Coldplay
A Rush of Blood to the Head


4.0
excellent

Review

by Burning_October USER (9 Reviews)
March 29th, 2009 | 24 replies | 5,484 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A fantastic piano-pop album that proves that Coldplay is more than your average radio-rock band.

Coldplay is probably one of the most unfairly maligned bands in the music scene today. Called boring Radiohead rip-off’s by many in the general music community, the band is, barring a brief respite after Viva La Vida’s release, generally very belittled. This is quite unfortunate, because this, their 2002 breakthrough “A Rush of Blood to the Head”, is pretty brilliant.

The thunderous piano onslaught of opener “Politik” should be enough to dispel most “boring” comments from listeners. And the stadium ready pop brilliance of second track “In My Place” should once again hammer home the point with it’s shimmering guitars, a pounding beat, and a soaring melody.

From here the band continues to expound on their familiar piano-pop formula, creating some fantastic songs along the way. Hit single “Clocks” is a prime example of this, with its winding melody and ethereal atmosphere creating an instantly memorable hook. “The Scientist”, one of the albums highlights, takes things a little slower, starting with a simple little piano line that builds up as the song progresses.

Another highlight is the guitar driven “God Put a Smile upon Your Face”, which starts with a rather offbeat riff and rockets into a strange chorus that features one of the bands most interesting melodies. “A Whisper” is also fantastic, with a clattering riff and shaky drum beat and some great vocals from Chris.

Unfortunately, the albums middle section is somewhat weak. “Daylight” and “Green Eyes” are rather uninteresting, and though both have their moments, they fail to live up to the promise of the albums excellent first 5 tracks. The ending picks up nicely, though, with the downtrodden title track, and the exuberant build-up of the epic, piano-led “Amsterdam”. Overall, though, Coldplay hit it out of the park far more then they miss, and there are no tracks here that I can really say that I hate.

I would also like to take a chance to give credit to the excellent production. While it’s certainly not the rawest that I have heard, it is, for a mainstream rock release, fairly dynamic. You can really here the building of volume in songs like “Amsterdam” and “Politik”, and there are some nice moments when the instruments begin to drown out Chris Martins voice, which gives everything a nice sense of intensity. There is some great layering here as well, particularly on “A Whisper”, and overall the album just generates a good sense of atmosphere.

So, overall, A Rush of Blood to the Head is a fantastic album that finds Coldplay laying down some of their best songs, and creating some future classics in the form of “The Scientist” and “Clocks”. It’s a great rock album, a great pop album, and it is certainly far from boring.

Recommended Tracks:

“The Scientist”
“Clocks”
“In My Place”
“God Put a Smile upon Your Face”
“Amsterdam”
“A Whisper”
“Politik”



Recent reviews by this author
The Beach Boys Smiley SmileWeezer The Green Album
Broken Social Scene You Forgot It In PeoplePanic! At the Disco Pretty. Odd.
The Killers SawdustWeezer The Red Album (Deluxe Edition)
user ratings (2000)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
shindip
March 29th 2009



3536 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

More like boring radiohead an u2 rip offs.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2009



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

was their best album

Digging: Alvvays - Alvvays

Nagrarok
March 29th 2009



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One of the few mainstream albums I own. And it's good too.

MassiveAttack
March 29th 2009



2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good album, Parachutes is a better album though

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2009



7314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Their best imo, but wasn't Parachutes their breakthrough album?

MassiveAttack
March 29th 2009



2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you mean debut as breakthrough then I think so.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2009



7314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nah I meant as in their breakthrough into the mainstream. Yellow was a massive hit here.

MassiveAttack
March 29th 2009



2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea I was unsure what you meant. Yellow was huge when it came out.

Burning_October
March 29th 2009



162 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Where I live Coldplay really picked up steam when Clocks and In My Place came out. I knew that Yellow was a hit, but I thought that this was the album that they become REALLY big for. Sort of like how Queens Of The Stone Age had a couple hits off of R, but SfTD was their breakthrough.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2009



7314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I see what you mean, Parachutes was certainly big in the UK where I am, but this was probably their international breakthrough I suppose.

This Message Edited On 03.29.09

MassiveAttack
March 29th 2009



2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The single really gave Coldplay exposure when Yellow came out. Once 'A Rush of Blood To The Head' was released they had already garnered enough attention to the point where they would be internationally recognizable, not only in the U.K. mainstream, but America as well. "Clocks" was on high rotation here on MTV back when I was a Freshmen.

BassDemon333
March 29th 2009



3351 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

My favorite Coldplay album....almost every track on here is amazing and it flows great from start to finish. The only songs I couldnt really get into were "A Whisper" and "Green Eyes". I love the main riff on "In My Place". Good ReviewThis Message Edited On 03.29.09

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2009



20855 Comments


For mine, this is Coldplay's best.

ninjuice
March 29th 2009



6761 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think you mean "for me".
This was their best until Viva La Vida of course. This is a tad too frontloaded, whereas Viva La Vida's second half is a tad better. I definitely disagree about Green Eyes being boring.

MassiveAttack
March 29th 2009



2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dang, Davey got internet owned.

Jim
March 30th 2009



5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"for mine" is an expression pplz

parachutes just edges this out, although some of the songs on here are super

upagainstthewall
March 30th 2009



838 Comments


A Rush of Blood > Prospekts March EP = Viva La Vida > Parachutes > X & Y



.This Message Edited On 03.30.09

Jim
March 30th 2009



5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so x&y is your favourite???

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2009



20855 Comments


I was just about to write the exact same words as Bahamut Gumby. I'm unsure if "for mine" is proper English, but it's an expression of sorts. Who knows, maybe it's an Aussie thing.

Either way, I still own myself (internet or otherwise).

This Message Edited On 03.30.09

Fugue
March 30th 2009



7352 Comments


I think this and X&Y are their best, I was disappiointed by Viva La Vida and Parachutes was too inconsistant for me.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy