Autumn
Altitude


2.5
average

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
March 2nd, 2009 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Everything you’d expect from a completely average gothic rock band with female vocals.

Every genre eventually becomes saturated by bands without any identity of their own. It just seems to be the nature of the business to try to emulate the band that is drawing the most attention. While this problem is an annoyance within most genres, it is a complete disaster within the confines of female-fronted gothic rock. In a broad sense, gothic rock bands with female vocalists can easily be stereotyped. There are the bands trying to emulate Evanescence, the bands trying to emulate Nightwish and the bands trying to emulate Theatre of Tragedy. What seems to make the rampant lack of originality even worse within this genre is that the level of musicianship is often horribly low. This lack of originality combined with sub-par playing should be destroying the genre, but it’s not. It’s not destroying the genre because fans seem to eat up whatever is released regardless of originality, quality or any other factor that affects every other genre. I can only assume that it’s this fact that allows a band like Autumn to have a record deal at all.

As I said earlier, almost every band in this genre is “influenced” by one of three other groups; Autumn’s influence is Evanescence with an 80s-rock leaning. The bands trying to emulate that particular sound tend to have songs that are full of unobtrusive, generic riffs that deliver very little in the way of power or memorable moments, and that’s what we have here. It is near-impossible to hear a riff and know what song it went to because they all sound so alike and indistinct. Their placement near the bottom of the mix only serves to enhance this problem and it relegates them to nothing more than a foundation over which to layer the vocals and keyboards. This really isn’t anything new for the genre, though, as the riffs often suck and end up down in the mix which leaves the abundance of keyboards to hide the shortcomings; this didn’t happen here.

The keyboard melodies are developed just enough to not be annoying, but they’re also as generic and forgettable as the riffs. The band doesn’t seem to make any attempt at pushing beyond the synth’s standard sound and are content to simply create a melody and run it into the ground. There are bands that get away with barely passable music because their vocalist is outstanding, but Autumn doesn’t deliver on that front either. While the vocals themselves are perfectly listenable, the vocal arrangements and especially the choruses just fail to elicit any excitement. Her voice seems limited to a very specific range, and whether that was by design or necessity, it doesn’t help the songs at all. Her vocals just become another element that sounds the same on every song and adds to the repetitive feeling that steadily builds as the album progresses.

What can really be said about an album that is so completely average? The problem lies in the fact that once it is over there is nothing that is going to stick out as being completely terrible but there’s also nothing that is going to make you want to listen to it again. It is this complete lack of positives and negatives that makes it hard to simply dismiss the album, but it also makes it very easy to not actively recommend it to anyone. Let me put it this way, this is the stereotypical female-fronted gothic rock album. From its generic riffs to its reliance on keyboards and their vocalist to create some kind of quality; it is everything one would expect from a run-of-the-mill band. If you just can’t get enough of this style of music than there might be enough redeeming factors to warrant giving this a listen, but for anyone else it is easily passable.



Recent reviews by this author
Kenn Nardi Dancing With the PastSick of It All The Last Act of Defiance
Meshuggah I (Special Edition)Cannibal Corpse A Skeletal Domain
Rabbit Junk Pop That Pretty ThirtyAnathema Distant Satellites
user ratings (15)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
February 25th 2009


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This was hard to write about because there was nothing good or bad worth metioning. Balls will like it, but everyone else can probably ignore this ;)

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

Shattered_Future
February 26th 2009


1541 Comments


Really generic gothic metal SUCKS so fucking much. I haven't found a decent band in this genre since After Forever...they're all hopelessly unoriginal.

Willie
Moderator
February 26th 2009


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The Gathering was still loosely gothic rock and they were original. Their new album is supposed to be more of a return than recent albums were. Otherwise, I can't think of any band in the genre that sound original. They're all copying each other, but at least some of them are making good (unoriginal) music. This is just really average. It's hard to write about something with no identity one way or the other.This Message Edited On 02.25.09

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2009


20857 Comments


I'm gonna like this Trey, aren't I? Go on, I won't be offended if you answer "yes".

Willie
Moderator
February 26th 2009


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ha ha, if you don't generally listen to female-fronted gothic rock than you just might because it won't sound so generic. If you did like it I could point you in better directions ;)

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2009


20857 Comments


I like 'Comalies'... & even 'KarmaCode'!

Willie
Moderator
February 26th 2009


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Than you'd probably like this. Almost certainly, actually.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2009


20857 Comments


I told you!
Hey Trey, why can't this review be seen on the front page (apart from in the Recent Posts section)?

Willie
Moderator
February 26th 2009


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

There is an issue right now where some/all new staff reviews aren't actually showing up on their section on the front page. If you click the "staff reviews" link or the "more" link in the staff section you'll see that there's a few current ones that aren't listed anywhere else. The staff reviews that are showing up are only showing up because they're featured... this album isn't worth featuring.This Message Edited On 02.26.09

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2009


20857 Comments


Why isn't it worth featuring? Because it's not very good. If it's a new release, it's worth it in my opinion. At least for a week or so.

Willie
Moderator
February 26th 2009


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's a new release (march 3rd). It's just not a very good album. They might feature it, that was just my opinion.

AngelPhoenix
February 26th 2009


2764 Comments


Everything you’d expect from a completely average gothic rock band with female vocals


/review.

But seriously nice work Willie, will probably not bother with this.

Essence
February 26th 2009


3587 Comments


hey guys, lets name our band something completely innovative and original"



AngelPhoenix
February 26th 2009


2764 Comments


I know...WINTER! No wait...SPRING! No that doesn't work either...



I've got it! Fall NO WAIT...Autumn oh yeah, that's it, I am a fucking genius.

Essence
February 26th 2009


3587 Comments


"what the fuck man did you have sex with a calendar?"

"YOU SAID YOU'D NEVER TELL"

Willie
Moderator
February 26th 2009


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ha ha, yeah. I was going to include the band name to further my point that they're totally generic, but I changed my mind since there are lots of generic band names that still make good music.

Wizard
February 26th 2009


19607 Comments


Oh boy, I think I will pass on this one. Willie = solid reviewer and favourite staff member.

Digging: Full Of Hell & Merzbow - Full Of Hell & Merzbow

BallsToTheWall
February 26th 2009


44785 Comments


I was going to check this out previous but your 2.5 turned me away. Great work. Most likely will myspace. You need to hear the new Lunatica album though. It's Symphonic more pop than metal with some metal, but the vocals are amazing. Not too mention there are 9 bands named Autumn according to lastfm. Lolacopter.This Message Edited On 02.26.09

And i'm quite positive the gothic/darkwave Autumn from Germany, the doom metal Autumn's from Russia and Hungary, and the ambient Autumn from hey!! the Netherlands is betetre than this band. Generic band name, fuck this shit, I will not myspace this piece of shit. Shit fuck shit.This Message Edited On 02.26.09

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

AngelPhoenix
February 26th 2009


2764 Comments


Not too mention there are 9 bands named Autumn according to lastfm

lol oh man, which probably means there's actually like 20.

Just listened to some myspace tracks. 2.5 is pretty much the exact right score for this. There's really nothing bad about it, persay (except maybe some of the keyboard work which just sounds way off sometimes) but it's just so...blah. Me likey the vocals.

Willie
Moderator
February 26th 2009


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ha ha, yeah no shit. If I hadn't got this as a promo I wouldn't have ever given it a shot because there's too many bands with the same name.
It's slightly frustrating that this is still basically buried because of the new site glitch.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy