Orchid
Orchid


4.5
superb

Review

by Seabeast USER (4 Reviews)
March 7th, 2009 | 875 replies | 27,669 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Orchid managed to release what's possibly their best album before breaking up.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Orchid is an Amherst, Massachusetts-based screamo band in the traditional sense of this oft-tossed around genre--dissonant, unsympathetic music with a particularly-in-this-case hardcore punk aesthetic with poetic lyrics. There are quite a few notable tracks, of which include both Amherst Pandemonium parts 1 and 2, Anais Nin By Numbers, Class Pictures, Dissidents in Love, We Love Prison, and the ambient closer Impersonating Martin Rev. The aforementioned songs contain the dissonant, cacophonous signature Orchid sound that we all (hopefully) know and love, and combines them into a beautiful sound--in a jarring sense of the word.
That’s not to say that the album isn’t without its faults--though there aren’t many, some of the impact is lost, because, as previously stated, it’s quite repetitious. Over and over Orchid displays their strident, inharmonious mastery, which isn’t a bad thing, but it is quite a bit to stomach at one point, though this is easily solved by listening to individual tracks--even though as a rule of thumb an album should not need to be listened to in sections; it’s just that Orchid has always had a problem with flowing in their musical endeavors.
Orchid managed to release what’s possibly their best album--of note are the vocals which fit the music PERFECTLY, alternating between chaotic screams and something of a throaty, clean shout, the instruments are unquestionably superb and the screamo dissonance and mastery is at its finest as it all coalesces into a beautifully harsh whole. Releasing what’s arguably the greatest release from their far-too-short career,


user ratings (399)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Eli EMERITUS (4.5)
"You tell me that passion's passé...."...


Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2009



20856 Comments


Unless these are reposts, it is probably best NOT to post more than 1 review in the same day.

Seabeast
March 7th 2009



41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha, sorry. I was on a roll.

marksellsuswallets
March 7th 2009



4848 Comments


Even if they are re posts you don't have to do three of them almost in a row...

As for the review it's pretty alright, but some of your sentences seem like they go on and on and on...

Seabeast
March 7th 2009



41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sorry, that's just my writing style.

gaslightanthem
March 8th 2009



5209 Comments


orchid :D

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2009



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

snorechid

Crimson
March 8th 2009



1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

borechid

Fort23
March 8th 2009



2475 Comments


album kicks ass

foreverendeared
March 8th 2009



14678 Comments


their only album i don't have! i neeeeed this

Tits McGee
March 8th 2009



1876 Comments


aAlbum is good, but doesn't touch Chaos Is Me in my opinion.

Emerald
May 15th 2009



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

emo

ErasersAtBothEnds
August 28th 2009



288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

can anyone give me a download link? i really want to hear this

Spare
August 28th 2009



5271 Comments


http://blogsearch.google.com/

have you tried here?

ErasersAtBothEnds
August 29th 2009



288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nope i'll give it a shot

ErasersAtBothEnds
August 29th 2009



288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

got it :D thanks

i'll listen tonight

ErasersAtBothEnds
August 29th 2009



288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fucking rules

not as good as circle takes the square but still awesome

Spare
August 29th 2009



5271 Comments


not as good as circle takes the square
few things are

ErasersAtBothEnds
September 3rd 2009



288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

:P agreed it's one of my few 5s

PirateSquid
December 9th 2009



1881 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Without a doubt in my mind, this is the best Orchid album, and one of the best early screamo albums ever.

TheyTookOurJobs
February 19th 2010



1318 Comments


hey dude just coz you're lots of reviews doesn't mean you should get shit for it.
personally i think the review is quite good.......



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy