Papa Roach
Metamorphosis


2.0
poor

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
March 22nd, 2009 | 423 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Is a regression in quality considered a ‘metamorphosis’?

After gaining mainstream appeal with power ballad ‘Scars’, Papa Roach then released 5th album ‘The Paramour Sessions’ in 2006. Surprisingly proficient no matter what the style of song, the LP ranged from adrenalin rush nu-metal to poppy mainstream rock and from hair metal to power ballads. However, Papa Roach left it to the very end of ‘The Paramour Sessions’ to further show the growth of their band. Closer ‘Roses On My Grave’ not only showcased matured songwriting and a fantastic string arrangement, but really left fans with something to look forward to from the Californian quartet. When it was revealed that the band’s new LP would be titled ‘Metamorphosis’, the expectation only heightened.

The dictionary definition of the word ‘metamorphosis’ is “A transformation. A distinct change of shape, character, appearance, condition or function”. Technically, Papa Roach are not lying to us that there has been a metamorphosis of some sort; former Unwritten Law member Tony Palermo has replaced Dave Buckner on drums! Apart from that however, there really is no change in musical style, unless you consider a regression in quality a metamorphosis.

The album at least begins in a promising manner with 90 second instrumental ‘Days of War’ building up well to the shout-along mosh-worthy ‘Change or Die’. While this aptly titled pseudo-opener may be relatively simple accessible metal in the vein of a more melodic Bullet For My Valentine or Disturbed, it is effective both in isolation and in pumping up the listener for what is hopefully going to follow on this 45 minute LP. Unfortunately, it is pretty much all downhill from there.

Lead single ‘Hollywood Whore’ takes aim at the flirtatious females that have invaded tinsel-town of late. There is a half-decent riff courtesy of guitarist Jerry Horton and some melody contained within the cut, but it is all brought down by clichéd lines such as “the talk of the town is that she’s going down”. And when the song ends with “don’t let the door hit you where the good lord split you honey” and the following ‘I Almost Told You That I Loved You’ begins with “You know I love it when you’re down on your knees”, a double-take is in order to ensure lead vocalist Jacoby Shaddix has not been possessed by either Chad Kroeger (Nickelback) or Austin Winkler (Hinder).

From there, it is almost a welcome relief that ‘Metamorphosis’ settles down into a more mainstream rock sound. 2nd single ‘Lifeline’ begins a sequence of at least four tracks that are straight-forward mid-tempo rockers. Each of these cuts attempt to contain more meaningful lyrics, yet are not as powerful as they should be, meaning that they come off sounding a little ridiculous. Again, there are flashes of hooks, riffs & melody during this middle section of the album which will grow on you over repeated listening, however these factors are simply not as apparent or memorable as on the band’s previous releases.

To be fair, there is a trio of exceptions from the Nickelback formula on the second half of the LP, but even then the results are mixed. ‘Into The Light’ is more of a genuine hard-rocker (if an average one) that contains some guitar-work from Motley Crue’s Mick Mars. Yes, that is the same Mick Mars who also appeared on Hinder’s ‘Take It to the Limit’ (Chad Kroeger should be expecting a call soon). Thankfully, the closing duo of ‘Nights of Love’ and ‘State of Emergency’ rise above the pack a little as the former contains a nice sincerity about it, while the latter includes a soft/loud dynamic that effectively highlights its charging chorus. The fact that this duo both cross the 5 minute mark is a surprising positive since it allows them a little extra room to provide depth.

Make no mistake about it, drummer change aside, there is no metamorphosis for Papa Roach apparent on their 6th album. More importantly, the LP is a regression on their previous releases. The band seem to be aiming at as broad an audience as possible here, but the likelihood is that they will reach even less targets since basically every track lacks a certain something to distinguish itself from the large pack of similar artists flooding the market. Chances are that most listeners will find a couple of songs to like, but as a whole, ‘Metamorphosis’ fails to impress.

Recommended Tracks: Change or Die & State of Emergency.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (405)
Chart.
2.3
average
other reviews of this album
William Forest Collins (3.5)
Either it was the fact that this was the album that really got me into music to begin with, or I was...

DurgTv (2)
Papa Roach’s sound has not changed one bit, if anything they have the exact same sound but the son...


Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Album came out in Australia today... UNLUCKY US!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Oh & whoever added the album into the database spelled the title incorrectly. Can I change that myself or is it a Mod duty?

kygermo
March 22nd 2009


996 Comments


Save the trouble to correct it Davey, P. Roach never been worth much lol. Coby Dick is the biggest poser. But of course, your review is flawless.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Oh come on kygermo, who can forget the anthemic:
"Cut my life into pieces... This is my last resort"

Or the emotional:
"I tear my heart open, I sew myself shut
My weakness is that I care too much
And our scars remind us that the past is real
I tear my heart open just to feel"

I know you teared up just a little bit reading that over!

AmericnZero02
March 22nd 2009


3353 Comments


I grew up listening to P-roach and will probably always have a soft spot for them so it's disappointing to read that this isn't very good. The Paramour Sessions was their best imo.

Willie
Moderator
March 22nd 2009


16054 Comments


You can change it. Just go to your "edit review" page and the album name should be one of the things that are changeable. This band is a joke. They're constantly changing in an effort to get a bigger pay check. You can always guess what their album is going to sound like based on whatever the current flavor of the month is... and if they don't know then you get something like The Paramour Sessions. The review is good though.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

While I can't say I grew up listening to Papa Roach like you AmericnZero02, I do also have a soft spot for them. I've never really stopped and thought about which has been their best album because I liked parts of 'Infest' and 'Getting Away With Murder', but I think if I had to make a call, I agree that it would be 'The Paramour Sessions'. The fact that the band had seemed to improve on that album is what makes this release sooooo disappointing. But let me know what you think if you end up giving it a listen.

Thanks Trey. You were correct & I have fixed the spelling error on the album title. While I don't think that Papa Roach are a joke, I guess you put up a good argument of them constantly changing to follow trends. I'm unsure by your comment if you liked 'The Paramour Sessions', but if them being confused about what is fashionable at the time is what results in their best album, then I wish they would be more confused in the future!

taylormemer
March 22nd 2009


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Real shit.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Jake has spoken... & this isn't "fake" shit, this is "Real shit". Haha.

Vooligan
March 22nd 2009


3541 Comments


Papa Roach used to be one of my favourite bands back in the days before i had discovered stuff that wasnt played on radio. Theyre still catchy at times but yeah, generally crap.
Good review though Davey.
Go read my review!!This Message Edited On 03.22.09

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

To be honest Billy, I am unsure much of Papa Roach's stuff was ever played on Aussie radio. Maybe 'Scars' got a run on stations like MMM, but I doubt anything else would have heard the light of day down under... Although I will stand corrected if I'm wrong as I've never been a really big radio listener thank goodness.

Now say "please" & I may hunt down your latest review...

Vooligan
March 22nd 2009


3541 Comments


yeah i remember hearing them on the radio a number of times, maybe it was just the station i was listening to (where i used to live there was only one station, cant remember what it was called but it wasnt a melbourne one).
Pretty please! I think it only just got pushed off the last page.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ok, I'll take your word for it Billy. They may be more popular out in the bush. LOL!

And there you go, Ox has been replied to... Gladly.

Douchebag
March 22nd 2009


3624 Comments


Whoa! Another review? Your Inhuman!

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ahhh, thought that i should review this today, and after logging in, what do I see, a very good review for it already. Darmn.

I agree with your review on the most part. The only things that spark the mind right away is that you could have told that Palermo's drumming is even more boring than Buckner's was. And also the song "I Almost Told You That I Loved You" has so bad lyrics, that it is actually truly fun to listen to and the guitar riff in it is quite entertaining. But yeah, very good review Davey!

BallsToTheWall
March 22nd 2009


44713 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yah, album sucks which is unfortunate. Hollywood Whore is tight though. Good review.

Digging: Reverend Bizarre - Return to the Rectory

Nagrarok
March 22nd 2009


8259 Comments


Damn Davey, how much free time have you got to do all these reviews? It's unbelievable how many you churn out.

Bitterandthensome
March 22nd 2009


13 Comments


Pos'd. Haven't listened to anything by Papa Roach since GAWM and I didn't like it so I probably won't get this, plus, could the album cover be anymore shit.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2009


17920 Comments


look at that cover

kygermo
March 22nd 2009


996 Comments


Ok I will say that Scars was a good song. Good lyrics. but Coby Dick still sucks though, regardless if his favorite band is fnm!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy