Then Falls Caesar
The Dawn- EP


1.0
awful

Review

by Zippermouth USER (21 Reviews)
April 12th, 2009 | 65 replies | 5,200 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Then falls caesar is what happens when a barely passable post hardcore band gets infused with an unhealthy injection of Waking the Cadaver-esque death metal. JUN JUN JUN JUN JUN JUN JUN SQUEAL! BREEEEEEEEEEE!

After listening to The Dawn several (painful) times, I came to the conclusion that it only has one redeeming quality; the face that it is only about 10 minutes. I doubt that I could handle much more of this. This is without a question, one of the worst bands in recent history.

In recent years the music scene has been infested by hordes of bands falling under the label of "post-hardcore" and "metalcore," and since 2000 there has been a disturbing increase in the amount of deathcore bands like the infamous Bring Me the Horizon. Even worse, is the ever-expanding genre of Br00tal death metal. It seems that despite the utterly apparent failures of these hordes of bands to make music, the mass media still eats it up. Instead of picking one awful genre and expanding on it, Then Falls Caesar dabbles in our four worlds of misery, and fails at every single one of them.

The vocals of "Billy" are by the far the poorest aspect of this epic failure. More that once, the ghastly pair employs the forsaken art of inhale screaming. The Dawn is home to several filthy sounding pig squeals and ugly gutturals that only drag down the already tainted music. His normal scream isn't altogether terrible, but it fails to separate itself from the thousands of metalcore voices that sound completely the same. In other words, when Then Falls Caesar isn't emulating Waking the Cadaver, they're emulating something that falls somewhere close to Bring Me the Horizon, which as we all know, is not a good thing. Unfortunately, the vocals are a triple-threat. Billy also sings. Although not nearly as unpleasant as the painfully frequent braying, Billy's singing voice is weak and unemotional and severely lacks in any sort of depth, making the mostly clean sung "Blueprints" a complete waste of time.

As somewhat mentioned in the summary, the guitars are drums are comprised of bland and formulaic arrangements that vary depending on what the vocalists are doing. While Billy is just singing, the guitars are playing simple power chord lines while the drums tap out an uninspiring and ultimately forgettable beat. During the chaotic growled sections the guitars unleash a frenzy of palm muted chug riffs littered with "squealies" while Jordan employs a weak breakdown. Throughout the ten (long) minutes of The Dawn, there are no musical moments worth remembering, let alone repeating.

The band's MySpace claims that a man named "Steve" plays bass, however I have yet to see any sort of proof that a bass line actually exists somewhere in this EP.

Recommended Tracks-
...

1 dying pig out of 5



Recent reviews by this author
Gwynbleidd NostalgiaZao Awake?
God Dethroned PassiondaleAllen / Lande The Battle
Chimaira The InfectionTruckfighters Phi
user ratings (17)
Chart.
2.1
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zippermouth
April 12th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Band was recommended to me by a friend. It seriously is horrible, please listen while you read my review- http://www.myspace.com/thenfallscaesarnjThis Message Edited On 04.12.09

tombits
April 12th 2009


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah this band is pretty pathetic. You can actually tell through the recordings that they struggle to keep in time, even in a studio environment.

I just got to the breakdown, bahaha.

Zippermouth
April 12th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I know, epic fail.

tombits
April 12th 2009


3470 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I listened to all three tracks just so I could rate it.

Zippermouth
April 12th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

lol

YouAreMySilence
April 12th 2009


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ummm that wasn't bad infact Goliath was pretty good.
Obviously they should ditch the growls and their attempt to be "hardcore" but the clean vocals show talent.

I don't see the Waking the Cadaver comparisons and isn't. of course, very good but I see potential.This Message Edited On 04.12.09

Zippermouth
April 12th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

They aren't really much like WtC but I was comparing the pig squealing crap.

Acre
April 12th 2009


847 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Man, these guys are REALLY sloppy. I just listened to Goliath, and it's very obvious very quickly that this EP was recorded in as few takes as possible, in every aspect.

Holy shit, that breakdown is so fucking disjointed and pitiful.

Zippermouth
April 12th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Plz rate, keep the hate going.

Acre
April 12th 2009


847 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I only got halfway through song #2, so I probably won't rate this EP. For all I know, the last song could be awesome...

...Fuck it, no it isn't. 1.5/5This Message Edited On 04.12.09

Zippermouth
April 12th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

the last song could be awesome...

did you seriously believe that that could be true?


Lunarfall
April 12th 2009


3179 Comments


first half of goliath was pretty decent actually, albeit a little out of time





and then it switched to that awful breakdown that killed the mood of the song

EDIT: finished, it really wasnt as bad as you made it out to be. still would never listen to it again though.This Message Edited On 04.12.09

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2009


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

very good review Zipper, pos. The second paragraph is so true.

Btw sorry if I was a jerk the other week, my girlfriend and I broke up (again and for good) and I lashed out at practically everyone, including my own friends and yes, you

Zippermouth
April 12th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I can't ever remember you lashing out at me in an offensive way, but I accept your apology. Thanks for the pos.

Sorry about that, heartbreak happens to everyone.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2009


17920 Comments


junjunjun

Waior
April 12th 2009


11451 Comments


brreeeeee

this is so deliciously terrible.

fortyfortyfive
April 12th 2009


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nobody on this entire thread has any idea of what they are talking about. These people have very little variety in musical tastes, and therefore cannot be expected to enjoy a demo from new-age hardcore rock band. Additionally, from how people are formulating reasons on ways to hate Then Falls Caesar, it is quite obvious that nobody who has posted so far has any musical experience or knowledge for that matter.
Zippermouth's argument initializes with his hate for the entire "post-hardcore" genre. Therefore, he is incredibly biased in hating a band that he feels falls under the category. From the start of this thread, the hatred is fueled by ignorance, bias, and complete lack of musical knowledge.
Zippermouth's bashing of the vocals is false in many aspects. If the bands vocalist, as Zippermouth states, "fails to separate itself from the thousands of metalcore voices that sound completely the same", why is there no evidence of the use of AutoTune on this entire demo? A very prominent amount of singers in this general genre use AutoTune to make their singing voices hit notes that they otherwise cannot hit, and there is no evidence of tainted vocal tracks. Therefore, the singing is strong and pure. His voice is extremely unique, but that being purely my own opinion, I will not use that as an argument against your factually incorrect assumptions.

fortyfortyfive
April 12th 2009


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The first comment says that the band struggles with timing. I have now listened to the demo a number of times through, and nowhere throughout any part of any song is there an off-time drum beat. There are parts in songs where there may be TEMPO CHANGES, which to you narrow-minded fools might sound too complex for you to possible enjoy.
Zippermouth's comment "Plz rate, keep the hate going."
Does this person have something against this band? Or genre of music? Well, probably not this genre of music, since their listening preferences include Metal, Power Metal, Death Metal, Black Metal, Metalcore, and Hard Rock. Metal is fine, but there is no variety, no open-mindedness, what a lack of musicality.
Zippermouth must be a horrible person fueled to live only by his or her hate for bands who don't dress all-black in chains with medieval torture masks. "Keep the hate going". Is this person serious? Zippermouth loves to hate. What a repulsive person this must be.
The last two supporting comments are pretty funny though.
"junjunjun"
This person obviously hates the entire genre of metal and hardcore since they make a parody of the open palm-muted chugs in general. This comment does not support any valid argument, but serves to just fuel Zippermouth's hate for bands who do not keep to his certain guideline of standards and approval.
And the last one, "breeeee... this is so deliciously terrible".
There are about two lines of brees on the entire demo. If you're going to hate a band, try to find a valid reason.

WalterKovacs
April 12th 2009


2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wow! Let me start by saying I happened across this thread today while googling the band, and I have to say I am not pleased at all by the hefty negative feedback here.

You’re all entitled to your own opinions, but what is with the hate on this band? It is clear by their myspace that they are a young band, I imagine in college or perhaps late high school. There is no reason to slam what appears may well be their first foray into recording.

Despite the highly (and I mean highly) biased review by the main writer on this thread, I don’t find The Dawn to be a particularly bad album. I am going to try to stray away from ad hominem arguments here but two things need to be said:

“Zippermouth” has an awful lot to say this “generic” band when his favorite genres run a diverse gamut from “power metal” to “black metal” to “power metal” and most intriguingly, “metal”. He is clearly running from the start on a rant on post-hardcore as a whole rather than the band. It appears ultimately that he is using this young band as a vehicle for his distaste as a genre on the whole which is unfair at best and immature at worst.

To say this demo is an “epic failure” is absurd. The band, if anything seems to have potential as a young group. I’m sorry but these comments are utter nonsense. The demo is not as terrible as this unfair reviewer would have you believe and I urge anyone who listens to do so with an open mind.



Zippermouth
April 13th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Zippermouth must be a horrible person fueled to live only by his or her hate

yes.
dress all-black in chains with medieval torture masks

wtf, but nah. Darkest thing I got is a Faceless t-shirt.
Zippermouth loves to hate

you speak the truth my friend.
try to find a valid reason.

How about that fact that they suck?
Look, your comment is way too long, not to mention you can just insult me directly I'll read this later. Your reaction is a bit over the top, lol torture masks.

Since your both new, welcome to Sputnik, hate is what we do. Get over it.
This Message Edited On 04.12.09



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy