Within the Ruins
Creature


2.0
poor

Review

by Ryan Williford USER (48 Reviews)
March 21st, 2009 | 13 replies | 3,902 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Within The Ruins have brought the world another generic metalcore album and another cheesy technical album, all for the special bundled price of fifteen dollars. Or you could just save that precious fifteen dollars by staying far away from this album.

1 of 3 thought this review was well written

If 2008 was the year for the non-Metal Victory Records, 2009 looks to be the year we will hear and see the constant Victory Metal advertisements. This year looks to bring new albums from Darkest Hour, Between The Buried And Me, and The Autumn Offering among others while also bringing us the debuts of bands like Within The Ruins, Corpus Christi, and Wretched. One of those bands, Within The Ruins, is the focus of this review with their debut album Creature. Within The Ruins comes from Westfield, Massachusetts and has already shared the stage with Emmure, August Burns Red, and Shadows Fall. They play a brand of technical metalcore, will they be able to stand out though?

By my first impression, “The Book Of Books”, they will have two things holding them back on this album. The vocals are laughable at times, the worst is when they have their gang vocal parts, and the production doesn’t sound all that great. Let us first tackle the production problem here. It is very distracting to have this much echo on the guitars and drums, and have the vocals being almost swallowed whole by the guitars at points. These production problems makes the album seem like it was a low budget affair when in fact it was not and makes the producer look bad.

The vocals are metalcore to the core and bring nothing new to the table to enjoy. The few times they try their gang vocals, it comes off cheesy as hell and ruins what would have been a decent song, ex. “The Book Of Books”. The guitars come off as generic and like we have heard all of it before. Oh wait; we have heard all of this before from all the other technical metal bands out there. I will give the album credit; this does give all the “hardcore” scene kids an album full of “tasty” riffs and breakdowns. Once you get to the age of sixteen and above, you will not find this album worth keeping after a listen or two.

Within The Ruins have brought the world another generic metalcore album and another cheesy technical album, all for the special bundled price of fifteen dollars. Or you could just save that precious fifteen dollars by staying far away from this album. This is just another in a long line of Victory metal signings that fail to come close to the VIP section of Between The Buried And Me and Darkest Hour. In closing, this album is not worth your time or money.

No Recommended Songs



Recent reviews by this author
Onward To Olympas This World Is Not My HomeGreeley Estates No Rain, No Rainbow
brokeNCYDE I'm Not a Fan, but the Kids Like It!Decyfer Down Crash
The Sleeping What It TakesArise And Ruin Night Storms Hailfire
user ratings (289)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Keilo (3)
An excellent August Burns Red ripoff....

David Witten (3.5)
Guitars...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Ahrimanic Trance
March 21st 2009



62 Comments


It is very distracting to have this much echo on the guitars and drums, and have the vocals being almost swallowed whole by the guitars at points


but you said the vocals are bad, so isn't that a good thing that the vocals are almost swallowed whole?

Your review doesn't have that much detail or info, but its much better than your past few.

encmetalhead
March 21st 2009



744 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

vocals are bad, but bad production is worst

Essence
March 21st 2009



3583 Comments


you STILL haven't figured out the one review per day thing?

Ahrimanic Trance
March 21st 2009



62 Comments


well enc's obvious too elite for that shit.

encmetalhead
March 21st 2009



744 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

or i could do two as that's not a bad way to go when the new reviews are active

SKUDstorm
March 21st 2009



136 Comments


his reviews arent worth reading anyways.

DWittisarockstar
March 30th 2009



1501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I feel like you were unnecessarily harsh on this band, especially considering what you have rated far inferior bands. It's strange to call this generic and then give Scapegoat a 5(at least it was a five last time I checked).

Review was ok though, good opposing opinion to mine though could have used more detail.

pos!

encmetalhead
March 30th 2009



744 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Dwittisarockstar, 4.5 out of 5. I do need to bump it down though, that was right before i became objective and started to rate albums a lot better.

My thing with this album is that i've heard too many metalcore and tech metal albums that it just sounds too much of the same. I do think I should've rated it as a 2.5, but when posting i went with the 2.

madisonthebearr
November 23rd 2009



3 Comments


you're default is the breathing process' album and you're calling within the ruins generic? haha wow dude ... wow ... TBP is the most generic band out there

glocks4sale
February 7th 2010



61 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sorry Ryan Williford, but you sir are a punkass.

You act like you're "too good" for this album or something?

First off, the vocals are mixed low because they are not the focus of this group's sound! It's called "technical" because you should be paying more attention to the instrumentation! Which, by the way, is stunning!

The guitars are so much fun to listen to, and songs like "Arsenal" and "Tractor Pull" display all the tricks that Joe and Kyle have up their sleeves.

"QUOTE"
The guitars come off as generic and like we have heard all of it before. Oh wait; we have heard all of this before from all the other technical metal bands out there.
/QUOTE/

Ok now this is flat-out bullsh!t, sorry to say. I cannot think of anyone that sounds remotely close to these guys. Name one band that matches them in their brand of precise, technical, staccato chug? "Generic?" Are you joking me?

"Oh wait; we have heard all of this before from all the other technical metal bands out there." I don't think that this is very good review writing.

glocks4sale
February 7th 2010



61 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

madisonthebear:
you're default is the breathing process' album and you're calling within the ruins generic? haha wow dude ... wow ... TBP is the most generic band out there

^^Hahaha good one-- you hit it right on the head.

krig9412
April 15th 2010



794 Comments


At glocks4sale: Bands sounding similar to this? Hmm...

AUGUST BURNS RED

UnderDaIce
December 22nd 2010



203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Idk how you can call this cheesy. This album is generic but these guys know how to play and make some damn good music (plus didn't you give ADTR's homesick a 5 lol?). Within the Ruins can play their instruments and are actually real good at it, they just need to learn to not rely on breakdowns and use their sick leads to their advantage. This album is a lot of fun though and these guys got a shitload of potential which hass been further achieved on Invade. I can see them doing something great



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy