of formulaic, and dare I say it... stagnant mediocrity. Before you get the wrong impression, I actually do enjoy this album and the genre is one of my favorites, but in the past I have failed to find a single melo-death band that really sets itself apart from the growing crowd, Chimaira being no exception, just slightly more competent.

Musically, Chimaira is like any kind of metalcore you've ever heard, gritty, palm muted guitars infused with violent melodic stabs and bends with a backdrop of stormy drums and chaotic atmoshperes. Mark Hunter, is no exception to the metalcore stereotypes either, feauturing a rather bland scream and an unrealistic sounding growl. For the most part, the music is comprised of these pitifully overused elements, but there are still several moments of glory that salvage this album and actually make it worth listening to.

"The Venom Inside" is probably the greatest album-opener I've heard in wuite a while, feauturing a stunning melody/intro that could make any melodic death metal band jealous. Unfortunately the next four tracks are rather bland until you hit "Impending Doom" which is quite possibly the best track on the album. "Impending Doom" sports a dark and dank atmoshpere that reeks of post-apocalypse. The song itself is littered with gloomy sounding guitars and raspy whispers and an excellently conceived chorus. Although nothing else on the album even comes close to "Impending Doom," "Broken Glass" and "Destroy and Dominate" are worthy metalcore tracks.

Altogether, "The Infection" is a rather forgettable album, but I would say that its definitely worth a listen or two.

Three bitter remnants of the virus-induced apocalypse out of five.

Recommended Tracks-
"The Venom Inside"
"Impending Doom"
"Broken Glass"



Recent reviews by this author
Gwynbleidd NostalgiaZao Awake?
God Dethroned PassiondaleAllen / Lande The Battle
Then Falls Caesar The Dawn- EPTruckfighters Phi
user ratings (319)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
Jeremy Bentham (4)
Chimaira infuse elements from their previous releases with some new twists and turns on their 5th st...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Zippermouth
April 17th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Didn't feel like writing a long review, here is the stream-
http://www.myspace.com/chimaira
it might be gone tomorrow, I have no idea, so listen to it while you can.
Balls is gonna write a better review later but hopefully this'll tide you guys over.

fireaboveicebelow
April 17th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

aww only a 3?

Zippermouth
April 17th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah, not feeling it too much. Impending Doom was 5/5 though.

fireaboveicebelow
April 17th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

so it's still worth hearing I suppose

this is a fairly good review for you btw, nice and short

Zippermouth
April 17th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thanks, I sorta had my doubts about the length, and yeah its worth hearing.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
April 17th 2009


7338 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Decent review but the album bored me to death. Tbh I can't remember any memorable moments worth mentioning.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2009


17213 Comments


I hate this band. btw metalcore is still alive and kicking.

Digging: Inigo Kennedy - Vaudeville

Willie
Moderator
April 17th 2009


15977 Comments


Nice review. It seemed a little abrupt, but since most people reading it will already be familiar with the genre/band, it doesn't really matter. Pos'd.

Digging: Necropoli - I

Zippermouth
April 17th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah but the innovation and all the things that made Metalcore a genre are stagnant and decaying. Maybe the bands are alive and kicking but the genre is dead.

Alright, Its kinda late here, don't eat me alive while I'm asleep.
Thanks Willie
This Message Edited On 04.17.09

marksellsuswallets
April 17th 2009


4848 Comments


Maybe the bands are alive and kicking but the genre is dead.

Come again?

fireaboveicebelow
April 17th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

well Rob Arnold was right when he said these songs have a different feel, but forgot to mention the song arrangements haven't changed

gaslightanthem
April 17th 2009


5209 Comments


ya i heard this was there weakest effort yet

Zippermouth
April 17th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Come again?

Evidently my logic is lost on you. In my opinion, when a genre reaches a standstill and is a. no longer producing decent music and b. wallowing in mediocrity the genre becomes dead.
ya i heard this was there weakest effort yet

I wouldn't know, never heard of em before now.


marksellsuswallets
April 17th 2009


4848 Comments


Well you said that bands may be still alive and kicking which is a direct contradiction to the no longer producing decent music/wallowing in mediocrity statement.

Zippermouth
April 17th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

just because you're alive doesn't mean you're doing anything useful, example a: Gaslightanthem.

gaslightanthem
April 17th 2009


5209 Comments


you've never heard chimaira before? you'd love some of their older stuff

Zippermouth
April 17th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

doubt it, but whatever. I prefer to stick with melo-death, metalcore seems too half-assed.This Message Edited On 04.17.09

gaslightanthem
April 17th 2009


5209 Comments


no you would their old stuff is awesome and isn't metalcore

besides melo-death is just as overdone as metalcore these days

Zippermouth
April 17th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

alright fine I'll give em a listen or two,

Yeah, but Arch Enemy totally kicks ass.

ninjuice
April 17th 2009


6760 Comments


besides melo-death is just as overdone as metalcore these days

eh, I dunno about that. Nothing's as overdone as metalcore really.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy