Lunik
Lonely Letters


3.0
good

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
March 31st, 2009 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The second era of Lunik is ushered in with a solid acoustic pop album.

Anyone who regularly follows this band had to have seen this coming. Lunik started out playing trip-hop, but with each new release they began integrating more pop influences into their sound, pushing the electronic elements further into the background. By their last album, Preparing to Leave, they were basically on life support. The band’s path towards a purely organic pop sound was clear and deliberate and this album is the result. All remaining traces of their trip-hop roots have been wiped clean and the band seem ready for a fresh beginning. Possibly as a way of transitioning their fans away from their old sound, this “new album” is actually a collection of songs from the band’s previous two releases but re-recorded as pure pop songs.

The decision to make their first real pop album a collection of songs that fans already know and love is somewhat of a double-edged sword. On one hand it does work to ease into the band’s new sound since these are all songs most fans will be intimately familiar with. On the other hand, despite the quality presented here, it’s occasionally difficult to not miss the electronic elements present on the originals. The thing that holds this album together is the professionalism and quality compositional skills that the band has always exhibited. These songs aren’t simply recreations sans electronics; they’re completely re-imagined utilizing organic percussion, acoustic and electric guitars as well as violins and pianos.

Whether they’re conveying the sensuality of “Prisoner” or the upbeat fun of “Little Bit”, the new instruments do a fine job of delivering the same experience as the originals. Whereas the original “Prisoner” was layered with electronics and a slow trip-hop beat, this new version replaces the electronics with a finely-crafted acoustic guitar melody over subtle percussion and a bluesy guitar lead. It’s these types of additions that allow the band to get away with not including any new songs on this release. Of course, the main thing this band has going for them is the beautiful and delicate vocals of Jaël. Lunik’s songs have always been carried by her voice, and that hasn’t changed here. As long as she doesn’t go solo this band will have a bright future.

I was dreading this album because it was obviously going to be the start of a new era for the band. Thankfully, the transition was made much easier due to the entire effort having a sense of familiarity. It not only made the album much easier to accept, but it also proved that they could successfully pull off acoustic pop without electronics. Between the beautiful vocals of Jaël and the careful thought that was put in to the revamped music, this album is a welcome addition to the Lunik discography and I can’t wait to see where they go from here.



Recent reviews by this author
Cannibal Corpse A Skeletal DomainRabbit Junk Pop That Pretty Thirty
Anathema Distant SatellitesFlotsam and Jetsam No Place for Disgrace - 2014
Mindcage Our Own DevicesFates Warning Darkness in a Different Light
user ratings (2)
Chart.
2.5
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
March 31st 2009


15970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

After the lengthy Queensryche review I wanted to throttle back a little. I figured that since Lunik's other 5 albums have a grand-total of six comments that this would be a good album to take it easy on... thanks to Cocaine for the suggestions.

Digging: Necropoli - I

ninjuice
March 31st 2009


6760 Comments


I will comment out of pity haha

I remember you comparing this band to Sarah Fimm.....which definitely has me interested.

Willie
Moderator
March 31st 2009


15970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ha ha, thanks. I'm not too worried about pity. I've written the reviews for every one of their albums here, so I obviously know that posting them will be a lonely endevour ;)

My suggestion to you and anyone else who reads this (ok, so you) is to check out "Weather". That's their peak (IMO) and is where the Sarah Fimm references come from.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2009


17213 Comments


with this, the queensryche review, and that behemoth of a feature you sir are on a roll.

Digging: Inigo Kennedy - Vaudeville

Willie
Moderator
April 1st 2009


15970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, I know. This was a busy week. I still have a Lene Marlin review (god, I love her) that will be up by the end of the week and I'm about to start Volume 2 of the Free Music feature.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2009


17920 Comments


what the fuck is this

Skyler
April 1st 2009


1084 Comments


Heard her sing in a couple Delerium songs. Have yet to check out her work with Lunik. Don't think I ever will.This Message Edited On 03.31.09

Willie
Moderator
April 1st 2009


15970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Why? Do you not like her voice on those two Delerium songs?

Skyler
April 1st 2009


1084 Comments


Yeah, she has a really nice voice. I guess I'm just not interested enough.

Willie
Moderator
April 1st 2009


15970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It took me a few years after the first time I heard her. Actually, there's a Delerium site that lists all of their albums and the names of any guest vocalists that appeared on a particular song. One day I just went through and checked out every vocalist who had ever done a Delerium song that I had enjoyed. That's how I found Kirsty Hawkshaw too.

Jom
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2009


2675 Comments


You're a machine, Fister.

Willie
Moderator
April 1st 2009


15970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ha ha. Busy week for releases I wanted to review (and that whole interview thing too). I've got one more review, but right now it's two sentences long... maybe by this weekend.

Edit: This one and my Lene Marlin review (the one I'm working on now) are just "vanity reviews", I guess. I like both bands/artists, but no one here really does.



This Message Edited On 04.01.09

gaslightanthem
April 1st 2009


5209 Comments


wth

sounds so bad :[

BallsToTheWall
April 1st 2009


44333 Comments


Singer is hot. Might get.

Digging: Pharmakon - Abandon

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2009


7026 Comments


Album cover is HORRIBLE.

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2009


8357 Comments


needless to say that this is once again a great review Willie.

Quote: This one and my Lene Marlin review (the one I'm working on now) are just "vanity reviews", I guess. I like both bands/artists, but no one here really does.

These kind of reviews are maybe the best to make, because you write absolutely from your heart and maybe even put a bit more effort in them than other reviews. This review is comparable to my Unloco review. It doesn't get much views or comments but it is made with a heart and that is what makes it so good.

Willie
Moderator
April 1st 2009


15970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Singer is hot. Might get.
If you decide to pay any attention to these guys, start with "Weather".
Album cover is HORRIBLE.
Their covers have always just been different pictures of their vocalist, but this one is particularly bad.
These kind of reviews are maybe the best to make, because you write absolutely from your heart and maybe even put a bit more effort in them than other reviews.
Not quite. I still try to keep some objectivity in the review and not just write from "the heart". Also, I actually put less effort into these reviews because it's my chance to be more casual because no one is going to really be looking at them anyway.
sounds so bad :[
From the descriptions or did you actually check it out?

This Message Edited On 04.01.09

BallsToTheWall
April 1st 2009


44333 Comments


I thought the singer looked good in this picture. I guess i'll try to blog Weather right now before departing to the my farm.

fireaboveicebelow
April 1st 2009


6837 Comments


the first song off Weather is hilariously happy in the worst way, but after that its good

Willie
Moderator
April 1st 2009


15970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ah man, I like "Go On". There's a song near the end of Weather that's "hilariously happy in the worst way" though... I think it's called "You can't stop me" or something like that.

I guess i'll try to blog Weather right now before departing to the my farm.
Looking forward to hearing what you think - post in that review... you'd be the first ;)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy