New Found Glory
Not Without a Fight


2.5
average

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
March 4th, 2009 | 94 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Disappointing

My god, after their EP on Bridge Nine Records and their subsequent signing to Epitaph it seemed like anything was possible for NFG. It seemed like the band could just blame their old record label for the sudden change of direction found on Coming Home and go back to the pop-punk that made them famous. The optimistic among us saw the album title, Not Without a Fight, as further proof that NFG were coming back strong. At about the same time, the band put the first single, “Listen to Your Friends”, online and it seemed to solidify that the fun, energetic NFG were back and the serious, sterile NFG was gone. Unfortunately, after listening to the whole album I have to say that all of this hope was basically for nothing.

The best way to describe this album is equal parts Sticks and Stones and Coming Home. At first this might sound like a good blend since that should imply a return to the energy and big choruses of Sticks and Stones combined with the stronger song writing found on Coming Home. While the songs definitely have a more energetic sound and an emphasis on catchy choruses, there is still something about them that doesn’t quite sit right. After a few listens the reason for this becomes more apparent. The problem is that the elements taken from the two albums just don’t work together. The oh-so-serious relationship lyrics and sterile alt-rock riffs and arrangements simply strip away the fun-factor that should have been present. The one stand-out track is the single “Listen to Your Friends” because it abandons any ambitious goals and is just a fun song. It’s the kind of simple and catchy song that NFG excel at; the kind of song that is otherwise completely missing from the rest of this album.

It is unfortunate that the energetic nature of the songs ends up being wasted on lifeless riffing and boring lyrical ventures. No one has ever accused NFG of being virtuosos but they were always able to craft catchy melodies and memorable choruses; that ability doesn’t come across this time. Instead we’re given a collection of songs that really don’t have much identity and all sort of blend together by the time it’s over. Worse yet, is that the few memorable moments all stand out for the wrong reasons. The main source of this negative attention comes from the return of the hardcore shouts. The problem is that they never fit the song or the words that are actually being yelled. Hearing the band gang-shout “I’ll never love again” on the track of the same name brings me to uncontrolled laughter every time, and that is just one example of the horrible way they’re implemented.

It really feels as if the band wanted to maintain the “maturity” they tried to establish on their last album while bringing back the elements that brought them popularity to begin with. Unfortunately, combining the two opposing styles just ruins any positives they had individually. Despite the renewed energy, the album is too serious and rigid for its own good. Not Without a Fight lacks the kind of hooks, fun riffs, and sing-along choruses that made the band famous and it also lacks the solid song writing that helped their last album not become a horrible failure.



Recent reviews by this author
Kenn Nardi Dancing With the PastSick of It All The Last Act of Defiance
Meshuggah I (Special Edition)Cannibal Corpse A Skeletal Domain
Rabbit Junk Pop That Pretty ThirtyAnathema Distant Satellites
user ratings (298)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
James Jaskolka (3.5)
Florida kings of pop punk return to their punk roots....

Cal Lewis (4)
Floridian pop-punkers roar back into action with sixth album....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
March 4th 2009


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Apparently it's streaming on their Myspace... go have a ball.

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

AtavanHalen
March 4th 2009


17927 Comments


a) Some BBCode errors in review
b) No tracklist
Otherwise sexy

Willie
Moderator
March 4th 2009


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I generally miss a closing bracket somewhere until the review is posted. The tracklist was there and then it wasn't and it came back when I fixed the BBCode error.

absurdismwine
March 4th 2009


304 Comments


stopped at summary...

it's new found glory, what did you expect?

BallsToTheWall
March 4th 2009


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Singer used to be my old neighbor and jam with my brother. Other than Catalyst and My Friends Over You, band never really did it for me. Great review.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

xequalscore
March 4th 2009


437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So...not catchy pop punk? I can't wait to see 'em in April then!

Thor
March 4th 2009


10202 Comments


Review for: New Found Glory

Summary: Disappointing

orly

Digging: Black Crown Initiate - The Wreckage of Stars

McP3000
March 4th 2009


3941 Comments


moar like expected

Willie
Moderator
March 4th 2009


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah yeah yeah. I've actually liked everything they've released since their self-titled album, including "Coming Home".

So...not catchy pop punk?
Yeah, and not good music either. I think I made that clear. "Coming Home" isn't pop-punk and that album is great.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2009


17231 Comments


this was kinda boring.

Ludovician
March 4th 2009


35 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

After a few listens, it grows on ya. I'll definitely say way better than Coming Home imo.

Willie
Moderator
March 4th 2009


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've given this quite a few listens and it didn't grow. "Coming Home" grew on me, this is boring.

JohnXDoesn't
March 4th 2009


1287 Comments


nice review here. i'm gonna give this a listen, but given your comments i'm not too hopeful. i actually gave one of my most negative reviews ever to Coming Home when it first came out. i didn't know much if anything about the group then, just that when i listened to that album i knew it was awful. hope this is better.

just cleaned that review up a little, too. heh...funny all the flaws that can show up once far enough removed from one of these things

i needs me a proof reader :'(

AggravatedYeti
March 4th 2009


7685 Comments


Summary: Disappointing

duh...

dukes
March 4th 2009


133 Comments


i was really hoping for songs in the vain of the intro on catalyst :/

i am the robots
March 4th 2009


1027 Comments


This band was never good...

Guitar108
March 4th 2009


62 Comments


i'm gonna have to disagree - i thought this album was a great return to form - the first 6 songs are flawless

tinathefatlard
March 4th 2009


1605 Comments


So they truly started right where they left off right?

This band was never good...
Sorry, but they were actually good once then it was all downhill from there, and they contradict the fact that nobody wants them around. This Message Edited On 03.04.09

Willie
Moderator
March 4th 2009


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i was really hoping for songs in the vain of the intro on catalyst :/
I never even expected anything that far away from what they normally do. I just thought they might make another album that is lively and fun to listen to.
So they truly started right where they left off right? Sorry, but they were actually good once then it was all downhill from there, and they contradict the fact that nobody wants them around.
I see what you did there... I tried to work that opening song title into the review, but it was stupid every time.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2009


20858 Comments


Good review Trey & I guess the blend of the band’s 2 elements would look better on paper than in reality. I have only heard their major singles from each of their albums so cannot really comment on past full albums, although I do agree that (judging by the better songs) ‘Coming Home’ was fairly impressive for such a band. Although it must have been difficult for the established fanbase to take.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy